We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, renovated rooms and the rooftop pool”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #80 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed in a revamped Deluxe room in August. When you compare pictures taken by users on TA, you'll definitely want to stay in a renovated room. Check-in was great, as our room was ready even before noon! Breakfast was nothing special.

The hotel facilities are decent, but could still use more makeup. The building itself has another hotel, a casino and a McDo - there's a bit too much of it.

The deluxe room was large enough with a comfortable bed. The view was splendid, 180 degrees over the bay. The room comes with a balcony, but you can't actually enjoy it properly, as there's no room for a terrace chair! There's a sitting area, but really only one movable chair, which means you can't enjoy the stars if you're two persons.

One of the benefits of Le Méridien Nice is that it has a rooftop pool & bar. The pool is a lot smaller than in pictures, and sunbeds are really close to each other. But it's still worth a dip.

Room Tip: Go for a renovated room or else you'll be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Dear hennessyparadis,
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in August.
Thank you for the positive review and especially for mentioning your check-in experience, the magnificent views and of course the rooftop pool & bar restaurant.
Hoping to welcome you back to Le Méridien Nice in the not too distant future.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,081 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and 2 days late July 2011. It is a perfect location, in the "hub bub" of crowded excitement; and if you plan to be out and about on foot, sightseeing, and "on the go" the entire time this place is for you. They offer a delicious breakfast buffet (for $). The McDonalds next door on the corner was vital for Wifi which I could not get to work in the room, and it made a fun place to people watch while checking my email each morning. It is also very convenient to walk across the street to enjoy a short time at the beach, if that is what you WANT to do. There are private beaches, where you can rent chairs for the day...there are adjouning restaurants and beachside waiter service (although we found the service slow). Do keep in mind that Nice is NOT the best beach location overall. You MUST wear swim shoes or it is impossible to walk on the beach or out in the water. Those pebbles are not smooth. I enjoy taking a beach stroll and going in the water and you really can't do either here. The beaches in Menton, Cannes and St Tropez are nicer. Overall, this hotel was clean and convenient, and suitable for our purpose; but not a place to come for relaxation, romance or peace and quiet.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the balcony view which overlooked the side street and beach view. There was not enough r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Dear Raerone,
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us last July.
Indeed, Le Méridien Nice is very much at the centre of all attractions. The beach is right opposite the hotel, the swish pedestrian zone is just around the corner and the old town is within easy walking distance.
For those of you who wish to go further afield, Nice lies inbetween Menton and Cannes with both being a €1 bus ride away.
As for your smallish balcony, may I suggest you book an Executive Terrace Room on the upper floors next time. You'll appreciate the 18 sq.m. private terrace.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The last time we stayed in Nice we stayed @ the historical Hotel Negresco. I preferred this hotel because it is obviously more modern. Our room was fantastic with window views from floor to ceiling. (hint:you only have balconies on the top few floors of the hotel) You could easily lounge on the balcony chaises reading a book and looking at the Mediterranean towards Monaco for hours at a time. Beds are super comfy. Outdoor/upstairs bar great views of Nice and friendly, informative staff. Pool tiny but not important as the Med is right at your feet. Breakfast buffet large and pricey. No other option for breakfast in hotel so if you want something light walk outside for many options near hotel. One positive note, I liked the fact that you were given one complimentary admission to a museum. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skiergirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear skiergirl99
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your entire stay with us.
I'm delighted that you appreciated Le Méridien bed experience - what comfort indeed!
The team on our magnificent rooftop restaurant/bar will be so pleased to hear that you found them friendly and informative, as they work hard to ensure that every guest feels special.
Do hope that you will be able to manage a return visit in the not too distant future.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is another terrific hotel, mostly because of the location and the view. Our experience was sensational, and although we only stayed one evening, I wish it would have been longer.

We travelled on October on our honeymoon, and made a point to stop here becasue we wanted to go to the opera in Nice on our way through to Monte Carlo. Well, we fell in love with the city, and wish we could have spent more time here than just one night.

The hotel itself is very good, but we received a platinum upgrade / honeymoon upgrade (and booked on points) to a room with a fantastic view. We had a bang-on view of the Bay andthe Promenade des Anglais, and our room was on the top floor of the hotel meaning that the balcony was very large and open (i.e. nothing above us). The room was quite small, yet functional, but when you have a STUNNING view like that, we spend much time outside on the balcony.

We didn't really try much else here since it is in such a terrific location. I'm sure I wouldn't have enjoyed the hotel quite as much as I did had we not received that terrific room with a spectacular view. I'll return to this hotel again so that we can spent much more time in Nice, which is a terrific city.

Room Tip: You MUST get a room with a full balcony and a head-on view of the Bay. Otherwise, you will be missin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear musicmansimpson,
Thank you so much for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us even though it was short.
Very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Nice in the not too distant future.
With my best regards,

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We arrived on Bastile day and had a fabulous view of the magnificent parade and evening show on our veranda! the street was alive with music, people and fun. the beach was literally across the street and the location is the BEST! you are in the center of lovely shops, both charming and upscale. the diverse options to dine are surrounded by this spot in all price ranges. shopping in the flower mart was my favorite place to pick up lovely souveniers, as well as Louis Vuitton if you dare (you can see it from the hotel) The beach was lovely, however we preferred to use the beach Galion next door, not as stuffy and same cost to rent chairs and umbrellas each day (yes there is a charge) you can also use the public beach without food service and no chairs. Having a glass of rose' with a pizza or watermelon (like no other) was wonderful. the ice cream was amazing! we took a train to monaco and Monte Carlo, but opted to take a private car back, train was a hassle, very hot, taxi ride there and then to get a taxi at the station in monaco took forever as well as costly, just take a car! the walk through monaco was special to me. Do not miss the Cathedral and take a trolly to the famous Casino. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: we had to change rooms several times. we first had a corner beachfront suite, however the manager wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lm-nice, Directeur général at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Dear Maryellen,

Thank you very much, it is always a pleasure to know that our guests have a great stay with us.
As you said, the hotel has a very pleasant location, right on the Promenade des Anglais, facing the sea and a few minutes from the principal attractions: beaches, museums, shopping area and of course, the old town. I am glad to learn you also appreciated our Rooftop Terrasse on the 10th floor offering breathtaking views over the Mediterranean sea.

We really look forward to welcome you back at Le Méridien Nice,

With my Best regards,

Pablo Bandala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 203 in Nice
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#37 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: RM516 - RM1,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing