We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$124
US$83
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mama Shelter Marseille(Marseille)
US$91
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$93
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Timone(Marseille)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
C2 Hotel(Marseille)
US$189
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
45
21
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
21
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This pension is just above the old port and an easy walk from the station. We stayed in the twin room, which has a small balcony and looks over the street, Air con (which was the quietest I have ever not heard) meant we could shut the windows at night if we needed to keep out noise. Retro leather armchairs, an old school desk and the most amazing ballroom centre light furnished the room and there is a bathroom with walk-in shower en suite. The welcome and guide to where to go and where to eat that we received were both excellent and Madame is most charming. Breakfast, both at their brasserie around the corner, le Comptoir Dugommier and in the pension , was excellent. Le Comptoir also does an excellent lunch which is good value. We loved the place and wouldhappily return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlydancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at La Pension Edelweiss for the first and last nights of our four night trip to the South of France (different rooms both nights). Bernadette gave us a warm welcome, some great local tips tailored just for us, and was nice and laid back about timings, looking after bags, and our return visit. The whole pension is touched with some really thoughtful, stylish retro furniture and furnishings that made our visit feel like we were staying somewhere special. A bit of a bathroom ant invasion on the second night, but sure this was unfortunate timing rather than a regular occurrence. Bernadette also runs a really nice restaurant just down the road which sorted us out perfectly for breakfast during our visit. Location-wise - you couldn't ask for more. 2 minutes to the station, 5 minutes to the town or the seafront. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I found the Pension Edelweiss via a blurb in a French fashion magazine, and easily booked a twin room online. Bernadette is a fantastic host, calling to check our arrival time so that she was on hand to let us in, giving us a map and some tips on what to see and where to go. The room (Room Y, first floor entrance) was wonderful. Her taste in vintage decoration, colour schemes and style is much the same as mine, and as such every turn or minute brought new revelations in terms of little ornaments...OK, so we were a bit tipsy when we got home and somehow "missed" the massive chandelier until the following morning. On weekends and public holidays breakfast is upstairs..beautiful red check tablecloth, excellent breads and confitures, plenty of coffee and a jazz soundtrack...and yet more vintage touches in the tablewares. I'd recommend this to anyone looking to visit Marseille and avoid a standard hotel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Pension. It's a quaint little bnb, with lots of antique furnishings. Depends on whether u like antiques though.

Bnb is only 10 mins walk from station. Host of bnb was very friendly. She gave us loads of tips on where to find authentic local (read: cheap) food around the area and what to see/ do in marseille.

We got a refund for breakfast since the bnb's affiliated restaurant is under renovation.

Room was clean, but the toilet was cramped. There is another common toilet out in the corridor though.

Another plus point is we have the keys to the main door and gate, so we didn't need to disturb the bnb owners even if we come back late.

Pension is also located within a short walk to the shopping area and the beachfront.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrinalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Room was high ceilinged & had lovely retro & antique furniture. Having a shared coffee maker & kettle for 4 rooms is maybe not the best idea as you could hear the sound of guests going in and out of their rooms to make coffee and tea in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedom_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews