We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding accommodation and wonderful host”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Les Vieux Chenes

Les Vieux Chenes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Vieux Chenes
Pool from Garden Wall Gateway Comfortable sitting area with piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Les Vieux Chenes
Pool from Garden Wall Gateway
Comfortable sitting area with piano
Opera king bedroom
Opera en suite with 'rainforest' shower, basin and wc
Another view of Opera bedroom
Bedroom-Theatre
Main bathroom with view over Pyrenees!
The Stone Terrace
Fully fitted Kitchen to prepare market goodies
Dining Area with antique farmhouse table
Enjoy views over the vineyards & Pau valley
After a shower early season..
Aerial View of farmhouse
Twin en suite top floor on 4 bed option only
Big Bikes on Col D'Aubisque
Tour de France comes to town(Navarrenx)
Pau Horse Show fence #28
Tasting Area at Local Vineyard
Views of Pyrenees from house in midwinter
Bedroom - Opera King en-suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ihart7
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding accommodation and wonderful host”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife, teenage son and I had a wonderful fortnight's holiday at Les Vieux Chenes. The property is located in a lovely, tranquil setting, but is in easy reach of two sizable towns for the morning baguette and croissants run. It provides very good quality accommodation, including a larger pool than usual for a rental property. There was plenty for us to do, and the owner, Gillian, was particularly helpful in advising us about hiring a bike for my son (a keen road cyclist) and suggesting routes for him. The meal that Gillian provided on our day of arrival was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichaelCh...
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant visit.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I booked Les Vieux Chenes for a week for our family of 6 plus our 11 month old grand daughter. We had asked Gillian to arrange a meal on our arrival which due to traffic congestion was a hour behind our agreed time. No problem, Gillian had organized a lovely meal for the family plus a package of local produce as a welcome pack. Gillian was most welcoming and the rooms, bathrooms and shower rooms were first rate. A beautiful comfortable house with more than enough room for the family and which, as we mentioned to Gillian, was not done full justice by the web photographs.
At our request, Gillian also laid on a meal for us which was absolutely excellent with superb food and wines.
The pool was too cool at the time we were there ( May ) but the stunning views around from the pool area and towards the snow capped mountains more than made up for this loss and we enjoyed 2 bar-b-cues at the outside table and adjacent facilities.
In short, Gillian is a fine hostess, the accommodation superb and the entire family enjoyed there stay without exception. To be recommended to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing!
Liked least: The drive down the road to get the early morning croissants.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality and charm
Liked least: more towels would be great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ginnyjuic...
Temecula, California
1 review
“Great Place to stay and a wonderful host.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in this lovely house for 9 days and we were treated with Great Food, beautiful views and a lot of advise on where to go and what to see. As we spoke no French, Gillian was a great help to us. The house was very comfortable with good beds and modern baths. and a small kitchen if you wanted to cook for yourself. I personally would just loved to have Gillian do all the cooking. A wonderful Chef that used local foods and wine talking about where they came from and how she used them in her cooking. A Great Place!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing