We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 stars all the way!”
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection Sun spotting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection
Sun spotting
Al fresco breakfasts always available
Your sunset view from l'Escalinade's terrasse
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No.2
Perfect Blue Skies over St Tropez Bay
Ste Maxime Marina
Summertime refreshment
Poolside or seaside...
Chill-out Zone
Bastille Day celebrations
Plage de Ste Maxime
First sight of St Tropez from the sea
Amuses-bouches
Giraglia Rolex Yachting Cup Race
Cheese & wine obligatory!
Aioli & Crudites - Bon Appetit Provencal Style
view from the sun-soaked terrasse
laidback at l'escalinade
Chambre d'Eau
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No. 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
CheshireF...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 stars all the way!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Words will never be enough and all the superlatives in the world (although, fully justified) will never do it credit.
Yes, Joan and John are marvellous hosts and go to great lengths to ensure that you enjoy your stay, but it's their added touches that set them above the rest-large fluffy bath towels, yummy breakfasts with homemade jams from the fruits of their garden and freshly baked croissants direct from the local artisan bakery (still warm)!
Have we been before? Yes and returned because of their 5 star service.
Would we go again? Most certainly!
Would we recommend it? Definitely (although, on a selfish note, I'd prefer to keep it to ourselves, but credit where it's due, everything is wonderful, you can't pick anything out of this).
Thanks again to Joan, John and Mr. Ronnie for welcoming us to your fabulous home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to L'Escalinade very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missgalav...
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home from home, laid back yet fun, boutique-type.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend and had an incredible experience. A family run villa that is so laid back. Relaxing by the pool and having meals outdoors yet there is a lot of fun to be had in the evenings with music playing watching the incredible views of the sunset over St Tropez. Rooms were typically french, very quaint and cosy. We slept very well as our room had air conditioning and we were able to leave the windows open. Everything was immaculate, sheets, bathroom etc. We got on very well with the family that ran this villa and will keep in touch to hopefully return soon.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves at L'Escalinade and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourges2
Bourges, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“your home away from home in the south of France”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you ever wished you had friends that lived in the south of France, this is the place. The hosts are warm, friendly and extremely accommodating and will quickly become your new friends. The views from the villa and your rooms are exquisite. The villa itself is warm and inviting from the first glass of cool local wine upon your arrival after a long days journey, to the simple breakfast and casual conversation in the morning by the pool. Everything is at your finger tips. The ferry to St. Tropez, the only way to really get there and fine dining is a short walk. We were sad to leave, like leaving family.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts, the views and the service.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We try to make everyone welcome and were delighted you decided to make the trip all they way from USA. Do come back again some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the room was exceptional
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! We try to adjust to everyone's individual needs as much as possible and help where we can. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Raluca M
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

L'Escalinade as a whole is a really nice place to stay. The house and gardens are charming and the views from the garden and balcony are to die for. If that was our house we couldn't have been happier.
However it is not really a Boutique-type stay...Or at least we didn't think it was..
Even though they don't really take children they allowed us to stay with our 11 months old daughter, who loved it, mostly because of Ronnie the dog.

Joan and John tried to be welcoming hosts to us, which we appreciate.

However they were not that accommodating as they liked saying, as I wasn't allowed access to the kitchen sink for 10 minutes in the morning to wash the baby's bottles, but told to wash them in the bathroom, which I really didn't appreciate.

We were really disappointed to find brand new, unwashed Primark towels in our £100/night room (really unpleasant to use..), we would have thought they could have bought better towels (not from the cheapest shop in the UK)..We had a very noisy fridge in one of the cupboards and the smallest room which made it impossible for us to unpack any of our bags (we were 3)..Also the toilets in this place are electric and extremely noisy..not pleasant when other guests go to bed after you.

Another disappointment was that Joan asked us every morning is we needed our bed done etc.. This, we think, is not something you ask your paying guests, you go in the room and do it. Also you don't ask your paying guests to take the garbage to the rubbish bin in town!! We were not friends, but paying guests even if our trash had some nappies in it! If they allowed the baby they should have managed it better.

The last disappointment for us was breakfast. A really cheap one, with a bit of yogurt, one small slice of a very commercial supermarket bought cheese for each of us, on a plate full of tiny pieces of fruit and leaves...It doesn't matter if you offer it in a champagne cup, cheap yogurt is cheap yogurt and we really hated seeing industrial croissants heated up in the oven when there were so many boulangeries in town, just 5 minutes walk from the property.

We are really sorry we didn't enjoy our stay in this property, as we had high hopes and we have payed a fair amount of money, all in advance...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: The cheap towels, noisy toilet and cheap breakfast
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay and extremely surprised after your comments in our guest book saying you had a wonderful time here! We wished you had mentioned the points during your stay. The other guests who stayed here at the same time as you, have also left a review which you may want to read. We understand everyone's expectations are different. We always ask our guests each morning if they would like their room cleaning and bedding changing, as, from experience, we have found not all guests want us to enter, it is entirely up to them. You declined each day. I offered to clean the baby bottles with sterilising fluid, but this was also declined. Unfortunately, our kitchen, is purely for our use as per the terms of our insurance and we do not have a guest kitchen. If it had been requested at time of booking, we could have explained then. We cleared all your rubbish each day too for you, we are not sure of the problem?, As far as the breakfast is concerned, the specialist cheese which varies all the time, is fresh from the local market stall(2 minutes), not supermarket, and the 100% organic natural plain yogurt is certainly not the cheapest. The fruit is all from the local area, mainly organic, and the jams all home made from local or garden fruit. The croissants etc. are made by the local artisanal award winning boulangerie , again 2 minutes away and baked fresh each morning by us so that they are hot for you. They are certainly not reheated. We will let him know your dissatisfaction. You were asked each day if you wanted anything else for breakfast and declined. The new towels had been washed and tumble dried prior to use and having done research, found this year, that these were the best. They were certainly not the cheapest! However, we do have an assortment of makes.
We are sorry you felt the room was small, we did try to accommodate you at the last minute, with a cot which took size from the room. As you know, we do not usually take children but when you requested, we made an exception for you. Not all the toilets are electric and no one has ever commented on this before.
We always try to be welcoming hosts to everyone who stays in our home and attend to their requests. Drinks and homemade snacks were offered on arrival and most evenings, as all guests are, you were welcome to join us for aperitifs and nibbles. We were just offering our natural Northern hospitality and do realise you were paying guests not friends, sorry you were offended. Again as we do for all guests, we lent you maps and books, sun umbrella, and advised on local places to visit and offered unlimited free wifi. We also know different cultures and nationalities have different expectations and we try our best to adapt and have taken your comments on board. We are learning all the time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing