We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Walnut Barn has been beautifully renovated...”
other travellers have booked this property
front view & patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front view & patio area
back view Trois Maisons from the air
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
front view & patio area
back view
Trois Maisons from the air
kitchen
walnut barn kitchen
mezzanine
main bedroom
twin bedroom
toilet & shower room
view of trois maisons from across the valley
pool
next to the pool
boules area
tables & chairs next to the duck pond
view across the gardens
a quiet corner
friendly faces
our old boy
mini ready to play
canoeing on the Vezere
local market
canoeing at Roque Gageac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lorna E
1 review
“Walnut Barn has been beautifully renovated allowing a peaceful holiday in a rural corner of the Dordogne”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The first thing we noticed staying at Trois Maisons is the usual list of Do's & Don'ts doesn't actually exist, fantastic, we can use our common sense!
We then noticed that plastic hooks, handles etc etc do not exist, as Walnut Cottage has been sympathetically renovated and everything is wood, beautiful.
Although the owners live on site you wouldn't know it but they are subtly around if you need them!
Our 4 year old daughter spent most of the time in the pool, however, there were plenty of games for her to play outside, walks in the woods and a friendly donkey to chat too, she was in her element.
We made a little drive into the local village of Villamblard most days, just because we were in France and daily fresh bread is a must!
The market at Vergt was worth a visit, a picturesque village.
The lakes nearby where you can swim and a nice restaurant at the waters edge was an afternoon out for us and we had a lovely time there.
Staying in rural France, on a quiet small holding, with beautiful views and sympathetically renovated barns and grounds allow for a total wind down from the hamster wheel of life! Perfect! Could not recommend enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural, peaceful and simple
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
“Once again a very nice week at Les Trois Maisons”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Last year we liked our stay very much, so we decided to come back this year. We have had a very nice week with Tim and Sarah in Villamblard. Er enjoyed the quietness of Les Trois Maisons and the beauty of the Dordogne area. Sarah and Tim are excellent hosts and they create a nice and relaxing atmosp[here. If you love the French countryside and the French way of living withe a British touch, you should go to Les Trois Maisons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the complete picture
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard I
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and Rustic”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely location, Sarah and Tim great hosts. Only three gites so not overly noisy, good pool with consistent depth. Nearby village with store and bakers etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and quiet location
Liked least: was very hot during our stay and no airconditioning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
snowdrop6...
Ormskirk
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Rustic Heaven”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Bergerac airport during the heatwave at the beginning of July.The flight was good and hiring the car was easy.
After a short drive we arrived at Les Trois Maisons to be greeted by Tim, Sarah and Minny, the dog. Our gite was part of a converted barn, amazing and lovingly restored with two bedrooms, one on the ground floor and the other on the mezzanine. Each bedroom had its own ensuite which was really appreciated. Our immediate reaction was 'fantastic'. The appartment contained everything that was needed for a blissful week in the beautiful surrounding countryside of the Dordogne. A large kitchen with all cooking facilities and amenities was provided. As the weather was hot, and after visiting local markets, we couldn't resist spending time in the swimming pool, or sitting under the shade of the catalpa tree with a book.
When we arrived Tim and Sarah had left us a bottle of local wine with Tim's own honey and eggs to buy, laid by the hens that wander round the gardens. There are two horses and a friendly donkey that likes a pat, as well as a cockerel that 'sings' in the morning. What else would you expect in the countryside?? Minny, the dog, was always waiting to greet us when we arrived back from a trip.
As it was a heatwave, a fan would have been of great benefit in the upper bedroom.
Extremely well done to Tim and Sarah for the immense restoration and providing a truly bit of rustic Heaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the welcome and the dog.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$67
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing