We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Nearby Hotels
US$162
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel West End(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$242
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$312
US$300
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$386
US$285
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveller rating
414
608
246
77
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
608
246
77
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townprivilege roommassena squareseparate toilettraditional roomgaleries lafayetterecommend this hotelnice carnivalthe buscentral locationbuffet breakfastgood sizeside streetcity breaktea and coffee making facilitiesreception desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Me and my friend had a nice weekend’s stay in room 514. The hotel’s interior is a 4-star hotel worthy. The location is pretty much perfect. Delicate bathroom.

Even though the breakfast was good, the selection was quite small. The orange juice was out two days in a row. According to my friend, the coffee was great.

Our room had a separate toilet without a sink, so we had to switch between toilet and bathroom to wash up; A bit odd. The bathroom sink was not equipped with a dispenser, only a bar of soap. That’s neither delicate nor environment friendly.

The WiFi worked for my friend, but he got fed up with having to log in all the time. For me, the WiFi almost didn’t work at all (even logged in).

Don’t waste €35 on a taxi if you don’t have to. The 98 bus departs frequently from the airport and goes along the Promenade des Anglais. Get off at “Albert 1er/Phocéens” and the hotel will be a 5 minute walk away, right off Place Masséna.

The hotel’s got a car rental deal with a company called Elite rent. They bring and pick up the car at the hotel. However, we found the prices to be a bit stiff, so we went to check out a couple of other nearby rentals. We didn’t find a cheaper car, so we could just as well gone for the hotel deal.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tannpirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane M, Room Division Manager Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, following your stay at the Hotel Massena.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the property decor.

Please be assured that your comment has been shared with all our teams as this is so rewarding for all of us.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Massena for your future stays in Nice.

We hope to welcoming you back to the Hotel Massena during your future stays on the French Riviera.

Best Regards,

Room Division Manager
Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

The positives: A few hundred meters or less walk to the major shopping, the charm and restaurants of the old town, the sea, nearby bus and tram stops. Hotel and rooms nicely appointed; quiet room facing back. Check in staff efficient and friendly. Ample breakfast, supplies readily replenished. Many TV channels in various languages. In-room electronic safe. Coffee and tea making facilities. Good in-room lighting. Mini-fridge with adequate space for a few own items. Free wifi. Good water pressure, two lifts to the 6 floors; never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. The negatives: small and awkward-shaped WC in room 425. To use the electronic safe one has to use the electronic key card. But to use the card for the safe, one has to remove the card from the wall which then would cut off the room's power supply, then you cannot see; also placing the safe on the floor makes it uncomfortable to use unless you can easily get on your knees. Tip to guests: ask for two key cards: one to use the safe and one to have power available for lights, etc. While Wifi was fast and free, it always took a bit of extra effort/time to reconnect after returning to the room. But unfortunately the important negative was an overheated room and a thermostat which was completely nonfunctional. Temperature, fan, on/off were all inoperable. Opening the window/door let in cool air on a mid-December night, but it's hardly environmentally friendly. Inside the room I quickly felt unwell. Going out for a walk fortunately overcame that. Fix the ventilation and heating and you have an ideal place to stay in a city that has much to offer.

Room Tip: Back side room was quiet
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reiziger2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane M, Room Division Manager Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing with us your nice review following your recent stay at the Hotel Massena.

By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0492478888.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your future travels to Nice.

Sincerely,

Room Division Manager
Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

The best thing about this hotel is its perfect location. It's near everything central. Right next to all the shopping, and the central boulevard, and a bit farther, the old city and the promenade.
The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was quite comfortable and very quiet.
Clean and tidy.
The breakfast was OK. The croissants were superb and the fruit also very good. But not enough vegetables (in my opinion). The cheese also wasn't too good and the coffee just OK.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Akivz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane M, Room Division Manager Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing with us your lovely review following your recent stay at the Hotel Massena.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you had the chance to discover the French Riviera.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Massena.

Best Regards,

Room Division Manager
Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

36 hours spent in Nice & two nights at this lovely hotel.
What struck us straight away was how nice the hotel looked from the front followed by the friendly & very helpful reception staff.
The room was ideal & perfectly suited our needs. Huge comfortable bed, massive flat screen tv with BBC 1 & 2 incl. Tea & coffee facilities. Immaculately clean. Shower absolutely no problem & worked well.
Breakfast is excellent.
The hotel is perfectly situated and there are some great restaurants dotted around.
For the price I was more than happy & I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bunters631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane M, Room Division Manager Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Guest,

What a lovely comment!

Please be assured that your comment has been shared with all our teams as this is so rewarding for all of us.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Massena for your future stays in Nice.

Best regards,

Room Division Manager
Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Great location - just a few minutes’ walk from Massena Square and the gardens and the huge shopping area. Maybe a 10 minute walk to the stunning Nice sea front and long promenade and the old town.

Entrance is discrete and interior design is very modern. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast - on the ground floor - was busy but excellent selection of hot and cold food - entirely self-service.

Didn’t try the hotel bar as there are simply too many bars and restaurants in the immediate area.

The room was disappointing - it had all that you’d expect but was really small. Separate small bath/sink from the toilet. Safe was key operated. Room key needed for power with no delay time when you needed access to safe - so plunged into darkness. The heating/air conditioning unit didn’t appear to work.

Also, unfortunately in the adjoining room it seems there were three young women enjoying a hen party. Their taste in music was interesting but their singing skills left a lot to be desired. Very poor sound insulation. Two nights of noise - not very relaxing.

Tall window with a gate was pretty but the view was negligible. Although they had put some plants at the base of the area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane M, Room Division Manager Best Western Plus Hôtel Masséna Nice at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Kim,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, following your stay at the Hotel Massena.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, the professionalism of our hotel staff and our breakfast service.

All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.

I will certainly share your observations with the Hotel Manager and are sorry not to have met your expectations.

Best Regards,

Room Division Manager
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews