We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better hotels in Strasbourg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de l'Orangerie
Ranked #105 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a very old-fashioned hotel, in need of some significant improvements. The room smelled badly of cigarette smoke, with no option given for a non-smoking room. The breakfast was also very poor. The only plus was the location, which was good for the European institutions, but there are still better hotels in the vicinity.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AndiRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de l'Orangerie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights on a recommendation. Hotel is in the diplomatic quarter and about 15 mins walk from the centre and 5 mins from the European institutions. It is on the No 2 bus route from the main station as well as on the 6, 30 and 72 routes. We did quite a bit of walking to and fro. Hotel is utterly inappropriate for anyone with mobility problems as there are steep steps up from the street and, if you are in the annex rooms to the rear, two more flights of steps to navigate.
Rooms were fine though a little old-fashioned. We had the bottom two categories, standard and superior, at €78 and €88 respectively though there seemed to be little difference. Indeed my cheaper one had a real shower whereas the superior one only had a shower attachment over the bath. No duvets but sheets and blankets and weird French leccy where the sockets only worked if the lights were on, which made charging a bit of a problem!
Breakfast at €11 was overpriced and poor value (coffee, tea or chocolate, one tiny glass of juice, fruit compote and three pastries / rolls) and there are two bakeries nearby which offer more for less. There is no bar or restaurant and nowhere in the immediate vicinity that we found. Staff (mainly Olivier) were very friendly and helpful.
Don't know if I would stay again but this is not necessarily a criticism. Think I'd check prices in town next time, that's all. But if you are in Strasbourg on business at the institutions it is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoriginalsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I've been there during a business trip just: arrived late the night and started soon the morning so I've seen not too much. The position is at 15 euros taxi from tgv station, not too bad, the atmosphere is nice, the room clean and sufficiently big for sure it is too much for a simple night stay like the mine. The night service is awful, the person is not always where he's supposed to be, try to sell you unrelated stuff like cd's and ask you for some unmotivated tip

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gga95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The hotel is located about 30 minutes walk from the city center, which means it is in a quiet part of town. However, the heating in room where we slept was not really adequate. The cold coming from the outer wall suggests that the room is not well insulated. The walls don't do a great job isolating noise either, so we heard very well every time someone walked in or out the rooms around us. The bed wasn't very comfortable either.
All in all - not a great sleep experience. Can this hotel be well "over the hill"? probably...
It should be noted that the staff is friendly and helpful -which is not always the case in France!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building, not in the units outside. They have wifi coverage and are warmer...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2017

Dear Customer ,

Thank you for your comments after your stay at the hotel. However, we are sorry that the room did not meet your expectations and I apologize for the inconvenience. If this is not the case, do not hesitate to contact the reception next time when you encounter a problem as we may have been able to switch rooms. We have, however, taken note of your remarks that we will not fail to convey to management. Despite this, we hope that you have had a pleasant stay in Strasbourg and that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence during a future visit to our region.
In the meantime, I send you my sincere greetings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I had a single room at the back of the hotel. Double glass windows, LCD TV sets, tidy clean, a LOT of hot water to shower and shave. Quiet and comfortable.
Breakfast is a croissant, a small baguette type bread and a chocolate boulange sided with butter, marmalade and emmenthal cheese. Your choice: tea, coffee (which can be café au lait) or chocolate (which I recommend).

Always showed friendly, took note of the phone calls I received when absent and aware of every requirement. If I made back to Strasbourg I will book again with them. I made a reservation and they billed me as expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Phranq2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Residence Jean-Sebastien Bach
#46 of 128 in Strasbourg
430 reviews
Hotel des Princes
#20 of 128 in Strasbourg
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal Lutetia
#66 of 128 in Strasbourg
140 reviews
Inter Hotel Le Bristol
#19 of 128 in Strasbourg
356 reviews
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#35 of 128 in Strasbourg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Orangerie

Address: 58 allee de la Robertsau, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: RM429 - RM592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing