We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“center location”
Review of Hotel des Carmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Carmes
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Smaller hotel in the center of the old town. Employees speak decent English. They have a few parking spots for 10 euros per night. Quiet at night. window in bathroom and balcony window for cross ventilation. our room had a shower in a tub. room was spacious.
we did not purchase the breakfast, preferring to dine in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017

This hotel was ideally situated in the heart of the city of Rouen. Despite the quaint features like the showerhead and toilet roller holders falling off for the lack of a screw and the rickety staircase the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was worth the money too. Delicious home made preserves of unusual flavours and the best croissants we've ever tasted. We found Rouen a lovely place with its narrow streets and twisted old buildings and not far from the ferry port of Dieppe. Good selection of restaurants, cafes and bars too. We'd certainly return to the hotel again.

Room Tip: The stairway is narrow and a bit rickety but safe. Choose a room on the lower floors if possible (6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our few days in Rouen. The hotel was slightly rough around the edges and the room very basic, but in a great location near the cathedral and the old part of the city. The owner was charming and very helpful. The nearby garage parking was a boon, as I could forget about the car during our stay. Driving and parking nearby not easy!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Booked through booking.com as it was good value for one night. Location is in a pretty square in the centre of Rouen. The hotel is small with dining area for breakfast in reception area. Nicely decorated with lots of paintings by owners wife on the walls, lovely jazz numbers playing when we checked in and at breakfast. The owner Herve was funny,charming and extremely helpful. Our accommodation was a one bed apartment across the road and although the entrance up one flight of stairs left us a bit daunted as it was an old building, the apartment itself was lovely, small, but very clean and with very modern and tasteful decor. Bed was comfortable. Sleep undisturbed and shower was great. We really enjoyed our breakfast the following day; gorgeous warm croissants, a generous pot of lovely coffee, tasty rustic bread, fresh orange juice, natural yoghurt (nicest i ever had) and a handful of plums (almost prunes) which were delicious and gorgeous home made jams. if you are tired of anonymous and clinical hotels where you are just a room number then this is just the place. We loved it and will definitely return. Merci Beaucoup Herve.

Room Tip: Don't know what rooms in the hotel are like but ours in the apartment was very good and very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Reasonably priced, clean and well located, our accommodations reflected the history of Trip Advisor suggestions. Our towels were new, large and fluffy, our mattress brand new and our bathroom updated with a lovely large tub. Breakfast was also good, convenient and a good value and our host was incredibly kind and helpful. He is not always on premises but never took long to arrive when needed. The building is ancient, the carpet must have seen better decades and the room floor lists, as does the staircase. There's no elevator. The furniture has been there a while, the wifi is hinky and the overall effect is dated/funky. We enjoyed Rouen and being walking distance from all the he major sights. The hotel was fine.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank merilyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 km away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#12 of 50 in Rouen
179 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#25 of 50 in Rouen
168 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 50 in Rouen
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#14 of 50 in Rouen
230 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 km away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#23 of 50 in Rouen
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Carmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Carmes

Address: 33 Place des Carmes, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range: RM 277 - RM 510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Carmes 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Carmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Carmes Hotel
Hotel Des Carmes Rouen, France, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing