We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Carmes
Nearby Hotels
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars(Rouen)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
US$149
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Morand(Rouen)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
22
63
30
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
63
30
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrough around the edgesbathroom windowsmall hotelcroissantsno liftroom was spaciousnarrow streetsthe heart of the cityshort walkparkingcathedralcarcentremercureeuros
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Reasonably priced, clean and well located, our accommodations reflected the history of Trip Advisor suggestions. Our towels were new, large and fluffy, our mattress brand new and our bathroom updated with a lovely large tub. Breakfast was also good, convenient and a good value and our host was incredibly kind and helpful. He is not always on premises but never took long to arrive when needed. The building is ancient, the carpet must have seen better decades and the room floor lists, as does the staircase. There's no elevator. The furniture has been there a while, the wifi is hinky and the overall effect is dated/funky. We enjoyed Rouen and being walking distance from all the he major sights. The hotel was fine.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank merilyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The hotel rooms are well decorated, with the painted sky on the ceiling a nice touch (my daughter thought it was great). We were in a three-bed room on the second floor, and while it was a bit cozy, there was still enough space for us. You can't beat the location, either -- it's very central in Rouen. We used the car parking for €10 extra, which was a nice option to have. The wifi worked reasonably well for us, except that you have to get a code from downstairs for each device and you have to enter it every time you turn on your device. The continental breakfast was also nice, with croissants, bread, marmalade and jam, coffee (or tea or hot chocolate), and yogurt.

My one main complaint was the quality of sleep. To be fair, they apologized in the morning because they were having some trouble with drunken guests, but I think that was only a piece of the problem. 1) The pillows on the beds were so flat as to be basically nonexistent; I'm not sure why they bothered. Even bunched up as much as I could get it, it wasn't a real pillow and gave me a headache. 2) We were facing on the street, and there were people talking under our room pretty much continuously until about 6 a.m. It was cool, rainy spring here, so we didn't have the windows open and yet could hear them clearly. 3) Then there was the person upstairs (possibly one of their drunken guests), who hit the floor running at 4:30 a.m. on a Sunday morning and kept going until about 6:45, doing what sounded like laps in heavy shoes, with the occasional jump/pound thrown in every second lap or so. We didn't get any real sleep until about 7 a.m., right before we needed to be up. TL;DR: Your sleep quality in this hotel is highly dependent on the consideration of passersby and your neighbours, more so than in other hotels.

Overall, a nice little hotel at a decent price with good management. But unfortunately noise -- both from the street and from the hotel -- can be a problem.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 21 -- or any other rooms facing on the street.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We recently stayed 1 night at this Hotel after struggling to find accommodation through the Tourist Information Centre. The owner speaks good English and allowed us to look at 2 rooms before choosing. The smaller one at the back of the hotel was extremely small so we chose the larger one at the front. Nice view of the square.
We had the smallest bed we have shared for a long time but did sleep ok. No inside handle or lock on the bathroom door meant asking to be locked in for privacy. Shower ok but wet floor badly. No hairdryer. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but did pay for the covered parking.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janineor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Came here for work. Very charming hotel, well located in the center, next to a nice public square. Liked the decorative style of the hotel (warm colours, oil landscape paintings and historic photos), which seemed suited to the historic building and not fake or trying too hard. Rooms were nicer than needed to be with a huge bathtub and not overly decorated. Breakfast nice (fresh croissants and bread, marmelade, joghurt) but not included, and the staff was helpful even if only one or two people were present. Only downsides were the wifi, which needed a code every time and a bit of noise from the street at night (this is in winter, so summer must be worse). Would definitely recommend, especially for couples.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dimitri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

This is not your usual hotel. There's more than a sense of faded glory about it, which some have described as charming. It does have a certain feel from a bygone age but there is a downside to this. Everything is very worn and could do with deep cleaning, refreshing...or better still, refurbishing. All four of us got up with aching backs as the mattresses had seen better days. The bathroom lock in our room was on the outside and there was no handle. This meant you couldn't pull the door shut so there was no privacy in the bathroom. The towels were a little worn and though clean, had an aged greyness about them. The wifi was very patchy and there's no lift if you've heavy luggage though the owner did offer assistance had we needed it.
As indicated, the owner is friendly and helpful and everything was ready for us when we arrived. The hotel car parking definitely worth using and good value. The location is good too, though the square can get noisy at night and early mornings with the bin lorries.
We didn't take breakfast at the hotel, preferring to explore the local cafés, but it looked and smelt fine.
All in all, nothing to stop anyone from staying unless your environment and creature comforts are important to you.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews