We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maison du Lierre
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$166
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$315
US$295
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edouard VII(Biarritz)
US$133
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$204
US$182
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$151
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$114
US$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
237
221
65
39
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
221
65
39
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming hotelloved this hoteljardin publicstar hotelwithin walking distanceexcellent locationmarketreceptiontubbeachesfrench
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Beautiful small sized hotel, at the corner of a garden in the center of Biarritz, a few steps from the market. I had here a lovely one night stay in Biarritz. Nice bow window room available to read or relax next to the lobby. Attention the lobby is closed between 12h30 and 15h30!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank ValeVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64200, Responsable réception at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay among us and our bow window room, in which we invite our guest to enjoy a coffe or cup of tea.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in Biarritz!
Kind regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

For around £85 a night (and this is with a weak £pound) this boutique hotel was a great find and great value. I was travelling on my own over the weekend and had a room for 1 for 1 night with a lovely balcony. Not quite a separate bathroom (just a curtain separating the bed from the shower/toilet but I'm not fussed by that) and I didn't spend long in my room or the hotel. Great central location near to the market and cool tapas bars and restaurants including Bar Jean.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank BAChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64200, Responsable réception at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Hello we are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our establishment and in the single room.
Indeed our beautiful city is ideal to relax and discover the products of the Basque Country.
We thank you for your support
best regard
léa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed in La maison du Lierre for 1 night to visit Biarritz, a charming hotel in a beautiful old manor style house. the rooms have been refreshed but the bathrooms are not yet.. anyway all was clean and clear.
We were not informed about the opening hours of the reception and had to wait for a while to get the rooms.
Maybe due to the fact that we stayed there Saturday evening we could not sleep at all because of the very noisy street: people coming back from downtown and speaking (screaming) loudly, cars and motobikes driving like crazies.. It was hot and without air conditioning (or even a fan) closing the window was unthinkable.This said the quality of the beds was good. the others who had rooms on the other side of the hotel, slept well and didn't hear all this.
the breakfast was very good and wifi worked well.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ulaxir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64200, Receptionist at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Ulaxir,

First of all the Maison du Lierre's staff would like to thank you for your detailed feedback.

Let's move onto the drawbacks of your stay, as you said the rooms have been refreshed, and worry not, a complete refurbishing of the bathrooms is on Schedule on 2016.
Firstly, regarding the opening hours and room availability time, we send a recap e-mail 24h before arrival to every guest . But if ever you arrive during close hours, you can enter the Manor with the right pin, sent by email or given by the operator (wich you can call by pressing the dedicated button on the gate).

Secondly, Let's focus on the noise issue, we can agree on the fact that Biarritz has a great Nightlife, the Streets along the hotel are usually calm even during festivals, but sometimes, individuals make more noise than groups.

Thus bringing the third and last point, the heat, For the rooms that have no ceiling fans, we provide some on demand , as you spent only one night in the hotel we couldn't fix that trivial issue, and make your stay so much more enjoyable. ( as you could have closed the Windows, thereby avoiding hearing those Noisy people).

Finally we are pleased to see that your overall stay with us was satisfactory, and if we had to draw a conclusion out of it , it would be, stay longer, enjoy more, a seamless experience taxes time to be reached.
Best Regards.

Your dedicated receptionist,
Oihan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Not a very warm welcome - told to go away and wait 1.5 hours, fair enough as too early. Ultimately very helpful (but different staff member). The painter has put paint on light switches, door handles and window glass etc. Some peeling paint on the wall too, but an old property and not a big problem. Wifi isn't good in places and had to keep leaving the room to get a signal. Dirty tissue left in the bin. Otherwise a nicely decorated old Biarritz large house with lots of character and charm. Lovely, bustling town with lots to do and see and plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. Super good value breakfast. Nice place to stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Supperhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64200, Receptionnistre at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Dear Guest,

First the Maison du Lierre***'s staff would like to thank you for your detailed feedback,
Then we are sorry to hear that the first welcome you experienced was not as seamless as expected. We are sure it was only a misunderstanding led by poor English skills!
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences regarding the paint, we are fully aware of it, but are unable to fix it during peak season. Wifi is all so Under works.
Finally thanks to your comment we work on improving our services and quality standards.
we are Pleased to see that your overall stay was positive, and invite you to come back next summer to whiteness the results .

Best regards,
Oihan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

I stayed with my husband for one night only, since we were going back to Denmark by plane next morning. We didn't as such have any expectations, but had indeed a very short but nice stay
yours sincerely Fransiska Tvede

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fransiska2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64200, Réception at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Fransiska,

We were delighted to welcome you in our Hôtel for your short stay ! We hope to see you back soon !

Sincerely yours,

The reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews