We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, affordable, well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Star Champs Elysees
Ranked #453 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Went for a conference in Paris and stayed in this hotel just a few minute off the Arch de Trompe. fairly affordable, costing around Euro 600 for 5 nights (if I recall correctly).

Easily accessible to the palais de congress, walking distance but if you are lazy the metro is around the corner. easy to find food and there is dairy about 100 meters from the hotel.

The room was small as has been described by others. if you had 2 people in the room, you might bump into one another (happened to a colleague who came with his wife). Also the room came in different sizes, i had a nice room with a well sized bathroom and toilet, Another had a small bathroom and the toilet was opposite and next to the bed ( a bit confusing). Aircond was available which was good since we came in Summer.

Staff were very nice. Not at all like they mentioned in the guidebooks, we were not primarily english speaking even less french so they were very nice to assist us around and direct us to relevant places of interest.

All in all worth a stay if you are on a fair budget.

Didin't have breakfast here but other colleagues did and said that it was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViciousTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

Location:
The hotel is in a good location, a quiet street only five minutes from the north end of champs elysees/arc d' triumph and the Charles du Galle Etoile Metro station.

Rooms:
The rooms were very clean and with a modern decor. The bathroom was new but slightly on the small side. We had paid for a superior room which was a good size (sufficient for a triple) but the standard rooms are smaller (although this i believe is a trait of Parisian hotel rooms).
The standard and superior rooms have identical decor and therefore if you're only there for a couple days we would recommend saving some money (about EUR 20 p/night or so) and staying in a standard room (unless you’re spending a lot of time in the room or are a bit claustrophobic!).

Flat screen tv in the rooms, but English channels are limited to BBC news and CNN.

The hotel has 6 floors, with rooms ending 01,02,03 being street facing (we believe). Our room faced an internal wall, which was quiet, although obviously it had no view.

There was one problem with the shower in our room - we had a bath with overhead shower, which had no pressure and only dripped water out when we put it on. On reporting this problem to the night manager, we were told that there were no other superior rooms available that evening and to check tomorrow. We checked a standard room, which had a shower cubicle (not a bath) and this seemed to have much better pressure, although the room was much smaller.
The following morning we reported the problem to the front desk (a different person) who seemed a little disinterested in resolving the shower issue. On returning to the hotel after a day sightseeing we were informed that the shower was fixed. The pressure was better, although still not as good as that in the standard room we had tried the night before. By this point we felt there was no point in changing room as we only had one day left.

Overall the hotel is nice, the location is good. However for the money we paid for a superior room we were a tad disappointed. Additionally, we were unimpressed at the inability, disinterest/service received from two of the three front desk staff we encountered during our stay (the last person on our final day was much more helpful, polite and engaging, as one would expect from fonrt desk staff). If the shower issue and staff service had been better, we’d have given this hotel 5/5, as its location, room décor and cleaniness and value for money would make it a great place to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I spent 4 nights at the Best Western Star this month. This hotel has produced a positive impression on me and I would recommend it to other travellers.

The Best Western star rooms seem to have been renovated not long ago, everything looked fresh and new. My room was on the small size but nicely decorated in pink/dark brown colours and had a large bed with a good mattress. The flat screen tv on the wall opposite of the bed (French channels but also BBC, CNN, plus an Italian one) had the quirky habit of switching itself off after ca. one hour of watching but this was a minor inconvenience so I didn t report it to the reception desk staff. Bathroom had a shower plus sink (modern), toilet was in a separate, closet-style room. No body lotion or hair conditioner were supplied, only shampoo, shower gel and soap (Best Western products).

There was no hot water kettle in the room (rare in France anyhow) but the tap water got very hot so it was possible to brew the occasional decent instant coffee. The room had clima but fortunately the window could also be opened for fresh air.

The desk staff I came across during my stay were a lady and a man, both very friendly and helpful.

For those who need to buy something from a supermarket, there is a Monoprix near the corner of Rue Mac Mahon / Avenue des Ternes. There are several pharmacies in Rue Mac Mahon, too.

The Best Western Star is only a 5 minutes walk from the Arc, so I recommend to take the Air France Shuttle Bus (Car Air France) to get into the city. Buy a ticket at the Information Desk in the arrival hall (the return ticket is 24 Euro, cheaper than 2 single tickets), exit via Galerie 3. The bus stops in the street parallel to Rue Mac Mahon. The return buses to Charles de Gaulles Airport depart on Rue Mac Mahon, very near to the Arc, a 3 minutes walk from the Best Western Star.

A piece of advice to those who want to enjoy the elegant neighbourhood with its beautiful buildings and stylish designer shops: Avoid the Champs Elysees and its junk stores and tourist masses flip-flopping about it. Go to the Avenue George V and the Avenue Montaigne instead.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
Thank griseldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed here for a long weekend in August. The location is good -on a quiet side street but only a 1 minute walk from Charles De Gaulle Etoille Metro at the top of the Champs Elysee. From here you can reach most of the major attractions and central districts of Paris within 15-20 minutes. The Air France shuttle bus also picks up and drops off at this point.

The room was small and I wouldn't recommend the bed for anyone much over 6ft tall! However it was modern looking with a flat screen tv and cleaned to a high standard. The bathroom was also small but perfectly functional.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helped out with directions and timings. The hotel also offers free wireless internet if you need to do your own research/planning whilst there. I'd happily recommend this hotel as a good value for money option in Central Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I stayed here for 1 night and found the hotel to be a great scale (not too big or small in terms of number of rooms/guests). The staff were very attentive and friendly (certainly a plus when staying in Paris), the rooms were modern (recently renovated) and clean (although the standard was slightly on the small size so you wouldn't want to be travelling with a lot of luggage or like loads of space. It was an easy 5 min walk to the Arc De Triumphe and Champs Elysees and only a min or two to a nearby cab rank. The mini bar prices were very cheap which was a nice surprise. Having stayed in a number of hotels in Paris, this one represented absolutely brilliant value for money. Internet was free of charge. I would definately stay again (if my trip were self funded rather than business) but get a larger room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella_oes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Arc de Triomphe Etoile
Hotel Arc de Triomphe Etoile
#597 of 1,802 in Paris
278 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Tilsitt Etoile Paris
Hotel Tilsitt Etoile Paris
#732 of 1,802 in Paris
503 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
#220 of 1,802 in Paris
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Princesse Caroline
Hotel Princesse Caroline
#324 of 1,802 in Paris
336 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Riviera Elysees
Hotel Riviera Elysees
#1,133 of 1,802 in Paris
309 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Emeraude Hotel Plaza Etoile
Emeraude Hotel Plaza Etoile
#642 of 1,802 in Paris
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Star Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Star Champs Elysees

Address: 18 rue de l Arc de Triomphe | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#586 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: RM418 - RM1,106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Star Champs Elysees 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish air-conditioned hotel is located in the West of Paris,200 metres from the Arc de Triomphe. It offers modern rooms, decorated with warm colours. The rooms at Star Champs-Elysées are also equipped with satellite TV, a telephone and a minibar. The private bathrooms feature a hairdryer and either a shower or a bathtub. A full buffet breakfast is served every morning and can be enjoyed in the guest rooms. You can relax in the hotel’s lounge, which features a medieval décor and period fireplace. Best Western Star Champs Elysées welcomes you 24/7 with multilingual staff. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the hotel, and there is a laundry service. Hotel Star Champs-Elysées is 400 metres from Charles de Gaulle – Étoile Metro and RER Station, which provide direct access to Disneyland, La Defense, The Louvre Museum and the Montmartre district. The famous Avenue des Champs-Elysées is less than 10 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Star Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Star Champs Elysees Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing