We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty, hot room and over-charged for room”
Review of Les Cascades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cascades
Ranked #36 of 71 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Booked a family room via Booking.com for 120 Euros. For a family of 4 it was small, smelled musty and the decor was tired. It also overlooked the street which is noisy and you're woken early by all the refuse trucks.

Breakfast was expensive in my view so we opted out. However, when I checked my credit card they charged me a staggering 39 Euros for breakfast. I have taken this up with Booking.com but the hotel says we ate in the hotel. They lied, I'm out of pocket and wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Beware!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Athena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed here overnight on our way from the UK to a week in Brittany.

We arrived at about 6pm during a heatwave and were shown to a small room directly above the restaurant and opposite the restaurant's toilets. It was big enough for 2 adults and 2 small children for an overnight stay, but smelt musty and you could not open the windows as it was so noisy outside.

We went straight out to eat but when we returned at 9ish it was still really loud (worse) and the owner said he could do nothing to help. It was not an easy nor comportable night. The decor is tired and the not 'boutique' as it had been described. We had understood the family room has a mezzanine to separate adults from children but this was not what we got.

Breakfast was lovely and the owner's wife explained that as we had asked for 2 singles and a double that was the only room they had... This was not clear on booking.

It was expensive for what it was and you can do a lot better in Honfleur.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Ate here a week ago as it was the only place that we could find serving dinner at 5pm and my daughter was starving. I wish we'd have made her wait. Food was absolutely dreadful. The seafood platter was just nasty, burger so greasy, chips tasted horrid (hard to mess up i would have thought) service was very average verging on poor. We have spent 4 weeks camping around france - this was by far the worst meal that we ate and unfortunately the most expensive at £100 for 2 adults and 2 very small children. I would never eat there again. In fact just thinking of it makes me feel ill!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank tabitha n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We were a party of 4 . Order our drinks which came punctually. Followed by our food. We asked several times for mustard which arrived after going up to the bar to enquire yet again for it. When the waiter came back with it, he knocked over a full beer which went over glasses and phone on the table and then over friends shorts and shirt. No reaction by the waiter to get serviettes to mop of the mess. Had to ask the owner to bring more to soak up beer. No replacement beer, had to ask for that too. Then to round things off they charged for the beer they spilt and full price for the meals. Usually if something like this happens staff and management are very apologetic, offer a round of drinks or discount the meal. Here it seems, rudeness and money grabbing from tourists is the order of the day. Language was not a problem as we are bi-lingual, just their arrogance.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank CBSWestSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Our group of 6 motorcyclists stopped overnight in Les Cascades. The hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable and the price was really reasonable. Staff were very helpful and friendly too. There was no parking for the hotel but the municipal parking outside was good free from 8pm to 8am and 2 euros/hr although a 12hr stay was 12 euros. Luckily 1 bay held all of our 5 bikes.

Honfleur is a very picturesque town with ample bars, cafes and restaurants. We made the mistake of dining at the Le Maison Bleue which is situated in a good position on the quayside. We visited this the same time last year and found it not too good but thought we were just unlucky. Not at all impressed this year either. My wife was served up a portion of chicken which looked like something mummified. Probably a left-over from the night before. We regretted not dining in Le Cascades. The food looked good and it seemed popular with the locals too. The 'Au Relais Des Cyclistes' on the opposite corner was also good.

The quay area of the town is very pretty but the upper part of the town is also very pretty with its old churches and buildings

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Budget Honfleur
Ibis Budget Honfleur
#12 of 32 in Honfleur
1,017 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
555 reviews
4.2 km away
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
#1 of 1 in Equemauville
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
B&B Hotel Honfleur
B&B Hotel Honfleur
#1 of 2 in La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur
167 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
4.4 km away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cascades

Address: 19 cours des Fosses, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range: RM 351 - RM 553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Les Cascades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing