We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, excellent location for independent travelers”
Review of Maison Zen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Zen
Ranked #58 of 187 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I have stayed here twice. Maison Zen is a good place to stay if you are very independent. It offers no hands-on service, as it is a meditation center and not a hotel. The location is excellent. Be prepared to take care of yourself for your stay. Madame Perl is a busy teacher, and the lovely housekeeper Theresa speaks no English.

I have noticed on both occasions -- and I have stayed in different rooms on different floors -- the walls are paper thin -- and I mean *paper* -- I can hear someone in the adjoining room cough, yawn, zipper their baggage, etc. so bring high-quality ear plugs or sleeping tablets. Even the television is programmed to only a whisper of a volume -- you have to be right next to it to hear it, so as not to disturb someone in the next room. The last time I stayed, there was construction on the other side of the wall (not part of Maison Zen) so it was impossible sleep late or to nap during the day when I needed a tourist break! (Not that there is anything MZ could do about this, but you may want to ask if there is any current construction.)

The place is only blocks from Bastille or Gare de Lyon but there are no tourists here, so you are really in a neighborhood environment. My first visit I took Metro everywhere -- there are many metro lines within blocks, but the 2nd visit I took the buses and saw much more of Paris than when I was constantly underground. 2 bus lines actually pass in front of MZ, and many others are a block or 2 away.

I would give MZ 4 stars instead of 3, but for the very thin walls and the lack of any kind of convenient hotel/B&B type of service. I am only "not recommending" because most folks I know need some kind of guidance when in a foreign city, and this is not the place you will get it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maddietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon for 1 week. Very well located near Bastille. Easy walking distance to trains, shops etc. We stayed in 1 bedroom apartment which was very small but beautifully presented and very comfortable. Owners were delightful. Provided a very tranquil setting, relaxing and we felt very secure.
Unfortunately we had few issues with flights being cancelled due to strikes but the owners were wonderful organising us another night with them. So many small things make this such a pleasant place to stay. No shoes on inside, free international phone call (this come in very handy) well equipped kitchen.
We know many people who have stayed here and will recommend to many more!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 803claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

A really great apartment in a central position to all transport, shopping and attractions. Very modern, well equipted, and quiet, looking into an internal courtyard. The top units are the best for a breeze and to avoid noise from above. A little hot in summer, so ask about an air-conditioning unit. I have a map if your interested on whats around it if your interested. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrdonaldmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

After reading many reviews about Masion Zen we felt very lucky that they had an apartment available - only because there had been a last moment cancellation.

Masion Zen is a very short walk (less than 5 mins.) for the Gare de Lyon Metro station. As others have mentioned you first go through a big wooden door, then a green gate into a court yard. We were greeted by Madame Grazyna Perl who was on her way to the meditation room. The cleaning lady let us in and Ms Pearl came to check all was ok half an hour later.

We stayed in 'Large Studio #8' This one is on the ground floor and has been recently decorated in lovely relaxing tones. The large kitchen is modern with stainless steel everything. Including a dishwasher, fridge freezer and full stove.

The main room has a table and two comfy chairs plus a nice sofa to lounge on. There is also a flat screen tv and dvd player. This room also has two large windows that let a lot of light in and overlook the peaceful courtyard.

There is a wall in the center of the room that separates the bedroom area. Two twins pushed together - they are so comfortable we both fell asleep as soon as we laid down (also could have been from all the walking we had been doing).

The bathroom is bright and modern with all new fixtures including a washing machine.

The Masion Zen was the perfect retreat to come home to after and busy day in Paris. The river is a short stroll away and perfect to view the Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame from the bridge at night.

If you are looking for a place that has someone at your beck and call, planning trips etc. then this is not the place for you or if you want to party hard. They are very hands off, which we like, however available if needed.

Maison Zen is a peaceful haven and we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dachshudn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The best accomadation I have experienced in Paris for a solo traveller. The studio has cooking facilities with a full bathroom. Quiet, but walk out to the street where there is three RER or Metro stations within short walking distance. The studio overlooked a quite garden. The owners were there to meet me on arrival. Since this is not a hotel, hotel services are not provided. Everything was in the studio that is needed for a comfortable stay. Diane

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeF08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#331 of 1,804 in Paris
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,804 in Paris
497 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#94 of 1,804 in Paris
2,043 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#93 of 1,804 in Paris
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Zen

Address: 35 rue de Lyon, 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 187 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: RM479 - RM815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Une belle maison, dans la cour avec un jardin. Très calme, les studios propres, récemment rénovés, propre. Centre de Paris, près de la Bastille, la Seine, Marais, Village Saint Paul. Votre chez vous pendant votre visite.Coin cousine, salle de bain, TV, téléphone, Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Zen Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing