We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but highly over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Ranked #41 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

first of all location of the hotel is excellent,5 minutes walk from the arc de triomphe and famous avenue des champs-elysees. the hotel is modern and also room,but not comfortable.bathroom is large with lots mirrors and tv is hidden in the mirrors in front of bed,the bed,s just perfect.the window opened out onto the lovley courtyard below so fresh air could be let in without any noise issues.you cant go to courtyard because said the manager of hotel is waitting for legal permission from neighbours!!!business center is very good and it,s open with your card 24hours day with free internet. there is a very poor buffet breakfast that served in the restaurant on the ground floor.a bit of disappointment from the buffet breakfast(poor selection of juice,yoghurts,sausage!...)it,s not your expectation from 5 star hotel as this price!!!!
overall i would never stay here again,big reason for me le royal monceau paris is not comfortable hotel and you are not warm feeling welcome from staff!!traveled with family

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmonceau, Responsable relations clients at Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Sir,

We thank you for sharing your opinion after your recent stay at Le Royal Monceau Raffles Paris.

We highly value your feedback and would be grateful if you could grant us a few minutes of your precious time. We would like to call you at a convenient time to follow-up on your remarks .

Kindest Regards

Eglantine Plumerand
Guest Relations Manager
Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris
37 avenue Hoche 75008 Paris
T + 33 (0)1 42 99 88 76
F + 33 (0)1 45 63 12 69
e.mail: eglantine.plumerand@raffles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 539 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

For anyone who has seen it all, is fed up with fake Louis XVI style interiors, has had it with luxury without fashion, go no further: this is your hotel. Completely redone by Philippe Starck, this is an absolute gem blending style with fashion and luxury. The hotel itself is stunning in style but also extremely efficiently built.The rooms are even better. Even the lay-out is different, with the bed in the middle. (Bed)lamps, chairs, the walls, everything fits and is special. the bathroom is even more unique with lot's of specially crafted and styled mirrors and great lighting. Service is also excellent, as is the location of the hotel, within 5 min walk from the Arc de Triomphe. The hotel has an great spa, a brand new and fairly large gym, with very helpful staff and even a beautiful swimming pool (very rare in Paris). There is only one problem for some: if you are not happy with your looks, dont go here, there are mirriors everywhere (the elevator is one big mirror), so there is no way to avoid yourself. Kidding aside, this is one of the most stunning interiors I have seen. Not for everyone, possibly, but again, if you have travelled a lot, are in for a change, and are in Paris, you should try this one out. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I can say that Royal Monceau was the best design hotel that I have been to.. The rooms, the lobby, restaurant area are truly amazing. The service, especially the concierge service was immaculate. I recommend this brand new hotel to all who seek for design, luxury and stlyle in Paris

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polina28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmonceau, Michel Gillot, deputy general manager at Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you very much for taking some time to share your opinion on Le Royal Monceau - Raffles Paris.

We are pleased to read that your trip to Paris was delightful, and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We also hope that you had time to experiment the services offered by out Art Concierges. We look forward to welcoming you again at Le Royal Monceau - Raffles Paris.

Sincerely,
Michel Gillot, deputy general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

An excellent pairing of new meets tradtional Paris. Welcome at entry is inviting, polished and professional complete with the doormen who both look and act the part as professional welcomers/helpers with heart. Kudos to the team at the front - (and those that hired and trained them).
Our welcome by the front reception was again polished and efficient. Every time we came down, we were greeted with a smile and a genuine good attitude.
Breakfast in the restaurant was always lovely though we often ordered croissants (requested them to be warm) with our morning coffees to our room. They arrived warm and were so good. One day they were very late and when finally delivered, they apologized and said it was on the house. I didn't even say anything and they were proactive to assuage the situation. Kudos again to them!
Again, the staff (sorry i forgot all the names...the young man who checked us in whose name begins with a G, and the lovely young woman who must be part Japanese and French were a few of the folks who stood out but all were good...and the kind doorman with the long eyelashes).
Re: service: I had forgotten my hair curling iron and was told they could bring me one. This did not happen and i was encouraged to visit Sephora for one...they don't carry them. My mistake for not bringing it but it is always a plus when high end hotels carry some extras. They did manage to find a great hair stylist to come to my room, Samira - she was lovely (pricey).
Concierge was fine. I asked for a print out of some specific restaurants one morning hoping it woudl be in my room that evening...but no luck. That said, they may have expected me to pop down again for the information but we were just too busy.
Okay the hotel...let's start with the bedrooms. We had a great room towards the end on the 4th or 5th floor - possibly 511. Nice layout. Enjoyed the big mirrors and tv's hidden in the mirrors in front of the bed and behind it too. The murano like lights in the room were fun as were the desks with the maps of Paris marked up as if by a friend inviting you to explore the city were great. The bathroom was all mirror...wow. At first a bit overwhelming, but clean, crisp and fun. I had to use one of the sinks to lay out my make up as not enought room to spread out one's toiletries. Yet, with a washcloth laid out on one of the two flat sinks, it worked well. Bring your own lotion as Stark does not believe in lotion at hotel. , i was told. The hotel did provide me some upon request, but it was i think from the spa or a local store. That said, the bath oils and packaging of their toiletries were lovely.
The only odd thing in the room was the picture of fruit, but i suppose that is a matter of taste.

Overall, the hotel is modern yet you still very much felt you were in Paris!

As many of you know, when designers go modern they sometimes seem to want you to forget where you are, but not Stark on this project - good job on this! (and i am not a huge Stark fan so this compliment comes from my experience at the hotel not from getting caught up in his reputation).
The hotel lobby bar area is quite convenient - you can have good conversations (not too noisy and feels private enough) and yet still enjoy some good people watching. The choice of putting the books up high is interesting. The people at the hotel when we were there appeared to include a crown prince from Asia, ministers from the Gulf, and other interesting whose who...of a whose who who were not too flashy...just interesting and chic.
It was a real treat to enjoy the newly unveiled Le Royal Monceau - Raffles and Stark got it right!
Oh and did i mention the beds and bedding....ahhh divine. Loved the mattresses, bedding, pillows, slippers and robes, and the views to the courtyard below and greens on the terraces above...and the windows opened out onto this lovely area...so fresh air could be let in without any noise issues. Yes, the beds just made me want to dive into them - making the Parisian night special all the way through til morning. Merci!

And the location is just fine...close enough to walk up the Arc de Triumph and down the famous boulevard.

And if you want some restaurant ideas....oh i have many...including just go to St Germaine and wander...find an older restaurant with lots of people inside and enjoy. There are so many great culinary experiences including the new Akrame, opened about 3 months ago. low key place but chfe is talk of town...ex gagnaire/el bulli but very much his own style. Also you might like Spring restaurant.

Room Tip: let them know what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

To make a short story short, at four In the morning I called the reception cause the AC wasn’t working, they sent the technician who couldn’t do anything. Instead of offering me another room immediately, they offered to send me a fan! When I got upset they asked me to move my stuff to another room AT 4 AM! When I got very upset they finally sent me to another room to have my sleep. They were all apologetic next morning, but forgot to send me an official apology like any other well established establishment would do!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank aliabdulla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmonceau, Director of sales & marketing at Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your opinion. We are always pleased to hear from our guests whether their comments are positive or negative.

During your stay, weather in Paris was really hot and sultry. Unfortunately, following a technical issue, the A/C went down in the whole building.
It was extremely unexpected for all of us, and everything has been made to fix it as soon as possible.
Please rest assured we are carefully looking into each and every point to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.

I do hope that you will choose Le Royal Monceau - Raffles Paris on your next visit, as well. Please do contact me directly and I will personally oversee your stay.
Sincerely,
Jean-Marie Le Gall Director of sales & maketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#11 of 1,804 in Paris
800 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#33 of 1,804 in Paris
691 reviews
Le Bristol Paris
#6 of 1,804 in Paris
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#16 of 1,804 in Paris
1,572 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris

Address: 37 Avenue Hoche, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paris
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#19 Spa Hotel in Paris
#32 Family Hotel in Paris
#35 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: RM2,920 - RM5,694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the prestigious Avenue Hoche, just a few steps from the Champs-Elysees and with views of the Arc de Triomphe, Le Royal Monceau features 149 luxurious rooms and suites, a 99-seat cinema, an art gallery, an exclusive service of Art Concierge and a private art collection. The Spa My Blend by Clarins, 1,500 sqm of ethereal white paradise, offers the ultimate urban escape for complete relaxation. With the longest swimming pool in a Paris hotel, personal trainers, a wide range of yoga and Pilates classes, a hammam, watsu basin and exclusive treatment rooms, this award-winning spa takes rejuvenation to another level. From the modern Japanese cuisine of Matsuhisa to the celebration of Italian regional food in the Michelin-starred restaurant Il Carpaccio, dining at Le Royal Monceau - Raffles Paris’ restaurants is a truly memorable experience. The desserts, all created by pastry superstar Pierre Herme, are the perfect finale to any meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris Hotel Paris
Royal Monceau Hotel
Royal Monceau Paris
Hotel Royal Monceau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing