We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
48
21
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
21
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Arrived in Marseille without booking and the lady who was just leaving was nice enough to call her boss and to organise a room for us and not only that they gave it to us at a discounted rate because there were only two of us for the room for 4 people. Also she sat down with a map and pointed out all the local hotspots and basically gave us a free rundown of everything to do which was brilliant service in my opinion. Rooms were warm and clean and was close enough to walk to pretty much everything. Lots of places to eat nearby and breakfast was really good and especially for one included in the price. If we ever get back to Marseille will definately stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babsy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel was a great value, imho. My new hubby and I loved the retro decor, high ceilings, balcony, and delicious continental breakfast served at the hotel owners' restaurant a couple blocks away. I found this place through Tripadvisor and reviews were spot on.
We stayed in room #2, which is on the inside of the building with a little balcony. It has a queen size bed and split bathroom (toilet w/sink when you walk in the door, and then shower/sink around other side of room). Hubby was happy about alarm clock doubling as a docking station for his iPhone, which gave us extra outlet for charging camera, etc.. Large quiet room. Great shower. Good natural light.
Be sure to ask for the breakfast location on a MAP, as printed directions first thing in the morning can be slightly confusing (unless you can operate uncaffeinated- we can't). The street names change from block to block around Marseille...
Oh, also be prepared to be a little patient learning the locks into and out of the floor the rooms are on- once you get the hang of it it's fine, just a little stressful while lugging luggage the first time through.
Bernadette gave excellent suggestion on our first meal in town and her husband, who ran breakfast, was quietly charming. Generous breakfast (cereal/pastries/jam/yogurt/coffee/etc.)

Room tip: Room #2: No direct sunlight while we were in the room, but very good indirect light. Spacious. French doors to small balcony with little cafe table and chairs to share a meal. Queen sized bed.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadykatmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This pension is just above the old port and an easy walk from the station. We stayed in the twin room, which has a small balcony and looks over the street, Air con (which was the quietest I have ever not heard) meant we could shut the windows at night if we needed to keep out noise. Retro leather armchairs, an old school desk and the most amazing ballroom centre light furnished the room and there is a bathroom with walk-in shower en suite. The welcome and guide to where to go and where to eat that we received were both excellent and Madame is most charming. Breakfast, both at their brasserie around the corner, le Comptoir Dugommier and in the pension , was excellent. Le Comptoir also does an excellent lunch which is good value. We loved the place and wouldhappily return.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlydancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at La Pension Edelweiss for the first and last nights of our four night trip to the South of France (different rooms both nights). Bernadette gave us a warm welcome, some great local tips tailored just for us, and was nice and laid back about timings, looking after bags, and our return visit. The whole pension is touched with some really thoughtful, stylish retro furniture and furnishings that made our visit feel like we were staying somewhere special. A bit of a bathroom ant invasion on the second night, but sure this was unfortunate timing rather than a regular occurrence. Bernadette also runs a really nice restaurant just down the road which sorted us out perfectly for breakfast during our visit. Location-wise - you couldn't ask for more. 2 minutes to the station, 5 minutes to the town or the seafront. Definitely recommended.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I found the Pension Edelweiss via a blurb in a French fashion magazine, and easily booked a twin room online. Bernadette is a fantastic host, calling to check our arrival time so that she was on hand to let us in, giving us a map and some tips on what to see and where to go. The room (Room Y, first floor entrance) was wonderful. Her taste in vintage decoration, colour schemes and style is much the same as mine, and as such every turn or minute brought new revelations in terms of little ornaments...OK, so we were a bit tipsy when we got home and somehow "missed" the massive chandelier until the following morning. On weekends and public holidays breakfast is upstairs..beautiful red check tablecloth, excellent breads and confitures, plenty of coffee and a jazz soundtrack...and yet more vintage touches in the tablewares. I'd recommend this to anyone looking to visit Marseille and avoid a standard hotel experience.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews