We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel du Levant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Levant
Ranked #193 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent value for money”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Like the previous reviewer, I am a faithful client of Hotel du Levant and this is in fact the tenth time I returned to the hotel for a 3 night stay. Unlike the previous reviewer however, I was not disappointed in any way. I stayed in a single room, which although small was perfectly functional. It was very clean and the single bed was very comfortable, in anything I suspect the mattress had been charged as it was very firm and I had a perfect sleep all three nights. If anything the TV has improved in that we now get a flat screen TV with a wide variety of channels. Wifi was free and that was a huge plus. The bathroom was larger than the one I stayed in at the Hotel Europe St Severin for which I paid a lot more too! The power of the shower could be improved in my opinion, but this could be due to the high floor. The air conditioner worked perfectly.
Breakfast was a "semi-buffet" in that you get one croissant and one half baguette, but you could help yourself to as much corn flakes, muesli, cheese, ham, salami, fruit salad, yoghurt, orange juice, fresh fruit as you want. The coffee tasted as strong as it did before, you only have to specify if you want cafe, or cafe au lait, or a chocolat chaud.
Enough has already been said about the excellent location of the hotel. Apart from the excellent public transport accessibility, it is right in the latin quarter with loads of restaurants so you never get hungry, and in fact the creperie next door is open for business 24/7. St Severin church is also just round the corner, and if you want cheap grocery supplies just walk towards the Cluny museum and opposite there is a Monoprix.
Of course this hotel is not the Crillon or Mandarin Oriental, but for the asking price this has to be one of the best bargains in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Responsable réception at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Madam,

We wanted to thank you very much for your comments as were very touched by it.
We appreciate your support and your faithfulness, and hope to keep up to your expectations anytime you come back to our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    432
    76
    17
    7
See reviews for
297
293
229
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel at least 6 times over the last 12 years. This time I was dissappointed. Housekeeping had been excellent in the past. This time, there was some black mold in the lower part of the shower. As most hotels in Europe don't provide face cloths, I always bring my own. The weekend housekeeping staff removed it. Unfortunately, it never reappeared. The mattress needs to be replaced. I think they must never get rotated and was very low on the side of the bed away from the wall where most people would sit. I felt like I was sleeping on an incline & about to roll out of bed onto the floor. Fortunately I'm an early riser, if not, the housekeeping staff would have waken me. They were a bit loud a bit too early in the morning. Lastly (on the negative side), I felt the breakfast coffee wasn't as good as in the past. It tasted weak, like it was watered down or of a lesser quality. I need a good cup of coffee to get going in the morning. This time I had to go outside the hotel in the morning to a nearby cafe for a good cafe au lait. All that said, I still like the hotel's location as it is so convenient to attractions. Yes, it is in a very touristy area, but convenient. Breakfast staff and front desk staff remain very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Responsable réception at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment and have read carefully.
However, having no room number nor the date of your stay we can not give a specific answer.
We have recently changed all the bedding from the hotel, and the joints of the bathroom are regularly inspected by our maintenance man.
As for coffee, we work with a recognized brand that provides all the restaurants and hotels.

Having stayed many times in our hotel and having somehow entrusted us with your confidence, we would have greatly appreciated if you had come down to reception to let us know about your grievance. We always try meet as closely as possible the expectations of our customers. Maybe then we could have found a solution to you request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Located in a quaint safe road exactly 2 minutes walk from the St. Michel metro and surrounded by nice eateries. The hotel was conveniently located, walking distance from the Notre Dam and Louvre, other tourist locations was a train ride away. Taxis in Paris are a lot cheaper than many cities in Europe. We had a triple room which was large enough and well appointed. The breakfast was adequate and the staffs at the pantry were quite friendly. They also humoured my over inquisitive 7 year old and gave in to his demands.

One area this hotel fell short was the reception staff, being primarily a tourist hotel it was disappointing that they did not know basics like the opening hours of Louvre or that Versailles is closed on Monday.

While booking this hotel one must be conscious of the fact that the Latin Quarter is not the most upmarket location and neither the hotel is a fancy five or four star. It is at best a brilliant B&B which is most conveniently located where one can expect mostly good service and decent sized rooms in the middle of the city at a price that wont burn a hole in your pocket.

I will come back and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor as there is only one lift and can only take a miximum of 3 people at on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddhakkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Directeur général at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We thank you for your comment and hope to see you again soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel was fabulous. I was in their single room which is quite small, but I didn't need anything bigger. The hotel was very clean, and the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The location is fantastic as you can walk to many of the Parisian sites from here. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaLea0471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Responsable réception at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We thank you for your comment and hope to see again soon in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is ultimately a tourist hotel for those who like to be in the midst of the cheesy restaurants and close to Notre Dame.
Our room was as small as expected - toilet and basin/shower separate on the other side of the room. Quiet apart from banging door from the next room.
I don't have much to say on the over-rated staff - we weren't offered any amazing advice, but neither did we ask for it. We didn't even get an "au revior" when we paid the bill.
Location was fantastic for Notre Dame and for access from CDG airport. Surrounding restaurants not great but at least the area was lively and gave the impression of holidays. We moved hotels to a different (branded) hotel for our last night of the 3-night visit, which was located at the Trocadero and is much more chic and pleasant than the latin quarter, but it's all about personal preference.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Responsable réception at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,

We are very surprised by your comments , our hotel is located in the Latin Quarter, which is
a very tourist area.

Most of our guests are tourists or business men.

We are doing all our best to inform our guests and satisfy their requests,and we always say
good bye ( au revoir ) after they checked out .

Hoping to meet you again some other time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,801 in Paris
1,218 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#246 of 1,801 in Paris
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#249 of 1,801 in Paris
893 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Cluny Square
Hotel Cluny Square
#384 of 1,801 in Paris
679 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#176 of 1,801 in Paris
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Levant

Property: Hotel du Levant
Address: 18 rue de la Harpe, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Paris
#139 Family Hotel in Paris
#292 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): RM735 - RM1,620
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Levant 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Levant in Paris... The finer things in life! Step into the atmosphere of Hotel du Levant, Rue de la Harpe on the Left Bank, and open the colourful pages of the history of Paris! In the heart of Paris' lively, picturesque 5th arrondissement of Paris, the hotel is a blend of charm, authenticity, nostalgia and modernity. Elegance, thoughtfulness, comfort and style, the motto of our guest establishment ever at our service with its cosy rooms "a la Parisienne" is the best way for your walking discovery tours of the most beautiful jewels of the Capital: Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cite, the banks of the Seine and its bookstalls, Boulevards Saint Germain and Saint-Michel, the Conciergerie, Sainte-Chapelle and so much more. Ideally located on the Left Bank, our 3-star hotel is a haven of peace in the hubbub of Parisian life.We do have a 3 guests bedroom available especially designed with handicap amenities. Because the Hotel du Levant is an old haussmanian construction, regular wheelchairs do not fit in. This is why we provide to our handicap guests a specific wheelchair, which fits in our elevator, to circulate in our hotel. We also provide storage of your personal wheelchair during your stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Levant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Levant Hotel
Du Levant Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing