We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Boutique Hotel Cezanne(Aix-en-Provence)
US$158
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Aix en Provence(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Mozart Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cardinal(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Aquabella Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)
US$193
US$188
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Mas d'Entremont(Aix-en-Provence)
US$282
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
513
156
62
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
156
62
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelshuttle servicebeautiful gardenhotel shuttlean amazing dinnergarden barminute walkfive star hotelfront desk staffcloset spaceclose to townjet lagfine hotelstandard roomrestaurant staffrosébreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Le Pigonnet in June and it was a great choice. The hotel has just changed hands and the service is amazing. Anything we asked for they tried to accommodate and went the extra mile to help. Their guidance on restaurants and what to do was also 5 stats. The breakfast was lovely and the rooms were great. If you can, stay in the Presidential suite it is a stunning room with a beautiful terrace. Definitely one of the top places to stay if you are planning to tour the Provence region.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AZTPP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLePigonnet, Director of Operations at Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Good evening,
What a wonderful comment!
Thank you for sharing your experience and have you enjoyed the wonderful view towards the mount Saint Victoire from the Presidential Suite terrace? Admiring its colors through the same eyes of the admired Cezanne artist.
Today’s team are working hard to strengthen and develop a unique guests experience based on respect, friendliness and attention to details. We are actually working hard on the “conciergerie” selected list in order to offer to our guests our favorite restaurants.
Hope that we will be able to count on you in the next coming years.
With kind regards,
Tatiana Halimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This is a cute hotel with a charming garden which is perfect for rest and relaxation. The pool is a bit of a letdown, but it shouldn't make that big of a difference unless you are there to swim. It was also a bit warm in the room - even with the AC on full blast - but, in fairness, our stay was during the early July heat wave. That said, it's only a 10 minute walk to Aix, which was more interesting that I anticipated, and we absolutely LOVED the wine tour we took (guide Romain Gouvernet picked us up at the hotel and dropped us off at the end). All in all, it was a very nice 2-night refresh on our way from Paris to Nice/Monte Carlo.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLePigonnet, Director of Operations at Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear David,
I would like to thank you for your lovely comment and are so happy that you enjoyed the peaceful setting of Le Pigonnet!
Today, Le Pigonnet is a distinguished address in Aix en Provence with 90 years of history. We just acquired the Hotel 8 months ago and we have the ambition to recapture its splendour and are happy to offer our expertise to carry on the dream and the magic that surrounds this mythical hotel.
A new chapter is about to be written and we have many projects ahead.
One of the projects is actually to enlarge and modernize the swimming pool so it would be a pleasure to welcome you again next summer! We are actually working hard on the “conciergerie” contacts in order to offer to our guests the best tours.
We would be delighted to welcome you again at Le Pigonnet any time!
Hope that we will be able to count on you in the next coming years.
With kind regards,
Tatiana Halimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

My parents and I found refuge at the beautiful Le Pigonnet after my father had accidentally booked a very dismal hotel in the center of Aix. We got here late at night, and book two rooms for 3 nights. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, and understanding of our plight of switching hotels at a very late hour. The gardens at Le Pigonnet are stunning (Cezanne used to paint Mont Saint Victoire from Pigonnet's gardens), and the breakfast buffet is delicious. It is hard to pull yourself away from this hotel and its beautiful grounds and pool to spend time exploring Aix, that is the only problem! Would highly recommend Le Pigonnet to family and friends traveling to Aix.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Doria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLePigonnet, Director of Operations at Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Doria,
What a wonderful comment!
Thank you for sharing your experience are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Le Pigonnet!
Today’s team are working hard to strengthen and develop a unique guests experience based on respect, friendliness and attention to details.
I see you enjoyed our charming gardens and please let me introduce you to our special guide Frederique, during your next visit, for you to discover Aix En Provence!
Hope that we will be able to count on you in the next coming years.
With kind regards,
Tatiana Halimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

This is billed as a 5 star hotel - and it's not really. We stayed in the modern block - the rooms there are more Marriott than boutique. Nonetheless this place has real charm - and the service is terrific - to the extent that you can forgive a bit of peeling paint here and there. The gardens are stunning and the pool is lovely and quiet (plus serves a fantastic burger). It's a short 1-15 minute walk in to town but if you ask at reception they will arrange to run you in - in our case in their vintage Daimler! Breakfast was ok - but rather expensive and it's not easy to stroll out somewhere else so you're a but stuck. Overall a good choice in a beatuifcul city.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLePigonnet, Director of Operations at Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Jonathan,
I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and for helping us improve the quality of our Hotel.
We are genuinely sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the rooms, may I ask you in which category you stayed in?
Today, Le Pigonnet is a distinguished address in Aix en Provence with 90 years of history. We just acquired the Hotel 8 months ago and we have the ambition to recapture its splendour and are happy to offer our expertise to carry on the dream and the magic that surrounds this mythical hotel.
A new chapter is about to be written and we have many projects ahead.
The new management team actually slept in every single room in order to note what needs to be changed. Our goal is to bring the Provencal hints for our guest to fully experience the South of France flair. For example, we are working on the mini bar products so that you will be able to try “Made in Provence” products. Hope you will be coming back soon to try them!
Hope that we will be able to count on you in the next coming years.
With kind regards,
Tatiana Halimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We've spent only a week in Aix-en-Provence for holidays. In order not to have anything going wrong for this short time we were looking for five star hotels close to the city and ended up going for Le Pigonnet.
Arriving in the hotel we got probably one of the smallest rooms I've seen for quite awhile in a five star hotel. (room number was 50 or 55) The room seemed to be a bit renovated, but the seperate restroom was still with old looking tiles and even without a sink to wash hands.

I've asked the reception for switching rooms, as this is nothing I wanted to spend 330,- EUR a night for. The staff at the reception was very helpful and almost kind of "admiting" that they totally understand my points of complains.

The next room (no.21) was a bit bigger. But overall the impression remains: the room was also very old style, furnitures were damaged, parts of the bathroom door were losing color, the carpet was stained. (see pictures)
There was an old noisy aircon in the corner, too noisy to keep it on at night. The bathroom only had a shower integrated into the bathtub, which I perceive as very off track for a 5 star hotel. Parts of the fittings in the bathroom were losing their silver color as well.
As the room was facing to the entrance area of the hotel, we got a pretty good impression, when trash collection is done, when laundry truck is coming, food is delivered and so on. Unfortunately these things are usually taking place between 6-8 in the morning, which is not very helpful to cope with jetlag coming from Singapore.

Beside the issues with the hotel itself, the overall environment of the hotel is very nice. Fantastic park-like garden with a lounge/bar area in the back with old statues and busts where the weathered looks gives it a romatic touch. Also a lot of little fountains, benches and nice corner to sit and relax. The restaurant is also definitely worth a visit.

Overall this hotel is having what I call the Copacabana-effect: it is resting on the brand value of the environment (Aix-en-Provence is a lovely city) and is mixing up the having charme of a certain old patina with not investing anymore.

This maximizing profits one can feel in this hotel quite often: e.g. we had almost every day between 30-35 degrees, but the hotel didn't even take care to offer 1-2 bottles of water for the room on a daily basis, even that we have asked for that 2 times.

Something odd happened during our stay: for some reason the minibar was moved out of the wardrobe into the room below the TV on the last day. I realized only at night by the engine noise of the fridge and that the vase standing there before was hidden behind one of the arm-chairs all of a sudden. Quite weird...

I would not recommend this hotel. The value you get for the money is not well balanced, the rooms are outdated. Chances to compensate the bad condition of the hotel itself is in by a lot of caring extras and details are not taken.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjareson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLePigonnet, Director of Operations at Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Good evening,
I would like to thank you for helping us improve the quality of our Hotel and we are genuinely sorry to hear about your disappointment particularly regarding your room.
Thank you however for mentioning our garden and we are happy you were charmed by the romantic setting. As you said so well, everyone can find their favorite area and the water sound background from the 25 fountains is the just fabulous.
Today, Le Pigonnet is a distinguished address in Aix en Provence with 90 years of history. We just acquired the Hotel 8 months ago and are happy to offer our expertise to carry on the dream and the magic that surrounds this mythical hotel.
A new chapter is about to be written and we have many projects ahead.
As a matter of fact, the management team actually slept in every single room in order to note what needs to be changed. The rooms are however indeed all different and we do our best to satisfy a guest’s wish.
Following your feedback, you definitely stayed in room 55 of 21 m² and 21 of 25m² which are both Classic Rooms. These two rooms overlook the courtyard entrance however room 55 is a little quieter than room 21. We are sorry that you had to hear the laundry delivery.
Today’s team are working hard to strengthen and develop a unique guests experience based on respect, friendliness and attention to details. Details such as bringing the Provencal hints for our guest to fully experience the South of France flair.
We are privileged to welcome guests in a 1920 Bastide and we have the ambition to recapture its splendor.
I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, and we hope that we will be able to count on you in the next coming years.
With kind regards,
Tatiana Halimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews