We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and very expensive”
Review of La Boule d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Boule d'Or
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Advertising plat du hour at 16 Euros ten of us arrived and the charming dark haired young lady said there was room and they were serving food, baby in high chair, toddler seated we looked at the menus and the rather grumpy lady came to tell us we were late and there was no 16 euro plat du hour, being hungry (a diabetic had to eat) we looked through the menu but only a couple of us ate, ice cream was dearer than Rome and the fish very expensive. The lady in grey was quite rude, we would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Before driving through the narrow streets of Chinon to reach La Boule d'Or, I did verify by email with the staff the exact route to be taken to reach the hotel - VERY glad I had done this. We did manage to get premium hotel parking, after parking on the street - I am sure parking may not be quite so easy during the summer season.
Staff were very helpful and accommodating, rooms were comfortable but above the street/restaurant which may be noisy late at night or during deliveries/trash collection. It was not an issue during our stay. Access to rooms is up a steepish metal stair case - in the courtyard - do be careful if it is damp.
Close to the river but no views, easy walking distance to the town sites, other restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HummingbirdTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable, hotel is in the centre of town, restaurant is very good. The private parking is tricky to reach initially due to the one way system and narrow roads.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alan_rumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Fantastic value! The location of La Boule d'Or is fantastic but it is difficult to get your car to the Carpark. The rooms are above the restaurant up a metal staircase and you have to walk through the restaurant to get to them. It can be quite slippy when it rains.

The rooms are big and clean and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. During the evening you can hear the gentle chatter of the little street outside as people eat their haute cuisine at the fabulous restaurant downstairs. You may get awoken at the end of the night by the awning being pulled up from the street under your window.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

We were off to a bad start. Arrived around 7 pm to discover no way to drive to hotel. Having asked for parking we were directed to a parking lot far away. Luckily we found street parking closer by. Then we discovered that we three 70 somethings had to drag our suitcases up a very steep set of metal stairs to our rooms. 2 of us with bad backs, one with a bad hip asked for help. "Non." Staggered downstairs to a decent dinner but a sour taste at the welcome. Room was fine, bathroom clean. The next day we were told by the day manager that there was of course parking at the back of the hotel. When we left there was help with our luggage. Need to do something about the woman who is in charge at night. If I couldn't have, I would have walked out that first night.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jurypr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
7.3 km away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
519 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
928 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
196 reviews
0.4 km away
Saint Jacques
Saint Jacques
#10 of 15 in Chinon
79 reviews
5.3 km away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boule d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boule d'Or

Address: 21.23, rue Rabelais, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Price Range: RM 333 - RM 429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Boule d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover La Boule d'Or located in Chinon , Indre & Loire, Centre region, France. S rooms are comfortable, quality service and a restoration of choice. Click here to discover our offers and our services . Do not hesitate to contact us for more information. You want to spend a pleasant stay in Touraine, visit the town of Chinon, sleep, eat, spend a weekend end.Cette beautiful throne step or the castle of Chinon , surrounded by vineyards, will surprise you with its relaxed lifestyle. The richness of the soil in Chinon surprise you: vineyards, castles, mansions, river, forest, Champignonieres, Soaps, Cheese. Activities around the town of Chinon are also numerous: Hiking, biking, kayaking, golf, tennis, balloons, Acrobranche , Adventure park , quad, electric bicycle, visit wineries, tasting wines of Chinon . Located in the heart of the Loire Valley , Centre region, the cradle of castles, World Heritage Site by Unesco. In this beautiful medieval city, Chinon Indre et Loire, close to downtown, the river face (Vienne) is the Hotel Boule d'Or . Former coach of the eighteenth century, transformed into a hotel, the hotel exudes the quiet charm of the houses of character. The hotel La Boule d'Or welcomes you all year round for your leisure stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Boule d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Boule D'Or Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing