We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Napoleon(Ajaccio)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$154
US$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Budget Ajaccio(Ajaccio)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Fesch(Ajaccio)
US$153
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$166
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Spunta di Mare(Ajaccio)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/08
US$327
US$317
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$779
US$723
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
99
304
122
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
304
122
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distance to cityuk visitorsnice hoteltake awaycomfortable bedbreakfast buffet ishotel is locatedrecommend this hotelterracecarbayirongaragecorsica
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This hotel which is supposedly rated at 4 stars is an absolute joke. The staff were unfriendly and not very helpful, the lobby was dirty, the rooms, even the privilege, were shocking. The view of a brick wall was horrible and when we had prepaid for 4 nights and left after 2 nights, not even a consideration for any compensation. 2 room movements because things didn't work was enough. We travel around the world and don't complain very much but thought it imperative to advise guests that this is not the hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel........I hope someone reads this TRUE observation.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your commenrts that are surprising as we are definitely seen as one of the best 4 stars in the city, most of our guest comments are underlying the quality of our service and the friendliness of our staff.
We would be happy to investigate further what you are calling shocking in terms of rooms, if you contact us directly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Central location in walking distance to city center. Good breakfast. Staff very helpfull and spoke excellent english. Nice spacy room. A bit difficult to reach by car (one way streets and traffic) and a very narrow entrance to the parking garage (no problem once inside the garage) Absolutely a recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your comments.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

It began with the check-in. When we got to the hotel I had a few questions about our online check-in (or as the receptionist insisted: online chicken). Our (double) room had been booked and fully paid for about two months ahead so I did not understand why the hotel charged us again with the sum that was nearly twice as much as had already been paid. Practically the hotel was unable to clarify why we were charged nearly three times as much as we were expected to. I think this was partly due to the poor English skills at the reception.
This second double charge was released from my account one month after my stay in this hotel.

The second issue was the “free welcome drink” business. One drink was offered for the two of us in spite of the fact that we had paid for a double room because “only one of us was an accor card holder” as the receptionist explained. We got a blank voucher which was valid for one drink. In the past couple of years were have always been offered two drinks when there were the two of us and this is what happened at the next Mercure hotel where we stayed. I am still wondering what the idea is behind this policy – I mean how to share one drink between people. I have to admit there was one bottle of “welcome” water in the room which was much easier to share. So the advantage of being Platinum card member is to have half a free drink and the have and an extra 560 Euros blocked on your card. We have been travelling in different parts of the world but this was our first experience of this kind. At the end of the day we offered our “welcome” drink to the manager, who probably never received our message as it was still lying on the reception desk on departure day.
Luckily we could afford a few drinks in the city and of course a bottle of good French wine in the evening made us forget these incidents.

The third thing was the room. Miniature size. This was the smallest Mercure room ever. Smaller than in Tokyo. Everything is tight and uncomfortable. The rack you could put your small bag on is 2 cm wider than the space for it. So it is useless. Fortunately we had only one bag with us. There is no room for a bigger one.
The safe is in a dark hole, you normally cannot see what is written on it (grey print on black background) but luckily we had an excellent electric torch and we finally found the instructions inside the safe.

Quite a few other dysfunctions in the room: there is a standing lamp in the corner the switch of which is on the floor so if you want to turn it on you have to move the table that is squeezed in the corner as well to the side. The tap in the shower is so awkward that you always get your hair wet even is you do not want to. There is a broken chain on the door that cannot be used as if the room had been broken into. It is not clear why the chain has not been removed. Perhaps to scare the guests.

We had a view of the harbour (which is much better than the awful view of the rooms in the back), however, you cannot sleep with the window open because of the terrible noise of the traffic in the street.

The only advice we took from other Tripadvisor reviews was to forget about the overpriced breakfast and we had breakfast in a nearby café or bakery. (Excellent croissant and coffee next door.)

When we were checking out Laurie (who was the only receptionist whose English was finally very good and who was the only one who greeted the guests entering or leaving the hotel) tried to give an explanation to our concerns and apologized and smiled when saying Good-bye.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Peter543for
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

We would like to thank you for having taken the time of expressing your feed back about your stay at our property.
There was clearly a lack of communication from our side about the issue of the double charge that was probably due to a technical problem between two different accounting systems ( the Platinum card one and the hotel own)

The "welcome drink" is a Mercure standard that our team had to follow and should have maybe overwrited so that it could meet your expectation , and we apologyze for this.

Based on the many feedback we receive the quality of our service and its friendly attitude if our biggest advantage edge in the city , we are sorry that you could not experience it , but we hope that we will be able to welcome you again should you travale to Ajaccio again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Clean, comfortable but small room with a decent sea view. At €133 per night I was expecting a better room with more than a small bottle of water to welcome us!
Situated on the main road into the city, on the 5th floor, we didn't notice the noise from the busy road below.
Breakfast was very nice but over priced at €14 per person, parking too was expensive at €12 per night. There were plenty of towels in the room but they were small and had seen better days.
So in total, 2 nights B&B with parking is over €300 and the hotel isn't even in a great part of town, it's a 20-30 minute walk along the busy road to the good restaurants.
On the plus side, the reception is very nice and the staff are super friendly and really helpful. It's easy to find when driving into Ajaccio, there is an underground car park.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you very much for having taken the time to let us know your impression about your stay at our hotel.

Our main goal is to offer , through our dedicated and passionate team, a warm and friendly feeling, and we are happy that we succeded.

Our location is a good compromise between an easy access and a walking distance to the center, avoiding crowded trafic driving into the city.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel in downtown Ajaccio close to the train station.
The hotel is simple but with a modern look. Minimalistic.
Very clean.
Comfortable bed.
Location was not as I expected but it was so nice to sleep at this hotel that I have to give them five stars.
Limited Parking available. Very tight. 12 Euros per night.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews