We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Plantagenet(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imago(La Roche-Clermault)
US$103
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel De France(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Au Sans Souci(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Hotel Agnes Sorel(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
25
25
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
25
7
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Before driving through the narrow streets of Chinon to reach La Boule d'Or, I did verify by email with the staff the exact route to be taken to reach the hotel - VERY glad I had done this. We did manage to get premium hotel parking, after parking on the street - I am sure parking may not be quite so easy during the summer season.
Staff were very helpful and accommodating, rooms were comfortable but above the street/restaurant which may be noisy late at night or during deliveries/trash collection. It was not an issue during our stay. Access to rooms is up a steepish metal stair case - in the courtyard - do be careful if it is damp.
Close to the river but no views, easy walking distance to the town sites, other restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HummingbirdTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable, hotel is in the centre of town, restaurant is very good. The private parking is tricky to reach initially due to the one way system and narrow roads.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alan_rumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Fantastic value! The location of La Boule d'Or is fantastic but it is difficult to get your car to the Carpark. The rooms are above the restaurant up a metal staircase and you have to walk through the restaurant to get to them. It can be quite slippy when it rains.

The rooms are big and clean and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. During the evening you can hear the gentle chatter of the little street outside as people eat their haute cuisine at the fabulous restaurant downstairs. You may get awoken at the end of the night by the awning being pulled up from the street under your window.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

We were off to a bad start. Arrived around 7 pm to discover no way to drive to hotel. Having asked for parking we were directed to a parking lot far away. Luckily we found street parking closer by. Then we discovered that we three 70 somethings had to drag our suitcases up a very steep set of metal stairs to our rooms. 2 of us with bad backs, one with a bad hip asked for help. "Non." Staggered downstairs to a decent dinner but a sour taste at the welcome. Room was fine, bathroom clean. The next day we were told by the day manager that there was of course parking at the back of the hotel. When we left there was help with our luggage. Need to do something about the woman who is in charge at night. If I couldn't have, I would have walked out that first night.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The best welcome to any hotel I have experienced. Upon requesting a bottle of local wine at a table in the inner courtyard Jean-Claude explained with a wide smile that it was compulsory. The rooms were excellent without the cheap extravagance of other hotels, very comfortable. The restaurant was exceptional with the star dish the Coq au vin. Other diners appeared to be local and at every table at least one pot of coq au vin was evident. The smell astounding as the lid was lifted. An overnight stay at the end of May(2015) I wish it was longer - return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-claude D, Propriétaire at La Boule d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016
Google Translation

Madame , Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel HOTEL BOULE D'OR REST. AT'ABLE ! (CHINON).

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour à vous offrir le meilleur des services.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir à nouveau, nous vous prions d’accepter, Madame, Monsieur, nos plus sincères salutations.

Annie Delaveau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews