We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$156
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
NH Nice(Nice)
US$198
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$480
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$212
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$322
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$247
US$190
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
285
308
53
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
308
53
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationquirky decorexpress breakfastold townminute walkstorage spacethe main shopping streetsuperior roomwould highly recommend this hotelwould stay againsmall balconylate at nightsouth of francenice roomcomfortable hotelvisiting nicestayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located near the train station. Transportation to and from the airport is easy. It’s about a 12 minute walk to the water. Overall it is a nice hotel and the staff is very friendly my only complaint is the size of the bathroom, which is very very small. Our room had a nice balcony that looked over the street also which I️ liked.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear travelers,

Thank you for sharing your comment with the Tripadvisor community. We had a great pleasure to welcome you for your first trip in Nice ! I have notice your comment about the bathroom and do not hesitate to ask the reception next time as we do have different category of room, we can find together the room tailored for you.

Hope you have a safe trip back !

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while in Nice, and we had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is more of a boutique hotel - so no bar, lounge, etc. However, it is really quaint and has a cute continental breakfast option. The receptionists were really kind to us - one of them even brought over a plate of candies while my friend and I were sitting in the hotel lobby. The room that we stayed in was quite spacious.

The location is great if you are going to/from the train station. It is a little bit of a walk from the city centre, however (15-20 minute walk). If you're going during a chillier time, it may be better to get something closer to the centre, but if you don't mind walking, we didn't find the location to be an issue at all.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear traveler,

Thank you for your lovely comment about our hotel. Indeed, we have improve our breakfast and we are glad that you mentionned it !
I think you are talking about the Old Nice as we are 2 minutes away from the Main street of Nice "Jean Medecin"

Do not hesitate to contact us directely next time to get the breakfasts free with the best rate available.

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We visited Nice in October 2017 and stayed at the Excelsior Hotel for 3 nights. It is very well situated close to the station so travel along the coast to Villefranch sur Mer and Monaco is really easy and quick.
It's also 5 minutes stroll to the nearest tram stop which gets you into the heart of Nice in just a few minutes. Trams are busy but frequent.
The hotel is very boutique and quirky with very helpful and polite staff. Nice is a lovely town and well worth a visit..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Travelers,

Thank you for sharing your impression with the Tripadvisor community ! Indeed, the location of the hotel is a real strenght for your different trips to the surronding of Nice !
We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the travel atmosphere of the Nice Excelsior.

Do not hesitate to contact us directely in order to get the best price and free breakfast !

Best regards,

Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, we stayed for 3 days and arrived early and all 3 rooms were ready, really helpful staff and great breakfast.

Will stay again when we visit Nice again

Really good location close to train station

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Justinlaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Travelers,

We are delighted to see your lovely comment about our hotel. Your comment is a real motivation for all my staff who work hard every day to satisfy every travelers who come in our establishment. Indeed, the location is perfect for anyone who are willing to discover the surronding of this amazing city.

Do not hesitate to contact us directely to get the best price available and free breakfast.

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Friendly welcome and very helpful staff through out our trip. A lovely hotel- bright, spacious, quiet with a welcoming lounge. I particularly liked the plasterwork on the ceilings and covings- some one has been looking after this building and its charm shines through. AND there is a court yard garden. Stay here when you are in Nice.

It is well situated for the railway which travels up and down the coast. Clean, spacious room. Plenty of hot water and water pressure in the bathroom. Air con works and the large windows opening onto Durante street are well insulated against the noise.
Breakfast was plentiful and worth paying for.
Taxi to the airport costs 30 euro (watch out for the taxi drivers- ours tried to add a 10 euro "surcharge"!!!!!!!!! AND he also thought it would be a good idea to read his texts while driving. A few sharp words sorted that nonsense out)

Stayed: October 2017
Thank emmachisett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Travelers,

Thank you for your lovely comment on our gem ! We have been glad to see that the melody of our hotel was without any wrong note. Do not hesitate to ask our guide in reception who will be happy to call a taxi for you in order to avoid this kind of problem.

For the next time, do not hesitate to ask reception to get the best price available and free breakfast.

Best regards,

Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews