We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to train station, great decor, delish breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Edelweiss
Ranked #14 of 67 Marseille B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel was a great value, imho. My new hubby and I loved the retro decor, high ceilings, balcony, and delicious continental breakfast served at the hotel owners' restaurant a couple blocks away. I found this place through Tripadvisor and reviews were spot on.
We stayed in room #2, which is on the inside of the building with a little balcony. It has a queen size bed and split bathroom (toilet w/sink when you walk in the door, and then shower/sink around other side of room). Hubby was happy about alarm clock doubling as a docking station for his iPhone, which gave us extra outlet for charging camera, etc.. Large quiet room. Great shower. Good natural light.
Be sure to ask for the breakfast location on a MAP, as printed directions first thing in the morning can be slightly confusing (unless you can operate uncaffeinated- we can't). The street names change from block to block around Marseille...
Oh, also be prepared to be a little patient learning the locks into and out of the floor the rooms are on- once you get the hang of it it's fine, just a little stressful while lugging luggage the first time through.
Bernadette gave excellent suggestion on our first meal in town and her husband, who ran breakfast, was quietly charming. Generous breakfast (cereal/pastries/jam/yogurt/coffee/etc.)

Room Tip: Room #2: No direct sunlight while we were in the room, but very good indirect light. Spacious. Fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadykatmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

This pension is just above the old port and an easy walk from the station. We stayed in the twin room, which has a small balcony and looks over the street, Air con (which was the quietest I have ever not heard) meant we could shut the windows at night if we needed to keep out noise. Retro leather armchairs, an old school desk and the most amazing ballroom centre light furnished the room and there is a bathroom with walk-in shower en suite. The welcome and guide to where to go and where to eat that we received were both excellent and Madame is most charming. Breakfast, both at their brasserie around the corner, le Comptoir Dugommier and in the pension , was excellent. Le Comptoir also does an excellent lunch which is good value. We loved the place and wouldhappily return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlydancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at La Pension Edelweiss for the first and last nights of our four night trip to the South of France (different rooms both nights). Bernadette gave us a warm welcome, some great local tips tailored just for us, and was nice and laid back about timings, looking after bags, and our return visit. The whole pension is touched with some really thoughtful, stylish retro furniture and furnishings that made our visit feel like we were staying somewhere special. A bit of a bathroom ant invasion on the second night, but sure this was unfortunate timing rather than a regular occurrence. Bernadette also runs a really nice restaurant just down the road which sorted us out perfectly for breakfast during our visit. Location-wise - you couldn't ask for more. 2 minutes to the station, 5 minutes to the town or the seafront. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I found the Pension Edelweiss via a blurb in a French fashion magazine, and easily booked a twin room online. Bernadette is a fantastic host, calling to check our arrival time so that she was on hand to let us in, giving us a map and some tips on what to see and where to go. The room (Room Y, first floor entrance) was wonderful. Her taste in vintage decoration, colour schemes and style is much the same as mine, and as such every turn or minute brought new revelations in terms of little ornaments...OK, so we were a bit tipsy when we got home and somehow "missed" the massive chandelier until the following morning. On weekends and public holidays breakfast is upstairs..beautiful red check tablecloth, excellent breads and confitures, plenty of coffee and a jazz soundtrack...and yet more vintage touches in the tablewares. I'd recommend this to anyone looking to visit Marseille and avoid a standard hotel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Pension. It's a quaint little bnb, with lots of antique furnishings. Depends on whether u like antiques though.

Bnb is only 10 mins walk from station. Host of bnb was very friendly. She gave us loads of tips on where to find authentic local (read: cheap) food around the area and what to see/ do in marseille.

We got a refund for breakfast since the bnb's affiliated restaurant is under renovation.

Room was clean, but the toilet was cramped. There is another common toilet out in the corridor though.

Another plus point is we have the keys to the main door and gate, so we didn't need to disturb the bnb owners even if we come back late.

Pension is also located within a short walk to the shopping area and the beachfront.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrinalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 132 in Marseille
402 reviews
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
#60 of 132 in Marseille
253 reviews
Casa Ortega
#3 of 67 in Marseille
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chambres d'Hotes d'Endoume
#12 of 67 in Marseille
47 reviews
Saint-Victor
Les Chambres d'Hotes du Port de Marseille
Le Clos du Jas
#5 of 67 in Marseille
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Edelweiss

Address: 6 rue la Fayette, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range: RM394 - RM426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing