We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location in Chamonix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We drove from Geneva to Chamonix and found the hotel easily. We had excellent service from a young man on reception and when we asked to change our room because trees blocked the Mont Blanc view he changed it immediately. We had half board and enjoyed all our meals at dinner and the excellent breakfast. Service throughout the hotel was excellent with courteous, helpful staff.
Our south facing room had a wonderful Mont Blanc view with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The room was comfortable but the decor was dark and it made the room feel small. Underground parking was 20 euros per night which was expensive.
We enjoyed our stay and found the location ideal for walking into the centre of Chamonix and was very close to the Aigulle de Midi cable car.

Room Tip: South facing room with Mont Blanc view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hils W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Hils W,

Thank you so much for your great comments.

We all really hope having the chance to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

We did a package holiday with Riviera Travel and to ensure we would have a good view onto the Mer De Glacé and Mont Blanc I elected to pay a 200 Euro supplement for a superior room. This was our first disappointment. I requested from Riviera a room on a high floor and whilst this could not be guaranteed it was nevertheless confirmed on our documentation. I also wrote to the hotel manager requesting this and he also confirmed this in an email. Alas on our arrival and after having to wait almost three hours for our room key our superior room proved a big disappointment. It was on the first floor with limited views. I mentioned this at reception and was told this was the room allocated to us dispite the commitment previously given. The room was oppressive, dark brown coloured walls and similarly coloured shag piled carpets, and the bathroom equally oppressive and finished in black tiling. In addition the there was very limited lighting making our whole room experience oppressive and very gloomy.

We were on a bed and breakfast tariff with two inclusive meals taken throughout the week. Our first evening was one of the evening meals which proved a dining disaster. The hotel was very busy on the evening of our arrival mainly catering for a group of youngsters which were enjoying an electronic musical evening. This resulted in our evening meal being delayed. We came down as a group at 8.00pm for the meal and were eventually served our starter about one hour later. This for many of us proved an inedible complilation of vegetables which we found to be tasteless. The main course of salmon followed again after some delay and this was served on a bizarre mixture of mashed up vegetables which proved tasteless and inedible for many. The pannacotta dessert was the highlight of the meal. After this disaster we decided not to bother with the further inclusive offering but were persuaded after seeing the evening menu later in the week. We did return to yet another bizarre offering of duck which proved to be a very uneventful and very strange culinary offering bearing in mind that we are very familiar with French cuisine. The highlight of this meal was the bottle of wine we chose to go with the meal.

We were very much looking forward to visiting this hotel and persuaded to do so after reading some positive reviews on TA. Our experience proved otherwise.

The room was a big disappointment as where the two inclusive meals. The breakfast offering was however very good with a large variety of options available. Regretably we shall not be returning to this hotel or recommending to others. The star rating given in this review is primarily for the breakfast table and the one saving grace that our room was regularly cleaned and maintained. However this hotel proved to be a big disappointment for us.

Room Tip: Superior rooms not worth paying the extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dagwoodbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Dagwoodbilly,

I would like to thank you for your stay and for having taken the time to share your point of view on Trip Advisor.

Le Refuge des Aiglons was recently refurbished and the dark and cozy color scheme with modern, unique wooden deco (as shown on all room photos available online) is often source of compliments by our guests and we regret that our design didn’t match your taste.

The superior rooms are bigger than the standard rooms that you have originally booked through Riviera Travel, these rooms are also quieter, with bigger south facing balconies overviewing the hotels garden and the Mountains of the Mont-Blanc range, the extra cost is justified by the overall better experience.

I regret that I was never given the chance to manage your request for a high floor, neither before your arrival nor during your stay, as you stated on your review.
I am surprised about your comments our restaurant which according to most of our guests is “the highlight of the Hotel”. This was certainly a busy week, nevertheless, our restaurant staff was able to deliver the outstanding quality of service often praised and shared by our guests. Opinions that you certainly had the chance to read on this and other websites.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again at le Refuge des Aiglons and in the meantime I remain at your disposal.

Best regards,
Yann Crottet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

A lovely hotel with amazing views. The breakfast is really delicious and I would recommend a treatment in the spa. We had a family room which was huge! I suppose my only negatives would be that the room was quite dark, and the toilet had no ventilation, but other than that, we had a great time. We'll be back I'm sure!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Clare J,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us and for your very positive review concerning your stay at Le Refuge des Aiglons****.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We live in region and we came to Chamonix to celebrate our wedding anniversary...
We have enjoyed the decor of this hotel and the beds/pillows were comfy but there are a few things which we think would be helpful for a hotel.

As I mentioned , we liked the decor but If you have relatively small room and you put dark brown carpet in to it AND there is not much light- you gonna feel like in a cave! (unless it was intentional- then , well...you got the result).

Light was a problem for me -bathroom was decorated in black piles with 2-3 small lights , bu not enough bright for me.
There was 2 small lights in the corner of a corridor but not much helpful. Maybe it sounds funny but from woman point of view- when you want/need to prepare your make up in the evening -you need a good light:) ( (maybe stronger bulbs will solve the problem?)

We have also noticed that we received room with bathroom for a disable person, however, we did not requested it (we were surprised but we did not mind).

The room was also really warm which also made it hard to sleep. We couldn't open a window/door because it was too noisy. Some fans at the very least would help.

***** I already know that you do not have A/C due ecological reasons , which is fine with me , however, I suggest to mention it in a leafleet in each room and also that customers can always ask reception for a fan. This ( I presume) will be much more useful and you will have less comments via TripAdvisor that "hotel should install A/C".*****

Apart of that , all was just fine :
Faboulous view ,
staff very friendly & polite,
room very clean,
bathroom was spotless,
coffee , tea, water & wifi provided
Swimming pool, jacuzzi, SPA - all perfect.
I like the breakfast - lot of variety, all fresh made, Crepes were delicious and coffee too !


Still an overall pleasant experience..would still recommend it if you need a nice clean place to stay.

Room Tip: DO not take room close to the garage and sauna lift- is only one and constantly busy; you will wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Daga P,

First of all, I would like to sincerely thank you for your detailled and construtive review.

I am very happy that despite a few point that could be improve, it seems that you have truly enjoy your stay.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again at le Refuge des Aiglons and in the meantime I remain at your disposal.

kind regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, nice facilities and amazing spa. From the terrace you will enjoy one of the best views from Chamonix while sipping a drink next to the pool.
On Thursday's there is an "apéro musical", two hours of chill electronic music to help relax after a day in the mountains. Everyone gathers together, from families to business people to enjoy this good vibe.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank orc22vv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear orc22vv,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us and for your very positive review concerning your stay at Le Refuge des Aiglons****.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 km away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
861 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,184 reviews
0.5 km away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.7 km away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
436 reviews
0.7 km away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: RM395 - RM1,610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing