We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$133
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ostella(Bastia)
US$125
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$135
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Thalassa Hotel(Bastia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Napoleon(Bastia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$116
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
US$286
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
125
187
42
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
187
42
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcoming hotelenjoyable stayby footmin walkadvancedshowerferrycorsica
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The good: Lovely terrace (specially in the evening), plenty of parking available. Wi-Fi works great all around the hotel. Staff friendly and speaks enough English to give travel advice. Good location if one is going on the morning ferry from Bastia.

The not-so good: A bit far from the citadella and old town (but one can use a frequent city bus). The road by the hotel is busy day and night, so the rooms facing the road are quite noisy. Not much to do around the hotel, have to walk to the center. Breakfast and dinner very basic: tastefull, but limited selection. The second stay confirmed our thoughts after the initial stay: the rooms on the street side are noisy, lots of traffic. The room no. 25 was supposed to be for 4 persons, yet it seemed even smaller than room no. 3 (for 3 persons), the bathroom was tiny

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road (e.g. Nr. 25), the road is busy and noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OftenOnTheRoadFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Took the last ferry from Livorno and needed a stopover

Hotel Sud offered exactly that.
proximity to the port
Friendly staff 24 hrs reception
Functional room for a night.
Quiet a/c
Plenty of parking
Solid breakfast in a nice setting
Overall fairly priced.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Jasys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I was a bit wary having read earlier reviews, but can find nothing to fault at this price point. Rooms are compact , but perfectly adequate and appeared clean, well maintained and in good decorative order. The aircon was much appreciated and the wifi worked reasonably well. The walk into town is about 25 minutes and although the route is not scenic, its not that bad. The staff were helpful and the 8 Euro buffet breakfast was pleasant. The hotel has the feel of one of the better known French chains although apparently independently owned.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, which was quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grimtweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Rooms were clean and had good enough facilities...wifi, air con etc but it is about 20-30 mins walk into town. For us this wasn't a problem as we are younger but bear this in mind if you are older / have prams / wheelchairs.

The women we encountered on reception were extremely helpful and friendly. They humoured our attempts at French and spoke excellent English.

We had a couple of drinks and a cheese and bread dish and all was delicious.

We also kept our bags here for 10 days whilst doing the GR20 with no problems as we revisited at he end before leaving Corsica the next day.

: )

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank XredheadX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The staff were friendly and helpful and there was car parking apposite the hotel. The room had air conditioning. It was clean. Thats about it for the positive.
I had a tiny, shabby, cell like single room, with the smallest shower cubicle I have ever used. No lift.
Having read some of the hotel's reviews, there was some doubt about the food quality on offer in the restaurant. I had a look at the food waiting in baskets (it looked very unappealing) and then sought out a pizza close by (There is no restaurant alternative).
It is a good distance from the city centre, too far to walk.
Wifi weak in the room. (OK in reception).

Room Tip: Look else where.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudhotel, Propriétaire at Sud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Where to begin so our misunderstanding and our annoyance is great reading your comment that falls over the nastiness that an enlightened and respectable assessment. In our company, the human is the center of everything we do and this job with great force, that of their way to make guests feel at home and eat at home. So, the first reflex when you have a single room too small and that one is good-is to ask reception if there is a possibility of another room, something we have done during your visit Saturday. The wifi works in the hotel except as dependent on foreign network he happens to get to safety, in which case simply unplug the corresponding terminals and the signal works magically. So in your lucid excess you greeted with great humanity that the staff was friendly and the room was clean, the honor is safe. But the special moment not to miss in your evaluation is the restaurant. You did not eat there, you just saw that it was a buffet that costs 15 euros as part of the half board and you allow yourself to judge the quality of the food that made home and whose origin is 100% fresh. What ingratitude and lack of discernment what have you judge a restaurant by focusing on the container rather than the content, and based on very few bad comments visible on the internet. All for an overall score of 1/5 is the worst possible. Fortunately, we deeply love our job and we do it in the gift of self. We commit ourselves to constantly question. But your comment is dishonest not on your feelings (disappointment) but your argument based only on the smallness of your room and the distance that separates the hotel from the city (2km) you already know by booking with us and we are not responsible. In addition to a lack of communication, you have demonstrated nastiness in undermining the right recognized reputation of our institution. We doubt that in reading this comment you are very proud of these few lines which are, if not constructive and insightful, very disappointing for the whole team and inappropriate. Team of South Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews