We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anjou Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alcyon(Biarritz)
US$115
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$276
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mirano Hotel(Biarritz)(Great Value!)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$163
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz(Biarritz)
US$137
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$270
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel du Palais(Biarritz)
US$437
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Petit Hotel(Biarritz)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
41
61
21
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
61
21
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall balconystayed for nightstop floorannextownbeachescentremarket
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We (two Swedish women) stayed two nights in september 2016, and this was the worst experience ever!

We got the room next to the reception and felt a weird smell from the beginning. At first we thought it came from the blankets so we took them out before our first night of sleep. Since one of us are really sensitive to mold and had trouble sleeping because to the smell and dampness, the day after we asked the male owner about this. He said that there was no other room available and that we could get our money back for the remaining night and book another hotel. Since it was our last day of vacation we didn’t have time to search for another room and decided to stay. We asked the owner if we could get some sort of compensation and he agreed to give us free breakfast for two days.

During our first free breakfast we and the rest of the guest who had breakfast heard yelling and arguing from the kitchen. Since we don’t speak french we didn’t understand what they were arguing about but found it strange that they were yelling so the guest could hear. My friend then got eye contact with the female owner. The female owner then pointed at my friend and yelled ”this is your fault”. My friend obviously got chocked and surprised since the woman were pointing at her infront of the other guest while we were having our breakfast. We then went in to the kitchen to ask what the female owner ment with this.

It turn out that the female owner, a very easily offended french women, felt that we had disrespected her by asking her husband about the smell in our room. And she explained this to us by continuing to yell at us and said that we should leave her hotel. We were in shock over this completely horrific treatment of us, her paying guest, and also told her that its definitely not ok to yell at your guest and that we, as paying guest, have the right to lift any problems we find with the room. To us (swedes) this is not disrespectful and we were in chock over the way she treated us.

She ruined our last day of our vacation and our last day was spent wondering what actually had happened to us at the breakfast! We felt so embarrassed over what she did to us - in front of all the other guest, who she also talked to after she was screaming at us, in french so we couldn’t understand.

This behaviour is, for us, unacceptable, and we do not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel IF you are a person who doesn’t like mold smell in your room and are not afraid of ”complaining” to the staff.

Apart from the way we got treated from the owners of this hotel, it was an okay hotel with okay standard but a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Do not stay here - at all!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dr-dmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAnjouBiarritz, Propriétaire at Anjou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

you stayed with your friend 2 nights in our hôtel. Upon arrival in the morning you had the room to 11 am instead of 2pm normally, all was well. In the evening at 21 o'clock, you called our receptionist, you flooded the bathroom and bedroom 3 cm of water. You laugh before the receptionist who cleaned the floor. After, you asked out blankets because you thought that there was a bad smell; the receptionist did in stating that there was no smell. The next morning, you asked for a compensation (we offered breakfast) because you "had not been able to sleep." We were in the room to smell : nothing. We did not agree with such actions and your attitude to disrespect, lies we were obliged to call Booking to find you another room with a departure without charge or penalty. You accepted to leave only if you get the full refund of your stay 2 nights. We have not accepted because there was no bad smell in this room, we cleaned your flooding immediately, despite your lies the owner made a gesture of goodwill. You notation 1/5 is absolutely not justified it is a simple revenge since you yourself acknowledge that our establishment is correct a bit expensive if we had paid for 2 nights we could not effectively had this comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Notice in bathroom about the environment and using the bath towels more than once, but have plastic glasses in plastic bags in bathroom to use for drinking, Plastic take s1000 year or more to get rid of.

Room Tip: not sure but ours was fine
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godaddiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Perfect location, perfect room and bathroom with a nice view over the street. Close to the vibrant market area with lots of cafes and tapas restaurants nearby. A short walking distance to Biarritz different beaches.
Only disappointment: I thought I could park my car in their little parking lot but the reception told me that this was to be booked a few days prior to arrival so I had to park elsewhere (and pay for it...).

Room Tip: Book a parking sport in advance if you're coming to Biarritz by car.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Titiparisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This hotel is well situated on a hill about 200 metres from the sea-front. Convenient parking at the front of the building, with lockable security barriers. Fairly small but recently and very well re-furnished and modernised. Three stars and fully up to expectations, room not large but adequate and very well-equipped with excellent en-suite bathroom. Comfortable beds. Views not brilliant because of looking out over other buildings higher and lower on the hill, but the convenient position for walking to everything and proximity of the beautiful sea-front is compensation. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Excellent choice of breakfast in a bright and airy room. Price very reasonable, we felt. Recommended.

Room Tip: Didn't have a chance to compare but as the main hotel has been fully modernised recently they should all be ok.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in Anjou Hotel, the manager was so nice to wait for us to check in at 9pm past the office close time. The room very clean and with ocean views and to the cathedral below. The adjoining streets have restaurants and bars, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews