We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes(Avignon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de l'Horloge(Avignon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Mignon(Avignon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
83
165
71
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
165
71
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbeautiful stoneair conditioninghotel doorroom was large and comfortableold buildingcouple of nightsunderground parkingtop floorbudget hotelnice breakfastcharming hoteltrain stationpapal palacesquareconsulatefrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

A huge shout-out to the amazing Dorian and Richard for finding space for us last-minute on an unexpected stop in Avignon. For a budget hotel, there's lots to recommend: our room was large and comfortable with huge windows and an excellent bed and bath, it's perfectly located in the heart of the city and, as mentioned, the customer service is better than one would find in a five star hotel. Thank you, Dorian and Richard!

Room Tip: The front-facing rooms can be noisy at night if people are wandering the square, so we recommend a room that doesn't face the Palace.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Smart refurbishment, including elevator, Nespresso coffee machine, air conditioning cannot spoil the romance of the old building itself and its gorgeous surroundings. The room was rather spacious and light with wide comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Exit from the Palais des Papes parking just in front of the hotel door.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalia_Yusupova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

What would otherwise have been a great place for an overnight stay to visit Avignon was spoiled by the lack of hot water and noisy rubbish trucks at 5am waking us up. The room was otherwise fine, although I would recommend they get some new bed linen.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We just stay there one night during the festival, the location is great facing the Palais des Papes. Upon arrival we are very warmly welcomed, the rooms are simple but with AC units and there is not too much noise pollution from outside during the festival. Do not take the breakfast there as the quality is not great.

Room Tip: Room 22 facing the Palais des Papes or 14 with 4 beds
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This hotel has a fantastic location, directly on the courtyard across from the Palais des Papes. The hotel building used to house the Spanish Consulate, and the restaurant has a fireplace that is hundreds of years old. The age of the building shows in some respects: the room we stayed in (6 bis) sloped a bit and fixtures were outdated, and the hotel corridors snake around and are not wide – the hotel says there will be a renovation soon. Overall these quirks were not a big deal. Of more concern was the lack of WiFi during our entire weekend visit.

We enjoyed our stay, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is excellent, and we had the good fortune to enjoy a wonderful dinner outside with a direct view of the Palais.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the recently renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_King_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews