We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday home we've stayed in”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA MAISON MARISSOU

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Des livres au cas ou....
Un autre regard sur la Touraine
Le Barbecue pour profiter des beaux jours et de la boucherie du village...
Château d'Azay le Rideau entre autre
La Loire à Vélo ou à pieds !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Retired-p...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best holiday home we've stayed in”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This gite near the Loire River is the most comfortable and well equipped holiday home we have stayed in, and as the photos show - it is beautifully furnished, the kitchen has every utensil and dish you could want, the garden is very pretty, and there is a covered BBQ area big enough for 8 people to relax round a table. Everything was spotless. Laurent and his sisters were helpful and charming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and outside eating area, although would most like the salon if the weather was bad
Liked least: Staircase to top floor is narrow and steep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Bonsoir Chers Amis,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice comment.
We are pleased to have answered your expectations, and even more!
Maybe we will have the pleasure to welcome you on your next visit to the Loire Valley?
thank you very much
give my regards to England
your host
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara2215
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderfully homely gite”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It was very comfortable and just as described very 'homely'. We loved the BBQ's, the cool spacious kitchen, the books and the gorgeous simplicity of it all...
Thank you Laurent, Martine & of course Fransoise for being so accomodating especially as we were travelling up from Marseille & thought we would be late. We hope to return using 'google translater less and speaking more french next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The attitude of the owner's in ensuring we had a good stay & making us feel very welcome.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Chers Amis,
Thank you for writing such a nice comment. I keep in memory for your next visit, we will only talk in French without google translation!
Thank you for choosing the Loire Valley for your holidays, thank you for choosing la Maison Marissou for your accommodation.
kind regards
Laurent Martine and Francoise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahLR20...
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loire Valley Gem”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful week at La Maison Marissou. The sun shone for our whole stay and we made full use of the private garden, eating outside every night. The house is in a beautiful village which is an excellent base to tour the Loire. Chinon is within cycling distance and we would recommend you taking your bikes or hiring them locally. The house is beautifully decorated with very nice french furniture throughout. It ticked all the boxes for us and we would definitely make a return visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Bonsoir Sarah,
It is with pleasure that I share with my sisters this lovely comment.
Eating in the outdoors after a long winter and a spring without a name, I understand perfectly your happiness.
Furthermore, the circuit of the Loire bike is very easy for everyone, so close to the châteaux and vineyards that make the reputation of this part of France.
I am pleased that the cottage, its scenery, and the garden charmed you, we may be lucky to see you again in the futur.
best regards
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyMcGi...
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perhaps our best Accommodation in France ever!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It will be difficult to convey how wonderful our stay at La Maison Marissou was in a short space! We come to France often, usually renting gites all around the country. This was perhaps the best accommodation we ever visited. The house is equipped with everything you can possibly need. It is spacious (there were 5 of us) and located in a wonderfully quiet village full of friendly people, yet near the larger city of Chinon. Laurent, Martine and Francoise were truly friendly, professional and accommodating in every regard. The outdoors portion of the property was well kept and filled with beautiful flowers -- truly a tranquil oasis. Previously we had visited the Loire Valley east of Tour on two occassions -- we found this area more peaceful, beautifuln and less touristy. I would absolutely recommend this gite to anyone planning a visit to the Loire. We certainly plan to return. Thank you again, Laurent, Martine and Francoise. Joe McGinty - Louisiana, USA.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Chère famille Mc Ginty.
Your comment is for us more than a compliment, because it is not your first time in the Loire Valley.
We put all our experience, our love in our home.
It is the image of what visitors from over sea can expect from a cottage village, with its butcher, baker's, small bars, and small market Tuesday morning ...
Merci beaucoup
Your host
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous well-equipped cottage 1km from the Loire”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a super week here, using it as a base to do some shorter family cycles.

The cottage is extremely well equipped with all you could need. The garden is sunny and secluded, and the undercover barbecue area would be great to eat outside if it rained. The house is on three floors, so the owners made up the attic room for the parents, and the kids slept on the middle level - bathrooms are on the middle and top levels. The middle level also open onto the garden, since ithe cottage is built against a small hill. The kitchen is large and new, and a large utility room is behind. Wifi was great and there were many good things, some of which we used: games, DVDs, satellite TV, sun loungers, countless books, etc.

Location-wise it is 1km from the main Loire cycle route. It is situated on a spur off the main route,that goes to Chinon. Huismes is a few kilometres from Chinon. Huismes is a small village, but there's the essentials, a small shop, boulangerie, etc. We cycled to Langeais from the cottage (19km one way), but since much of that was on a shared car-bike section, after that, we drove to car-free parts of the cycle track, such as Tours-Villandry and Souzay-Saumur, both of which were perfect.

The owners were very caring and attentive, but not intrusive - they are not based in Huismes, and we saw them at check-in and check-out with a couple of text messages in between.

Overall, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage, great location
Liked least: On road parking, but if the bikes were on the car, we parked behind gates on the property.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
Dear Simon,
It is with great pleasure that I discovered your comment, we are very happy that your overall stay went well.
We wanted to share this house with you, to make you discover in the best conditions, landscapes, specialties of the village wines of the Loire castles by dixaine ... all so that this part of the Loire Valey, makes you want to come and see us.
Au revoir, à bientôt
Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;