We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Styles Auxerre Nord(Auxerre)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Auxerre(Appoigny)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$175
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
53
119
45
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
119
45
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold townsecure parkingfirst floorreturn visita king size bedstreet parkingless than a minute walkolder hotelstop floorperfect positionlady on receptionbeautiful hotelbooked a superior roomtwo nightslovely roomper night
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

I have stayed as this hotel many times in the past but not in the past 10 years so I was interested to see what had changed in what has always been a traditional French hotel in a lovely building . The setting has if anything improved with good parking on the road and the riverside much improved. The hotel itself has been modernised but in a way that doesn't loose its traditional feel . The rooms are good clean and comfortable the breakfast is ok but not exceptional. The staff couldn't be more helpful and speak better English than my awful French ! I will be going back and this time not wait another 10 years

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Located right on the river bank there are great views from the front of the hotel. Hotel staff very Friendly and helpful, Breakfast ok, although could have been "restocked" a little more frequently to avoid empty dishes and having to wait. Parking available if reserved. location good for the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Right by the river close to the old town, this is what makes the Hotel special. It is clean with friendly staff and even has a parking garage. The rooms and breakfast are average, nothing wrong with it, though, if you only plan to stay a short while.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We enjoyed our one night stay in mid-May. We had a nice size room on the first floor overlooking the river. The double windows helped with the somewhat busy street. It worked well. The room had a mini fridge, which is always nice when traveling from town to town, and a good size bathroom. Secure parking was available in the back. We liked the location with the river and some benches across the street, easy access to this amazing old historic town, and access to several near-by restaurants. Staff was sparse but helpful when we checked in and out. All in all it was a pleasant, albeit short stay, and we would likely stay again. I feel the only reason it didn't deserve a fifth star was that there were a couple of large areas of the room ceiling with peeling paint, and some major mold in a couple of places (or what we took for mold given how it looked). I presume that's simply the nature of older buildings, especially near rivers and such. So, I don't want to be too harsh. If in the Auxerre area we certainly would include this on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We had stopped in Auxerre on past trips, stopping for coffee or lunch en route from somewhere to somewhere, and decided the town was worth a longer visit. We purposely looked for a hotel on the river since that seemed such a lovely base from which to wander around town, so we opted for Le Maxime. I am glad we did. This is an old world hotel, no glitz, but full of character and very comfortable. We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the river. I highly recommend spending the extra Euros for the view which is delightful. And while there may be traffic during the day, it dies down in the evening. The staff was very helpful in both suggesting places to eat and providing other helpful info about the town. The hotel has limited private parking, at a fee. The room itself was very comfortable, and looked to have been recently redecorated. All in all a lovely place for a stay in Auxerre in walking distance from the heart of the town.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river. For quiter rooms, the rooms in the back are likely better.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews