We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place”
Review of Mercure Ajaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Ajaccio
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay here. Our plane was early so we arrived before check-in-time but the staff let us use the carpark and their facilities. They were friendly and pleasant. The room was clean and quiet. Even though the hotel is on a busy road, we did not hear anything. One tip : the breakfast buffet is really good and generous but if you are up for a change, the bakery next door offers some delicious specialities.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kelilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

We would like to thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

This hotel which is supposedly rated at 4 stars is an absolute joke. The staff were unfriendly and not very helpful, the lobby was dirty, the rooms, even the privilege, were shocking. The view of a brick wall was horrible and when we had prepaid for 4 nights and left after 2 nights, not even a consideration for any compensation. 2 room movements because things didn't work was enough. We travel around the world and don't complain very much but thought it imperative to advise guests that this is not the hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel........I hope someone reads this TRUE observation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your commenrts that are surprising as we are definitely seen as one of the best 4 stars in the city, most of our guest comments are underlying the quality of our service and the friendliness of our staff.
We would be happy to investigate further what you are calling shocking in terms of rooms, if you contact us directly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Central location in walking distance to city center. Good breakfast. Staff very helpfull and spoke excellent english. Nice spacy room. A bit difficult to reach by car (one way streets and traffic) and a very narrow entrance to the parking garage (no problem once inside the garage) Absolutely a recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your comments.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

It began with the check-in. When we got to the hotel I had a few questions about our online check-in (or as the receptionist insisted: online chicken). Our (double) room had been booked and fully paid for about two months ahead so I did not understand why the hotel charged us again with the sum that was nearly twice as much as had already been paid. Practically the hotel was unable to clarify why we were charged nearly three times as much as we were expected to. I think this was partly due to the poor English skills at the reception.
This second double charge was released from my account one month after my stay in this hotel.

The second issue was the “free welcome drink” business. One drink was offered for the two of us in spite of the fact that we had paid for a double room because “only one of us was an accor card holder” as the receptionist explained. We got a blank voucher which was valid for one drink. In the past couple of years were have always been offered two drinks when there were the two of us and this is what happened at the next Mercure hotel where we stayed. I am still wondering what the idea is behind this policy – I mean how to share one drink between people. I have to admit there was one bottle of “welcome” water in the room which was much easier to share. So the advantage of being Platinum card member is to have half a free drink and the have and an extra 560 Euros blocked on your card. We have been travelling in different parts of the world but this was our first experience of this kind. At the end of the day we offered our “welcome” drink to the manager, who probably never received our message as it was still lying on the reception desk on departure day.
Luckily we could afford a few drinks in the city and of course a bottle of good French wine in the evening made us forget these incidents.

The third thing was the room. Miniature size. This was the smallest Mercure room ever. Smaller than in Tokyo. Everything is tight and uncomfortable. The rack you could put your small bag on is 2 cm wider than the space for it. So it is useless. Fortunately we had only one bag with us. There is no room for a bigger one.
The safe is in a dark hole, you normally cannot see what is written on it (grey print on black background) but luckily we had an excellent electric torch and we finally found the instructions inside the safe.

Quite a few other dysfunctions in the room: there is a standing lamp in the corner the switch of which is on the floor so if you want to turn it on you have to move the table that is squeezed in the corner as well to the side. The tap in the shower is so awkward that you always get your hair wet even is you do not want to. There is a broken chain on the door that cannot be used as if the room had been broken into. It is not clear why the chain has not been removed. Perhaps to scare the guests.

We had a view of the harbour (which is much better than the awful view of the rooms in the back), however, you cannot sleep with the window open because of the terrible noise of the traffic in the street.

The only advice we took from other Tripadvisor reviews was to forget about the overpriced breakfast and we had breakfast in a nearby café or bakery. (Excellent croissant and coffee next door.)

When we were checking out Laurie (who was the only receptionist whose English was finally very good and who was the only one who greeted the guests entering or leaving the hotel) tried to give an explanation to our concerns and apologized and smiled when saying Good-bye.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Peter543for
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

We would like to thank you for having taken the time of expressing your feed back about your stay at our property.
There was clearly a lack of communication from our side about the issue of the double charge that was probably due to a technical problem between two different accounting systems ( the Platinum card one and the hotel own)

The "welcome drink" is a Mercure standard that our team had to follow and should have maybe overwrited so that it could meet your expectation , and we apologyze for this.

Based on the many feedback we receive the quality of our service and its friendly attitude if our biggest advantage edge in the city , we are sorry that you could not experience it , but we hope that we will be able to welcome you again should you travale to Ajaccio again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Clean, comfortable but small room with a decent sea view. At €133 per night I was expecting a better room with more than a small bottle of water to welcome us!
Situated on the main road into the city, on the 5th floor, we didn't notice the noise from the busy road below.
Breakfast was very nice but over priced at €14 per person, parking too was expensive at €12 per night. There were plenty of towels in the room but they were small and had seen better days.
So in total, 2 nights B&B with parking is over €300 and the hotel isn't even in a great part of town, it's a 20-30 minute walk along the busy road to the good restaurants.
On the plus side, the reception is very nice and the staff are super friendly and really helpful. It's easy to find when driving into Ajaccio, there is an underground car park.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you very much for having taken the time to let us know your impression about your stay at our hotel.

Our main goal is to offer , through our dedicated and passionate team, a warm and friendly feeling, and we are happy that we succeded.

Our location is a good compromise between an easy access and a walking distance to the center, avoiding crowded trafic driving into the city.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
1.4 km away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
532 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#3 of 28 in Ajaccio
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ibis Budget Ajaccio
Ibis Budget Ajaccio
#6 of 28 in Ajaccio
698 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
#12 of 28 in Ajaccio
297 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel San Carlu Citadelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ajaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ajaccio

Address: 115 cours Napoleon, 20090 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
#7 Business Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range: RM330 - RM770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Ajaccio 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of the town with direct access to both the station and the airport, the Mercure Ajaccio offers very comfortable rooms with all amenities, with a view over the pleasure port. To start the day off well, enjoy a delicious breakfast on the panoramic terrace overlooking the gulf of Ajaccio. Benefiting from a special position, right by the beaches and the Palace of Congresses, this hotel is the right address for business and leisure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Accorhotels.com so you can book your Mercure Ajaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ajaccio Hotel Ajaccio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing