We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Au Sans Souci(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel De France(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Imago(La Roche-Clermault)
US$106
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Diderot(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
US$76
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Agnes Sorel(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
25
25
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
25
7
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Fantastic value! The location of La Boule d'Or is fantastic but it is difficult to get your car to the Carpark. The rooms are above the restaurant up a metal staircase and you have to walk through the restaurant to get to them. It can be quite slippy when it rains.

The rooms are big and clean and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. During the evening you can hear the gentle chatter of the little street outside as people eat their haute cuisine at the fabulous restaurant downstairs. You may get awoken at the end of the night by the awning being pulled up from the street under your window.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

We were off to a bad start. Arrived around 7 pm to discover no way to drive to hotel. Having asked for parking we were directed to a parking lot far away. Luckily we found street parking closer by. Then we discovered that we three 70 somethings had to drag our suitcases up a very steep set of metal stairs to our rooms. 2 of us with bad backs, one with a bad hip asked for help. "Non." Staggered downstairs to a decent dinner but a sour taste at the welcome. Room was fine, bathroom clean. The next day we were told by the day manager that there was of course parking at the back of the hotel. When we left there was help with our luggage. Need to do something about the woman who is in charge at night. If I couldn't have, I would have walked out that first night.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The best welcome to any hotel I have experienced. Upon requesting a bottle of local wine at a table in the inner courtyard Jean-Claude explained with a wide smile that it was compulsory. The rooms were excellent without the cheap extravagance of other hotels, very comfortable. The restaurant was exceptional with the star dish the Coq au vin. Other diners appeared to be local and at every table at least one pot of coq au vin was evident. The smell astounding as the lid was lifted. An overnight stay at the end of May(2015) I wish it was longer - return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-claude D, Propriétaire at La Boule d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016
Google Translation

Madame , Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel HOTEL BOULE D'OR REST. AT'ABLE ! (CHINON).

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour à vous offrir le meilleur des services.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir à nouveau, nous vous prions d’accepter, Madame, Monsieur, nos plus sincères salutations.

Annie Delaveau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Stopped over en route for one night only. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. Free wifi. This is a 2* hotel but is a lot better than some more expensive offerings out there. I didn't eat at the hotel as there are so many other restaurants to choose from, but the menu looked well priced (15-18€ menus ) and a la carte available as well. Positioned right in the middle of the old town it is an excellent position from which to explore the town, chateaux and surrounding area. There is a private car park (@€5) which is difficult to find and requires navigating through very narrow cobbled streets. I may have been charged due to not eating at the hotel, but you could check prior to stay if needed. I would recommend parking up in the nearby square and walking the 100m or so to the hotel and then walking back to your car to check the correct route to the car park. SatNav will take you to the adjacent street but it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cabby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-claude D, Propriétaire at La Boule d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016
Google Translation

Madame , Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel HOTEL BOULE D'OR REST. AT'ABLE ! (CHINON).

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour à vous offrir le meilleur des services.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir à nouveau, nous vous prions d’accepter, Madame, Monsieur, nos plus sincères salutations.

Annie Delaveau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed in little town centre of Chinon, in May, in the heart of some of the most beautiful vineyards and picturesque chateaus in the Loire Valley. It was within walking distance of Chinon Castle and town conveniences. Jean Claude and his wife went out of there way to make us feel at home. They even provided us with a key to enter the hotel as we returned during one of the national holidays. Now that is trust and does make you feel like one of the family. The rooms are above the restaurant and ours was above the street which had a bit of activity during the evening but died down and actually made you feel you lived there. Breakfasts were wonderful with yogurt, fresh baguettes, croissants and preserves, juice, tea and coffee. Dinners are exquisite. We had lamb that just melted in your mouth. We even were there for the Vouvray Wine Festival. Highly recommend this little hotel gem.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-claude D, Propriétaire at La Boule d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016
Google Translation

Madame , Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel HOTEL BOULE D'OR REST. AT'ABLE ! (CHINON).

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour à vous offrir le meilleur des services.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir à nouveau, nous vous prions d’accepter, Madame, Monsieur, nos plus sincères salutations.

Annie Delaveau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews