We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Light, bright, and spacious with beautiful ocean...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Appartement

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mark G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Light, bright, and spacious with beautiful ocean view”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful stay in Michele's well-equipped apartment. The location is excellent in a tall building across from the Plage des Catalans, the closest beach to the city center. You can walk to the Old Port in one direction, or walk along the scenic corniche in the other direction for miles. There are also convenient buses. What I liked best about Marseilles was the natural beauty of the sea and shoreline, and here you can watch the ever-changing colors and fabulous sunsets from the couch! Nice decor, good kitchen and bathroom, fast wifi, good neighborhood, and bonus, there's an elevator. Michele was a gracious host who treated us like friends. We loved Marseilles and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrMarion...
Hannover, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location and issues to be improved”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Michèle is an outstanding host. Very quick replies to all mails and questions, even beforehand, provided us with all necessary information and she met us outside the apartment to explain everything about the place and how to get around in Marseille. Thus it is very strange, looking at our stay retrospectively, why certain things were different from the information in our booking through Tripadvisor or perhaps not clearly communicated. It said that there was parking – one of the reasons why we chose the place – but it did not say that we had to pay an extra 20 € for that. Being busy before travelling I did not check the list of ameneties beforehand and hence paid - only to find out afterwards that the way parking was mentioned gave indeed the idea that it was included. We were grateful that parking near to the flat was possible but would have liked clarity on the extra cost by Tripadvisor beforehand.

The list speaks of “2 bathrooms” – in reality you find one bathroom with 2 sinks and a big shower and a WC separated. In Tripadvisor it does not say anything about cleaning the apartment at the end – something Michèle clearly expected, charmingly offering as well to “faire le ménage” for us for another 20 € should we not want to do it ourselves.

I do not know where the lack of information occurs, perhaps Tripadvisor forgot to put this information on the site but it is the first time that we were asked to pay extra for something that should be included or else clearly stated as option before booking. I would like to know about this issue before booking.

Cleanliness is an issue in the apartment. Everything looks fine on first sight, very spacious corridor, sitting room with sofa and table, a pretty kitchen that provides lots of ameneties (even a decent teapot which we appreciated a lot) and a big fridge and two bedrooms. But when you walk the place barefoot, your feet are black within minutes, clearly indicating that the floor needs not only hovering once in a while (which did not take place either as some old dirt under the bureau made evident) but needs washing. The shower is separated with a glass wall – with lots of traces of previous uses, as did the balcony that had not been swept for weeks. For us it is self-evident to undo the beds and leave bath and kitchen clean when staying in a private holiday house so we cleaned even the shower thoroughly - but washing floors and mirrors and dusting shelves can hardly be the job of the guests booking a holiday house and paying for it.

The location is good; within 10 minutes’ walk you are at the Vieux Port and in walking distance from most sights. There is a beach across the street – which will close in the late afternoon, so it is not always available. You can indeed see the sea from the balcony – just blend away the ugly building in front.

The main bedroom with “sea view” has no other light than the one on the ceiling; no bedside reading possible; there aren’t even any sockets. The cupboard is well organized, but the matrass is worn and needs replacing. The second bedroom is ok; furniture is a bit brick-à-brack, but no problem for a short stay. The main room has no other lighting than the lamp on the ceiling which makes it a little uncomfortable.

No light in the staircase but this is certainly not Michèle’s fault but should be repaired

Pro:
Wonderful host
Good location
Spacious

Con
Unexpected extra cost
Lack of cleanliness
Bed is worn

We would recommend the flat if issues were clearer and if it was cleaner

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
I am very surprised at your answer because the appt was thoroughly cleaned before you arrival, a for all the other guests. The "ugly" building can be seen on the photos on the site, because I don't want to lie do tourists. I prepare the beds and leave towels and house linen without asking any money for it. The price of the garage is on the site : 10€/day or 50€ for one week (cheaper and safer than in the street or in other car parks farther from the appt).
The cleaning when people leave can be done by themselves, or it can be done by me or by my housemaid, and in this case it's normal to pay (20€ for you, but you did it and I don't matter, I was not waiting for 20€ to live)
I think I made everything as if you were in a hotel, so you thought you would have the same service as in a hotel hhh. Perhaps it's my fault, for I did too many things so you would be well (even leaving products for the dishwasher etc...) so you wouldn't have to buy some.
Next time stay in a hotel in front of the sea in Marseille, and compare the prices and the cleaning!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for beach and Vieux Port!”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved this apartment...it was perfect for our needs whilst visiting our daughter in Marseille. It is bright clean and airy with a couple of good balconies. We could nip over the road to sit on the beach in the morning whilst it was quiet and the walk to the Vieux Port with ease! Michèle is wonderful, communicative, accommodating and kind. She made us feel welcome with ideas of things to do. The block is next to the Cornish road and there is road noise but Marseille is a busy vibrant city and I have never yet stayed in an apartment where you can't hear scooters and cars! We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgell
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Apartment”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Michele was extremely helpful and provided any easy check in process. The apartment was absolutely beautiful with a wonderful view and close to al amenities. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you the three of you! I am happy you have enjoyed your stay!! And what about Barcelona? Isn't Gaudi incredible?
Very best regards. Michèle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon W
1 review
“Had an incredible stay!”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Michèle was extremely helpful in giving us directions on how to reach the apartment from the airport, was accommodating with a space for our rental car in the garage next to the building, and even called the airport to help us locate our lost luggage! She is a gracious host and we were very lucky to rent out this little gem from her on our week stay in Marseille. The place is spacious with a very nice view of the sea, and fully equipped - we cooked half of our meals there! Thank you Michèle for making our stay so wonderful! Would definitely stay again and highly recommend!!

- Jon and Kelli

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$141
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing