We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Au Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The hotel is very good, classic style, comfortable room, but no air conditioning. Very pleasant garden. The staff is very friendly, and very cute cats and dog. Breakfast buffet is satisfying. Unfortunately, the hotel is isolated, far from the old center of Old Chinon (about 5 km). You have to have a car available to move into town, where you must have dinner. If you can find a bottle of good wine the city you can enjoy it quietly on the hotel terrace with the driver who had to drive the car.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cleopatra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2016

This was only a budget hotel but I was impressed with it. A very large room with a king size, very comfortable bed.The bathroom was modern and very nice. Shower was small but worked well. Windows opened in the bedroom and bathroom. We arrived quite early (before 11:30) and could check in, which was great as we left the luggage in the room and went off to explore Chinon. Free parking on site and a little garden area with chairs and umbrellas if you wanted to relax outside. Located in an industrial park but easy to find and very quiet. Nice breakfast. Breads, sweet rolls, croissants, crepes, fresh fruit, yogourt etc.
I would have given this a 5 star but no AC or fan in the room and the room was so hot at night it was hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maclor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Finding the hotel name in our GPS list we were surprised to be told we had reached our destination when we were on a minor road next to a field of grapevines with no buildings in sight! We laughed about this with the hotel owner when we finally arrived. Our room was very pleasant with a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. The breakfast buffet was excellent, varied and copious. The only disadvantage to this hotel is that the only place to eat within walking distance was a transport cafe.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cete46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

We were a group of 9.
This is one of the best run hotels we have stayed at, the price, the check-in, the rooms, the outdoor garden, breakfast and check-out, everything just perfect.
Since the hotel is out of town, we decided to have dinner in town before arriving at the hotel; this was very wise as there are no real restaurants in the immediate area.

Room Tip: All rooms a great, a new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank philiptzora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were slightly worried by the approach to the hotel but it turned out to be a most comfortable stay. The owners are welcoming, friendly and helpful. It was good to be able to park our car so close to the hotel. Our rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The only thing wrong was the awful weather!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 20Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
3.2 km away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
161 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
928 reviews
3.6 km away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Saint Jacques
Saint Jacques
#10 of 15 in Chinon
79 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
298 reviews
3.1 km away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Sans Souci

Address: 1 allee Jacqueline Auriol | ZA Plaine des vaux N°2, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: RM 253 - RM 277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Au Sans Souci 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Au Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Au Sans Souci Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing