We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
123
220
79
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
220
79
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews catholic university croissants living area min walk first floor car park old town modern hotel railway station excellent location kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The hotel was adequate for the 1 night we were there. Parking in enclosed parking was good! Brekfast at 9euro is a little steep - but that goes for breakfast all over France. A croissant and a cup of coffee is not enough as a morning meal for us Scandinavians :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ams891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Myself, my wife and three children stayed here for a short trip to Lille (2 nights). The accommodation was clean and brightly decorated. We had to utilise the pull out sofa bed, while our children stayed in the adjoining (no doors) bedroom that contained a single, and two singles pushed together. The advantage of this type of property is that if you're on a budget (as we were), you can buy food from the nearby supermarkets and cook for yourself in the evening, or pop over the road and get some pastries for breakfast. The car park entrance is to the right of the property as you face it, and you have to pop into reception and ask them to open the gate. The location is good also, with a 5 minute walk to the citadel/zoo, and then a further 10 minutes to the square, and a further 5 minutes to the old town. Overall I would recommend this property, good value for money, allows you to be self-sufficient, and it is clean, bright and airy. When compared with other budget hotels in a similar price bracket, I'd say this comes out tops for the reasons mention previously.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PTaylor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Were here a year ago. This is a bare bones place. Positives include a low price, adequate rooms, very good continental breakfast, a dramatically improved internet over what we had a year ago (one still must long in every time one opens up the laptop), and excellent coffee. Staff is more friendly and responsive than a year previous. Negatives: for a residence hotel, the cooking facilities are inadequate, but one can make coffee or boil an egg. Housekeeping is "hit or miss." Once we were left with only one towel for the two of us. Another time the plastic glasses were cracked; another time we had none.
Overall, a decidedly mixed bag but much better than last year.
Location is great for the university, and the walk downtown takes only 20 minutes.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank winefishhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel on basis it offered a "2 bed appartment suitable for 5 ppl" as there were three of us (a couple and a single person) so we figured would make it cheaper but still allow privacy. The staff were friendly and room was first floor easy to locate. Room had kitchenette as advertised plus table and big sofa bed. The fridge froze all our food due to the freezer door being missing which was pretty annoying and when notified the hotel said "yes sorry we have had complaints of this". The wifi was a bit hit and miss but did connect most of the time in the room. Living area was reasonable size and had everything we could need. However, it is not a 2 bed apartment. There were no doors separating the main living room from the bedroom. There was one bedroom, with two singles pushed together in one end, and then an alcove in the wall which housed a further single bed. I queried this as to me, they should have been separate rooms with doors, but was advised that was how they all come. Everything else was fine, lots of towels and everything worked, but the bedroom really didn't offer any privacy from each other so given how it is marketed I was pretty disappointed. Easy walk into city though and if you aren't bothered about the bedroom being open then it's a fairly good find.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We were very happy with this hotel, with the exception of just one thing - the wifi - which didn't work in our 3rd floor room, however our colleague on the 2nd floor did have wifi access. Other than that, this is a very pleasant place to stay - very very quiet at night, nice and clean, handy little kitchen where you can prepare breakfast (breakfast room downstairs appears a bit "soulless"! ) One member of reception staff exceptionally helpful (man with a beard, didn't catch his name) and told us about the bus for both Gares (which goes from right outside the hotel). It is a brisk 20 minutes walk into the city centre, plenty of restaurants near by. Nearest supermarkets about a 10 minute walk on Rue Leon Gambetta, or there is one in the old Market Halles on Solferino. All in all we enjoyed our stay here, it's good value relative to other hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor if you want wifi!!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews