We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic retreat! An elegant luxury in the heart...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Chateaufort

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Tours, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
schoenen
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat! An elegant luxury in the heart of the Loire”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Where to begin? Perhaps the most luxurious holiday we've ever spent - we felt absolutely spoiled by the amazing hosts in this beautiful Loire Valley French country house.

Decorated in a thoughtful marriage of modern and traditional, this expansive chateau can easily accommodate many. Although our time here was with family and close friends, the space easily allows for folks to blissfully relax in peaceful solitude, if so inclined. The enormous grounds are excellent for outdoor activity! Whether swimming, disc golf, archery on the front lawn, or a pleasant walk, there's more than enough to explore for quieter days.

Equally, Chateaufort is proximate to a number of other Loire Valley attractions. The Chateau de Langeais is a close walk. There's a number of excellent mid and high-tier restaurants in Langeais. Villandry is a must-see, and a short drive away.

The chateau staff were far-and-above attentive, great attention to detail, and truly pleasant people! The meals we had at Chateaufort were on par with amazing restaurants. They were also quite accommodating to asks. We felt so well cared for!

If there as one thing that was missing, it was that we were only at Chateaufort for but a week! The time went so quickly - activities for everyone, amazing grounds, and a beautiful part of France that we had not explored deeply before. Great regional wines to boot :) Chateaufort receives our highest of recommendations for luxury, service, and grandeur.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Chateau”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at this beautiful Chateau for a week August 2016. This is the 3rd Chateau our group of 19 family and friends have stayed at and by far the best so far. So good we booked again for next year. For us everything was perfect, from the two very well equipped Chefs kitchens, to the Sumptuous accommodation. The pool was a perfect size and heated to just the right temperature and the gym, golf driving range, stunning well kept gardens, badminton, table tennis and trampoline tick all the boxes. The Chateau is close to town for your bread and croissants and the super market is 5 minutes in the car. Its a great area for the keen cyclist as well. The rooms are beautiful and a few just huge, almost apartments in size! The is a full size snooker table and lovely sitting rooms but we spent most of our time outside. The dinning table inside sat all 19 of us.
The managers of the property live on site and they were lovely. They let us alone but were happy to help when required, such as I could not get the gas on the BBQ to work.
We cooked ourselves but I believe they can offer full services.
We took lots of blow up lilo's for the pool and held an Olympics in the grounds. We took our own bikes but they have some for hire if required.
Plenty of parking for cars.
Awesome place and a credit to the owners. Can't wait till next year

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steveblun...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Week's Great Fun”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had a fantastic week at the chateau with a group of friends. Ian and Laura were great - nothing was too much trouble. Great facilities, grounds and local amenities. So much so that we have booked again.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane3510
Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I will never forget the wonderful time I spent at Chateaufort. The hosts Laura and Ian went way above and beyond looking after the guests, nothing was to much trouble and was made to feel so welcome and wanted. The meals were of top quality with wonderful presentation with such detail and fantastic to eat.The accomadation was superb could not imagine any were nicer to stay. Really hope to come back again one day .Thanks again Laura and Ian for such a great holiday.

Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
2 reviews
“Stunning place to stay with great hosts”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Group of 18 of us visited for Le Mans Classic. The famous circuit is about an hour away via great rural roads. The building and the grounds are stunning - all accommodation and amenities to a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts, Ian and Laura - they put on a great party as well as some fine quality dining. It is rare these days that everything about a place exceeds your expectations but that was the case here - fantastic.

The village is but a short walk with some great eateries and of course the whole of the Loire is on your doorstep.

We'll be back!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing