We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the idea, just missed it though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Mas de Peint
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,153 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,847 helpful votes
“Loved the idea, just missed it though”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is a hotel that reads well in the "1000 things to do etc" - ride with the bulls and camargue horses, see the flamingoes,eat with the chef in a country homestead - intellectually appealing but it doesn't quite work.
It is not quite a working farm - you still need to drive some distance to see the horses and bulls; it is a half a farm, half a resort.
Yes, i enjoyed the pool and yes, my wife enjoyed the ride with the horses.
As i've said in other reviews,Lynn trains wild brumbies so the beautiful camargue horses were more like a "walk in the park"
The problem with the meal though was there was no connection.
In theory, it reads like you have an emotional connection with the chef in his environment; sit and eat in the kitchen, watch the chef at work,but there is absolutely no communication.
Many of the world's top restaurants are practicing this concept of involving the diner with the chef but it can also be a high risk strategy.
If the chef does not talk and involve you, then it becomes a pretensious exercise,
The owner made a perfunctory 15 second stop for a hello but it seemed more like a chore than an a genuine attemptto engage.
The dinner itself was quite ordinary so we skipped the second night and visited Arles - only 20 minutes away and a lovely balance of history and charm.
The region itself is quite magical but you need to have done your homework - the hotel does not make suggestions as to activities in the region and where to go.
We went looking for flamingos and within a short distance found 8 or 9 - absolutely beautiful birds.
Fortunately we had patience and waited in the car a bit longer - some 20 minutes later, some hundreds of pink flamingos flew in - an absolutely magnificent sight.
On the whole, a lovely area and hotel to visit - I just wouldn't stay too many nights.

Room Tip: The larger rooms with a terrace are far nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    28
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
34
73
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Mas de Peint very much. We stayed for only one night and enjoyed the building, the room, the pool area and the general relaxed and friendly atmosphere of the place. When you travel the Camargue you should beware of mosquitos and of course Mas de Peint is no exception in this respect: after an afternoon at the pool my knees and elbows were perforated.
The room was large and very atmospheric with a large mezzanine where the bathroom was located. Why lots of French hotels consider it perfectly adequate to make no arrangement whatsoever to keep the water inside the bath or showerarea while showering is completely beyond me, but Mas the Peint is no worse than other hotels and at least the bathroom is beautifully appointed and comfortable to use.
The restaurant offers no choice but excellent quality, albeit at a rather stiff price. Service was nice and personal, both before and during the meal. Prices of drinks confirm that this is not a place for people with a lesser filled wallet and should be somewhat lower to be considered reasonable.
A last remark: flies were a pest in the hotel, especially during (the much too expensive)breakfast where a flock of them gathered on the cheeses which were presented on the table without any protection.
But to end on a high: this is a very nice place with an especially lovely pool area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This was a retreat for us mid bike tour. Beautiful place although room a bit dark. Object to paying for wifi too.. Receptionist clearly worked to a script.. "If you are sporty types - you can do this... " We were on a bike tour in our bike gear.. did we not look sporty!! Public areas rather spoilt by rude 'Celebrity' guest also there ... Food good.. not outstanding... and breakfast was a bit disappointing.. we were left to our own devices there.. Lots of flies around, It should have been better somehow... happy to give more feedback about reception etc....

Room Tip: Ask for light quiet room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueSpencerKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Hard to imagine not enjoying your stay here. Not over-the-top luxury, but very, very comfortable. Food was excellent, as was the service. Enjoyed an excursion with the owner's son to round up some bulls for some event, followed by a pastis and late lunch by the pool. Other guests were pleasant, children peaceful. Have recommended it to lot's of people since our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metolius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We recently stayed for a weekend and it was a real pleasure to come upon this wonderful oasis of calm. All the staff was helpful and friendly, with just the right level of courtesy and always there when you needed them.

The rooms are generous in size, great bed and bathroom. Kept very clean and beautifully decorated.

The food was fantastic on the 2 nights we ate there. The chef is executing his kitchen in front of the guests with passion and wonderful talent. Interesting wine list from local producers.

You can book horse riding at the hotel : an exciting and authentic experience with a sort of French cowboys to discover the Camargue and its wildlife, as the Mas de Peint is still a working farm.

Amazing hotel garden and swimming pool, even if not heated.

We will certainly return for a longer stay and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to others looking for an original stay.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hengaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arles
20.2 km away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
20.3 km away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
24.8 km away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
20.4 km away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#17 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
25.4 km away
Mas de la Fouque
Mas de la Fouque
#1 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mas de Peint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mas de Peint

Property: Hotel Le Mas de Peint
Address: Le Sambuc, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arles
#8 Family Hotel in Arles
Price range (per night): RM1,145 - RM2,193
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Mas de Peint 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Mas de Peint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De Peint Hotel
Mas De Peint Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing