We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
Ranked #1,624 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Paris can be a nightmare to find accommodation in; always expensive, or if not, often untidy or unfriendly. This hotel was very different. It was clean, the staff were chatty and welcoming and the location was superb.

The room that we had was small but it was quite high up, under the roof itself and so quiet. It was neat and clean. It suited our purposes. Don't however expect luxury. It is a basic hotel.

The location is fantastic. It is a very interesting area of Paris, not far from the Bastille, with lots of good bars and cheapish restaurants. You can also find classier and more expensive restaurants in the area if you choose. The metro lines in the area are great for accessing sights. I couldn't reccommend enough though spending the evenings in the local area rather than the tourist traps of other parts of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BACNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

I rented two rooms here for a family trip. I've stayed at a lot of places in Paris and often do bargain-hunting, so I'm used to putting up with marginal accommodations for the sake of saving money (to spend on food!). But this was no bargain - I'd rather pay a bit more for a huge increase in comfort (and did so for the second half of this trip). The rooms were not dirty enough to drive us out, but many people would find them so. The carpets were apparently vacuumed, but that didn't remove LOTS of hair that stuck to them, looked like months of accumulation. Furniture was battered and scraped. One room was very dark, both were quite noisy despite facing in different directions, and the hotel amenities were minimal. It's about a 7-8 min walk to Metro stops, more like 10 to Bastille, the nearest main hub - not terrible, but not great either.

On the positive side, the beds were pretty comfortable, and the staff was friendly and happy to speak English. The neighborhood itself is not charming but it's close to restaurants and night life towards Bastille.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite hotel entrance marginally quieter
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gamemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed at the hotel for just 2 nights with 30 students, Paris so expensive and the students couldn't afford to drink. they talked and drank in their rooms because they were not allowed down stairs and there was nothing but complaints. The walls were so thin you could hear people who were 3 doors away. the hotel took their deposits for noise although their rooms were perfect the next day. Very disappointed in the hotel and breakfast was a cob and a croissant with some corn flakes and a fruit bowl 8 euros what a rip off.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arcreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Located 5 minutes from the Voltaire metro stop and close to the Bastille area which has a lot of restaurants and great nightlife. This is a basic, clean, no-frills hotel which we chose mainly for the location. The staff was friendly and they let us keep our luggage at the front desk so we do more sightseeing until our train later that evening. We just came here to sleep at night because we'd be out the whole day exploring the city. They offer breakfast (8 Euros) but we didnt eat there. The hotel also offers free wi-fi. I may not have stayed here if traveling with kids or if we had to spend a week or more but it was perfect for a short trip!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Very convenient for Paris sights and Metro. Pity about the rioting in the Bastille while we were there, although it did not impact our stay too much! Breakfast poor! Hard roll (fresh baked), croissant, dismal cereal, tinned two fruits, coffee and orange juice. Come on lets have a nice french pastry or a yoghurt and a bit of fresh fruit! Wonderful boulangeries minutes away. Don't bother with breakfast. Staff extremly helpful and friendly. Hotel itself has seen better days but it was clean and functional, although very dated decor! Bathroom spotless and I got used to the french door opposite the toilet that opened on to the street.(two floors up) Loo with a view! Good for economy stay and sight seeing but if you intend to spend a lot of time in your room I would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine-sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
République
Hotel des Arts Bastille
Hotel des Arts Bastille
#1,262 of 1,804 in Paris
379 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
#992 of 1,804 in Paris
163 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Standard Design
Hotel Standard Design
#516 of 1,804 in Paris
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Timhotel Nation
#1,225 of 1,804 in Paris
515 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,535 of 1,804 in Paris
116 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera

Address: 152 avenue Ledru Rollin | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,624 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: RM344 - RM998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing