We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location”
Review of Hotel Le Maxime

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Maxime
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We had a top floor room looking out over the Yonne river for two nights to visit a nearby champagne festival with another English couple. Of course it was August so most of the other guests were just passing through on the rush to the South and most of the city shops were closed.

However, the reception staff were all friendly and tolerated my poor French, only speaking their excellent English to make sure we had understood each other!
Good recommendation for a late lunch spot when we arrived at 14:45 (check in is not until 15:00) and good value parking in their covered garage at €9 per night.

There were only two issues, both minor, there is a bar nearby "Chez Max" which is quite loud on the Friday/Saturday nights we stayed. Also there is something either in the plumbing or air systems making a random rattling noise intermittently throughout the night, as I say, mild irritants - I still slept perfectly well.

Sadly there was an admin problem that meant our payment had not been properly registered but again the lady on reception was apologetic and took the reference number to deal with this herself rather than expect me to pay twice and sort things out.

Room Tip: River views are lovely
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Maxime
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

I have stayed as this hotel many times in the past but not in the past 10 years so I was interested to see what had changed in what has always been a traditional French hotel in a lovely building . The setting has if anything improved with good parking on the road and the riverside much improved. The hotel itself has been modernised but in a way that doesn't loose its traditional feel . The rooms are good clean and comfortable the breakfast is ok but not exceptional. The staff couldn't be more helpful and speak better English than my awful French ! I will be going back and this time not wait another 10 years

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Located right on the river bank there are great views from the front of the hotel. Hotel staff very Friendly and helpful, Breakfast ok, although could have been "restocked" a little more frequently to avoid empty dishes and having to wait. Parking available if reserved. location good for the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Right by the river close to the old town, this is what makes the Hotel special. It is clean with friendly staff and even has a parking garage. The rooms and breakfast are average, nothing wrong with it, though, if you only plan to stay a short while.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We enjoyed our one night stay in mid-May. We had a nice size room on the first floor overlooking the river. The double windows helped with the somewhat busy street. It worked well. The room had a mini fridge, which is always nice when traveling from town to town, and a good size bathroom. Secure parking was available in the back. We liked the location with the river and some benches across the street, easy access to this amazing old historic town, and access to several near-by restaurants. Staff was sparse but helpful when we checked in and out. All in all it was a pleasant, albeit short stay, and we would likely stay again. I feel the only reason it didn't deserve a fifth star was that there were a couple of large areas of the room ceiling with peeling paint, and some major mold in a couple of places (or what we took for mold given how it looked). I presume that's simply the nature of older buildings, especially near rivers and such. So, I don't want to be too harsh. If in the Auxerre area we certainly would include this on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auxerre hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 21 in Auxerre
346 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
254 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#3 of 21 in Auxerre
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
394 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Seignelay
Le Seignelay
#18 of 21 in Auxerre
82 reviews
2.0 km away
Ibis Styles Auxerre Nord
Ibis Styles Auxerre Nord
#6 of 21 in Auxerre
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Maxime

Address: 2 quai de la Marine, 89000, Auxerre, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Price Range: RM425 - RM606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Maxime 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Maxime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Maxime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing