We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,352)
Filter reviews
1,352 results
Traveller rating
329
587
284
86
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
587
284
86
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station irish pub next door boulevard montmartre great location grands boulevards premium room family room taxi stand quiet room small courtyard hotel entrance bars and restaurants walking distance light sleeper street noise decent hotel central location
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,352 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Metro and bus lines right outside hotel. Super convenient to tourist areas - can take bus#20 from Gare de Lyon straight to the door. We were pleasantly suprised with the size of a twin room. The breakfast area has been moved from the back of the hotel to the front with great natural lighting and a terrific breakfast buffet and a friendly staff who know to keep the coffee coming. Lots of restaurants and museums nearby. Two metro lines just outside the door. 4 or 5 buses. CLEAN

Room Tip: Do not be afraid of a front-facing room. We were on the 4th floor facing the street but not bothered by the noise (Monday and Tuesday nights, perhaps quieter nights than Friday and Saturday. The twin room we had was unusually large for central Paris.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank ontothenextplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldja_benarbia, General Manager at Hotel Paris Opera managed by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear ontothenextplaces,

We would like to thank you for having choose our hotel during your stay and to have take a part of your time to whrite this wonderfull review.

We are delighted to know that you have received a service worthy of your expectations.

Thank you for giving us your trust. We are delighted to see you near for your next trip in Paris to share with you another experience.

General Manager,
Aldja Benarbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

On a positive note, this was in a great location. Centrally to all the restaurants and pubs in the Opera area with the metro just outside. The staff were really friendly and helpful. it was clean, looked fresh and modern.
The negative site. We had an internal room which looked out into the middle courtyard, which had 2-3 generators in. The room was tiny, you could not "swing a cat" in the room and was so hot. I don't normally suffer with "hot", if anything I moan about the cold, but this room was boiling. There was no air conditioning available, even though they had the dials etc. We tried opening the window, but this made no difference at all. It was really stuffy.
The bed was crammed into the room and we had two hanging lamps beside the bed. My partner, every time he turned over in bed, he hit his head on the lamp.
The bathroom was very clean, but the shower - I have never seen such a small shower. I am 5ft 10" and very slim. The shower was a corner shower with a corner entry door. I could just about squeeze in, but if you wanted to bend down in the shower - no chance. You had to sliver down to get the shampoo on the floor. Also, the manager of the cleaner's came to our room twice (because we did not have the "do not disturb" sign on our room in the middle of the day) - but the room was never cleaned in the 3 nights that we spent there.
If you want a hotel which is central, clean then this is great. If you want a little bit of comfort - look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an external room and ask for air conditioning with a larger shower
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank woodsy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldja_benarbia, General Manager at Hotel Paris Opera managed by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Woodsy67,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing our hotel. Also, we would like to sincerely thank you for taking some time to send us your review regarding your time with us.

The staff want to thank you for your particular attention.

I sincerely apologize if we have not been able to meet your expectations. It is exactly the opposite the way we are and the type of service we are proud to provide to our guests.

We will definitely take into account your feedback about the issue you experienced regarding your stay. In order to improve our service we have communicated all this information to our Guest Experience Manager.

Looking forward to seeing you among us.

Best regards,
General Manager
Aldja Benarbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel to a 2 night stay. Booked and paid for a premium city view room via booking.com. This room was not available - amazingly they were still selling the same rooms online. They did offer an inside room with a bicycle in the middle of it but if I wanted that we would have booked it. They refused to make a refund. Beware also that no management in the hotel.

Went elsewhere - no refund 4 months later despite reaching out to the property and booking.com.

Not a pleasant start to a weekend in Paris. Plenty of opportunity since to address this. Very unfortunate as have stayed here since 2004.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dublin_Honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldja_benarbia, General Manager at Hotel Paris Opera managed by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Dublin-honeymooners,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel Tryp Paris Opera.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to suit your expectations, even when we made our best trying to offer you a pleasant stay among us.

At your arrival there was no availability for the kind of room you had booked (Premium room), so we gave you a Fitness room (superior category) without any complementary charges of course. You decided anyway to leave our hotel in spite of our offer and you were informed at the front desk (as you were at the moment of booking by booking.com) that the rate you had chosen for your reservation was not refundable.

We have already shared your opinion with our Guest Experience Manager to improve our services and to ensure situations like yours will not happen again as this is absolutely not representative of the high level standards of Meliã Hotels International.

We would like to have another opportunity to provide you the best service we are keen to offer to all our clients, and as per your comments during your last stay it was not the case, I would kindly request to inform me in advance if you decide to come back in order to personally take care of the booking and all your needs.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tryp Paris Opera in the near future.

Thank you for helping us improve and for your time and please feel free to contact me also if I may be of further assistance.
We remain at your entire disposal.

Best regards,
Aldja Benarbia,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Stayed here in September 2108 The staff were fabulous, there was a minor issue with the rooms booked which they fixed up as soon it was brought to receptions attention. The rooms were big & well appointed by Paris standards. The location was great with a metro station and a taxi rank outside the front door. The hop on hop off buss goes from across the road easy walk to restaurants and shops. The road outside was a little noisy during the day but was not an issue at night. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pub less noise on Friday & Saturday night
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldja_benarbia, General Manager at Hotel Paris Opera managed by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Harkim,

Thank you to take your time for write this wonderful comment.

We are glad to know that your stay is well spent.

All staff will be very happy to see you again for share another your stay with us in the next months.

General Manager,
Aldja Benarbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

As a frequent traveler, I am at a cross-roads here how best to describe this hotel.

I will summarize, it as most expensive on a per-square meter basis even when including services.

The ONLY thing working for this hotel is its location. That is what you’re paying for. Even by that standard you have a few options.

Let us start that this is a budget style hotel, but bills you like a 4 or 5 star hotel.

The rooms are extremely crammed, the bathrom even more so, the shower-stall is very claustrophobic. The hotel rooms don’t have any sort of a kettle or coffee/tea arrangement. The air-conditioning (or heating) unit probably doesn’t work. We switched it on, but it made no noticeable difference in the room temperature.

We had to leave the window open at night. Which results in a noisy environment. Our room was next to the hallway door, which meant, that anyone who entered the hallway, the door had a very loud thump and woke us up. This was such a major turn-off in the hotel, that I cannot tell you. I don't know why the hotel would deliberately have a hallway door that shuts in a very loud manner, so as to disturb the three rooms attached next to it.

Lifts are small, by European standard this is normal. Staff is very friendly, so I don’t blame them one bit. They inherited this troublesome hotel.

The shower stall is very very small. Reconsider this hotel if you’re a large person.

There is a mini bar, but that’s good for water or soda only.

The amenity kit in the bathroom was nice. That was perhaps the ONLY plus in the hotel.

Breakfast is okay. Nothing spectacular. Plenty of cafes around the hotel so might as well go there and have breakfast there. Metro is about 6 meters from the door. HUGE plus for those who rely on metro. Taxi stand 7 meters away. Pharmacy and grocery store is about 25 meters away.

All in all, I would avoid this hotel. Not worth the price at all.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms next to the lift and hallway separation doors. Double check the room before accepting it.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Faisal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldja_benarbia, Directeur général at Hotel Paris Opera managed by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Mr. Faisal K,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel Tryp Paris Opera.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to suit your expectations, as well as the incidents happened during your stay.

We have already shared your opinion with our Guest Experience Manager to improve our services and to ensure situations like yours will not happen again as this is absolutely not representative of the high level standards of Meliã Hotels International.

As you may know, the standard size of rooms in Paris is not very large and usually, extra services like kettle, slippers, bathrobe… are available from Premium rooms.

Regarding the heat you suffered in your room, we inform you that all our rooms are provided with air conditioning system (cold) during summer and central heating system (hot) in winter, which guests can regulate themselves.

Mr. Faisal K, we would like to have another opportunity to provide you the best service we are keen to offer to all our clients, so I would kindly request to inform me in advance if you decide to come back in order to personally take care of the booking and all your needs.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tryp Paris Opera in the near future.

Thank you for helping us improve and for your time and please feel free to contact me also if I may be of further assistance.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Best regards,
General Manager
Aldja Benarbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews