We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel, a leisure club with rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #40 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights, but we're really underwhelmed by this hotel. The staff are very friendly and the hotel clean, but the rooms are tiny, with an incredibly annoying green light in the ceiling that lights up the room.
The pool has a glass wall which means everyone entering reception stops to critique your swimming; or just to stare at you.
The restaurant was very strange, virtually deserted, with untrained but friendly staff and a lot of noise from the leisure club. Surprisingly the dinner was really very good, unlike breakfast which was so awful we didn't have it on the second day even though we'd paid for it.
We won't be staying there again, it's fine for an overnight but I may as well use the nearby chain hotel.
I have put all this on the questionnaire sent by the hotel but not had a response.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Modon20720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

An absolutely fabulous hotel, very friendly staff especially Natallie on reception. Spa and swimming pool were a lovely treat. Room small but very nice. Plenty of parking spaces. Breakfast was lovely. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaynelo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Stayed here overnight whilst doing the coast to coast bike ride for charity (Southport to Hornsea 220 miles). We were greeted by car park security who directed us to a larger parking spot as we had a large trailer on. We were then greeted by the manager Kyle (top guy) who was very attentive and nothing too much trouble. On hearing our 6 bikes were expensive, personally escorted us to secure lock up parking and then ensured we looked after. We didn't use the pool or spa facilities having cycled 60 miles but they looked excellent, with a constant stream of people coming in and out.
Best hotel bed I've slept in for a long time and all staff are great. Many thanks Kyle for a great restful experience, ALL the team were highly impressed.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 212, very comfortable twin and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grumpygaz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed here for a night with friends for a catch up , really enjoyed the stay . The staff are great friendly and helpful especially Natalie on reception and Katie in leisure. The leisure facilities are great gym, pool and saunas . The rooms are on the small side but larger rooms are available. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank allyhorsfall68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

a hotel within a gym/swimming pool....leisure complex..... so not for everyone.... that said, a typical northern friendly welcome.....and even though a wedding going on our second night was quiet...... though no blackout curtains so room can get light early.....!
Ryan on reception was very helpful and room was very clean n tidy.........
first nights sleep wasn't great due to a very uncomfortable mattress......!
This issue was sorted without any problem the next day...!
Can't fault for price!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#11 of 120 in Manchester
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Wilmslow Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 5WZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#11 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: RM307 - RM663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 8 acres of landscaped gardens on the banks of the River Mersey, The Waterside Hotel is just 10 minutes from Manchester Airport. There is a restaurant, leisure centre and free Wi-Fi.The comfortable rooms at Waterside each have a private bathroom, tea and coffee facilities and a flat-screen TV with Freeview. There is also free parking and a 24-hour front desk. Guests have use of the newly refurbished Leisure Club, which features a 25-metre swimming pool, hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel And Galleon Leisure Club
The Galleon Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing