We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
Boutique Hotel Cezanne(Aix-en-Provence)
US$189
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel des Augustins(Aix-en-Provence)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Aquabella Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)
US$190
US$168
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mozart Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mas d'Entremont(Aix-en-Provence)
US$212
US$205
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Aix en Provence(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveller rating
526
398
130
27
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
398
130
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsm gallerycours mirabeaula table dubalcony overlooking the poolfour star hotelpool serviceold townlovely hotelshort walkmacaroonsbreakfast was excellentbusy streetspecial thankswell located hotelenjoyed our staystandard roomonly stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This is a lovely hotel. Central location with just a short walk to the Cours Mirabeau with shops and restaurant. The pool is a real bonus after a hot day and the staff are friendly and accommodating. Food in the restaurant is good and breakfasts are plentiful. Great decor in central lobby. Our room was a tad small and we suggest you book a room with a balcony overlooking the pool . Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Sue,

Thank you for your comment after your stay with us.
We very much appreciate and we will share it with all our team members. Moreover we are very close the city center, with a pool which is very quiet. With our restaurant we want to share the Flavors of the Provence to all our guests.
Sincerely,

Elisabeth MENDES – Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Good location; good soundproofing between rooms; comfortable bed and pillows; strong wifi; attentive and pleasant service.

Lots of things I haven't tried so can't comment on like the breakfast and dinner. It is expensive but so is whole of Aix.

Would stay again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicks_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Nicks,

We appreciate that you shared your experience further to your stay at the Grand Hotel Roi René.

We a pleased to read such a good comment and we are glad that you had enjoyed your time in our hotel. We will show your comment to all our teams.
We will share your comment with all our staff to enjoy them.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Elisabeth MENDES-Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, we upgraded to courtyard room overlooking pool. The hotel is walking distance to main bars and the old town.

Hotel lobby and pool area are both great as is the bar.

Rooms are quite typical hotel rooms. Pleasant if a bit corporate but absolutely fine no issues at all.

Parking is 20 per night on top of the room

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank jamez1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Jamez,

We appreciate that you shared your experience further to your stay at the Grand Hotel Roi René.

We a pleased to read such a good comment and we are glad that you had enjoyed your time in our hotel. We will show your comment to all our teams.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Elisabeth MENDES-Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This hotel is not up to par at all. When my wife and I checked in, everything looks good in the room but it's not highly upkeeped. The bed wasn't tightly tucked in and air conditioning wasn't working (It was 35 degrees that day). The bell boy has brought us a small portable fan and it's just not enough.
We sent in some shirts to the laundry but they lost one piece. Asked them about the missing piece but we did not get a satisfying answer from the Manager at all. I was very very upset and it's was our first kind of lost laundry experience. Also, the Manager did not care about the situation when we asked her about this. Not good at all.

Room Tip: Don't do your laundry there.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JFoo_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear JFoo_o,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comment about your stay at the Grand Hotel Roi René.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. We take in up situation your comment to improve our services in the future.
We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in our lovely city.

Elisabeth MENDES – Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

I arrived at the hotel during noon time. No bellboy available at the entrance and I need to carry my heavy luggage down the stairs in order to go to the reception. I have stayed in this hotel for almost 2 weeks and overall still not too bad. Except a few "feedback" that I would have. (1) When I first arrived, no room slippers were available. (2) You will never enjoy the shower time as the water temperature vary every minute, either very cold or very hot (3) When it was time to checkout at 12pm, the housekeeping lady was already outside your door waiting to "chase" you out. (4) the swimming pool is not very impressive. (5) The breakfast is expensive

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MAR2016TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Mar2016TY,

We thank you for having taken the time to write a review about your stay at the Grand Hôtel Roi René in Aix-en-Provence.
Your feedback and remarks are very important to us, as we strive to offer superior services to every customer.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours faithfully,

Elisabeth MENDES – Operating manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews