We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the new part of the hotel. The room was very clean and we were impressed with the air conditioning which was very efficient and fairly quiet. The old courtyard with the plane trees is very beautiful but was marred slightly by the two dead pigeons! We had one evening meal and one breakfast at the hotel during our stay. As we did not want a large breakfast it was cheaper to eat at one of the many places offering a small French breakfast. The evening meal was excellent but we wanted to try some of the many good restaurants nearby. The hotel is within easy walking distance of restaurants, the famous bridge and the Palais des Papes.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Madam,
Thank you for posting this review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS.
We are really glad that you fully enjoyed your stay in our "Lovely hotel". We are happy to read your satisfaction through these lines and will share your positive feedback with our team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again in Avignon,
Best regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely stay for a week. Helpful staff. Close walking distance to station and all attractions in city. Loved the pool that was used every day in the heat of summer
Rooms were well stocked with toiletries and were air conditioned. My room was quite dark with a shutter across the window which made sleeping in good as it was dark.
Reception staff helpful with booking palace light show, recommending places to visit and booking taxi back to Eurostar station.
The tourist information was right up the road and great for booking tours.
A lovely hotel to spend a week in

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Only in Avignon for a day, and hotel in great location, block from train station and tourism office. Quaintly located on side street with easy walk to most popular sites. You arrive to gorgeous courtyard and then enter this historical and welcoming hotel. Lovely restaurant overlooking courtyard,and there is rooftop with pool. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and if I have opportunity to come back to Provence will stay here. Avignon is great center spot for day tours and easy to get to by train. Merci staff at Hotel Cloitre St Louis, perfect stay!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cfoscato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I really liked this hotel. We were in Arles for the photo exhibition festival and it was nice to have a hotel that was so central and close to everything. The building itself improbably a graded house next to the amphitheatre with nice big rooms and spacious bathrooms. We did go up to the terrace to have a drink which was lovely with great views of Arles. I had no trouble having a healthy gluten and dairy free breakfast. Most of all the service was exceptional. The front desk managed to get me reservation for two great restaurant, one of which we were initially told was booked for the lunch when we intended to go there. I am very grateful to all the help and advise, without which our stay would not have been as enjoyable. Thank you

Room Tip: On our second night the Amphitheatre was having a big party with loud music. So if you want a quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The hotel is set in a very nice old building, with part of the hotel in a renew building. I was in the old building in a very nice room, good breakfast buffet and very helpfull staff. an a big and easy parking. I recommend the place with no doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renaud46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,616 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
797 reviews
5.9 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
819 reviews
0.2 km away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#20 of 68 in Avignon
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20 rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: RM387 - RM652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming hotel, Cloitre Saint-Louis, is located in a 16th century building and combines historic and modern structures in the heart of Avignon. Initially a Jesuit novitiate, Cloitre Saint-Louis became a military hospital in addition to an annexe of the Hotel des Invalides in Paris over the course of several centuries. Looking like new after a thorough renovation, Cloitre Saint-Louis has been a cultural centre and 4-star hotel since 1991. Come and discover the Provencal art of living during your enchanted stay at Cloitre Saint-Louis, only two steps away from the Palais des Papes (Pope's Palace) and famous bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing