We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveller rating
552
184
43
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
184
43
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town lounge area lovely hotel sitting room sea front lovely bar sea view minute walk restaurant recommendations home from home only stayed one night walled city catching the ferry breakfast room crepes brittany ferries promenade
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 794 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Looking for a place to stay in St Malo, we were attracted by the high ratings of La Villefromoy. We had made reservations for a garden room for two persons for 161,- €/ night ( the sea side rooms were already booked). On our arrival, we were told that an upgrade to a larger three-bed-room was available for 15,- € / night. With taxes, the sum amounted to about 186,- € / night. This room was somewhat larger than the one we originally booked. The third bed could be used as a sofa. The smaller room on the second floor had one easy chair and one straight chair, but scarcely space to place them, never mind to sit comfortably. We chose the three-bed room. It was on the ground floor, adjacent to the interior garden of the hotel, # 11. Due to only one not too large window and the foliage in the garden, the room was rather gloomy. Quite understandable in an old villa building, but why doesn't the management place additional lights in the room? Apart from the two double lamps next to the beds ( ca 40 Watts each), there only was one lampshade on the desk in the corner of the room, equally dim. The amenities altogether are adequate, but really not more than that. Beds are box springs with the basic-looking mattresses visible and woollen blankets with cotton sheets for cover. There is a wall-to-wall carpet covered with skimpy Chinese straw mats aside the beds. Instead of night tables , low stools are offered. In some places, the wallpaper started to peel and the radiators showed rust spots. Booking.com mentioned slippers and bathrobes available for guests in each room, but none were present upon our arrival neither stocked up the next day. The corridor leading to the room was equally gloomy, as the proximity sensors did not work properly.
The really nice reception area and salon feature in all pictures of trip advisor and Booking.com (and made us choose this hotel), but they are a far cry from the room we actually got and the room we could choose alternatively. Another thing that we did not like were all those little signs for so-called extras you have to pay for that can be found all over the place. As for the 'late checkout' at 12:30 for (ca) 15,- €, or the signs that explain the origin of breakfast stuff to justify the price, which looked altogether not different from that they serve in any other budget hotel. The location of the hotel is 3 kilometres from Intra Mures, but this is a lovely walk along the shore. Staff was very friendly.
Altogether, this is an ok, quite basic seaside hotel, but it eludes me why it has deserved such a high ranking, especially considered that the value for money is totally off.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CM-and-WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Villefromoy and would have liked to stay longer. We were two couples on vacation and found the location to be beautiful and very convenient. The breakfast was wonderful and the rooms were very comfortable.

The service was very good. We loved asking along the beach on the "boardwalk" and we really loved the area, St. Malo etc. The restaurants were terrific and the charm of the walled city was exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nasus06880-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villefromoy, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Villefromoy, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour Nasus,
Nous sommes ravis de lire que vous avez vécu une si belle expérience à l'hôtel 4* La Villefromoy et que vous avez particulièrement apprécié l'emplacement de l'hôtel à seulement 40 mètres de l'hôtel, le petit-déjeuner "Made in Bretagne" composé de produits locaux, le confort de votre chambre la promenade le long de la digue face à la mer, les restaurants que notre équipe de réception a pu vous recommander, et le charme de l'hôtel. A bientôt ! C.PAYET Directrice de l'Hébergement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Hotel was charming, ideal for a romantic stay. Very well located, a few steps from the sea and 5-minutes walk from the thermes, in a calm area (20-minutes walk to the fort). Service was very friendly and breakfast outstanding (full choice of good-quality food, including regional specialities).

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lidiag84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villefromoy, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Villefromoy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Good evening Lidi ! We are glad to read you had such a great experience during your romantic week end at the 4* Hotel La Villefromoy ! All the hotel staff members would like to thank you for your king end encouraging comment ! Very best regards, Coralie Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Located nearby the sea only 50 metres, this hotel is splandid, quiet, cosy, affordable and luxuous. Rooms are big and very clean with every accomadation you can deserve in 4 stars hotel. The employees are just wonderfull peolpe very nice and they take care of you.
To be synthtetic : You want to read your roman in a perfect quiet place ?

Go there.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 112valeryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villefromoy, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Villefromoy, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

We are glad to read you had such a good experience at the 4* Boutique Hotel La Villefromoy ! Passionnated about our job, it is a pleasure for us to have such a good feedback! C.PAYET ACCOMMODATION MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

Planned on staying just the one night as we had other accommodation planned for the next day. After staying at this place, we decided to enjoy at our entire stay at this lovely establishment. From start to finish, it were absolutely perfect. My favourite part of the stay without a doubt, must go to the breakfast composed of local produces. Great staff at your service 24/7, big rooms and great facilities.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank R0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villefromoy, Responsable commercial at Hotel La Villefromoy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Thank you very much for your very encouraging comment ! We are really glad to read you had such a good experience at the Hotel 4*La Villefromoy ! Your comment has been transmited to all the hotel staff members,

Very best regards,

Coralie
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews