We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
417
313
60
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
313
60
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolfree tea and coffeefamily roomferry portfree secure parkinggenerous continental breakfastminute drivelarge shower roomold townserved its purposenice toiletriesnice poolone night stopovergood sized roomshelpful receptionistrecommend this hotelexcellent shower
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

After a long drive from the Loire Valley and visiting Arromanches & Bayeux, Normandy this was our first stay at a Kyriad brand hotel. Based upon the high reviews, we were expecting more. We arrived in the evening and after checking in, went to our ground floor room only to discover that though the room appeared clean, it smelled of cigarette smoke and chemicals that had been used to cover the cigarette smoke smell. As I’m allergic to tobacco smoke, we went to the front desk and let the agent know of the situation. She didn’t seem to believe us and said she had to smell it herself, walked with us to the room and upon smelling, said that all the rooms smell that way and that we couldn’t change rooms. She showed us how to use the air, which we turned on to try to clear it out, then went to the old town to explore while we tried to air out the room.

We came back and it was still bad. We found a cigarette burn in the carpet between the bed and window, took a picture and went back to a different person at the front desk. After explaining the smell and showing the picture of the burn hole, this other person told the manager who was leaving to go home, and they finally switched us to a different room on the second floor.

The second room smelled of cleaner but no tobacco (yes, I can tell the difference). It was clean, had the basics that we needed and worked for the night.

Things that help in the rating: the night staff person who believed me after photographic evidence, his friendliness, the location was convenient with a car, free parking and was clean and comfortable in the second room.

Minuses that hinder the rating: the gate didn’t work with the room key so we had to be buzzed into the car park after multiple tries, morning was quite under-staffed with the front desk who checked me out also covering to provide the breakfast for people and keeping it stocked, the smelly first room and fact that we had to prove it with a separate smell test by the first front desk person, their refusal to change and dismissal that all rooms smell, and then having to provide photographic proof to get a room change the second time.

For a first time Kyriad user, vs Ibis, Mercure & Starwood brands that I usually do, this was not memorable in a good way as a brand introduction. I give it an average because of the second room meeting our needs.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank PeterH3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyriadPrestigeStmalo, Responsable réception at Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

If you do not have a car this hotel is too far from ferry to Jersey. Good if you have a car but no local restaurants nearby without car. Friendly staff. Basic hotel out of St Malo. Basic breakfast if you are not out early for ferry

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank aberni731579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyriadPrestigeStmalo, Reception at Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

For the price this hotel is perfect. There's nothing fancy but the room was perfectly clean and the hotel was conveniently located near the center yet away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Staff is nice and helpful. Parking is free. I highly recommend Kyriad Prestige.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellieilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyriadPrestigeStmalo, La réception at Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hello,

We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and very happy to read your comment!
We thank you so much and hope to see you very soon!

The reception desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

An excellent hotel especially for a stop over prior to catching the ferry the following morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was superb. The location was very good, out of the madding crowds but within walking distance of the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank ianu821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyriadPrestigeStmalo, Responsable réception at Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you for taking time to share your excellent feed back about your stay. We hope welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We found this hotel to be excellent value for money. the pool was a real draw for us and it was a lovely temperature. The rooms were comfortable and well proportioned. For the price we felt it was very very good.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank theelmfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyriadPrestigeStmalo, Responsable réception at Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking time to share your excellent comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews