We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Richemond
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Morgane(Chamonix)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
137
120
24
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
120
24
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower attachmenttinned fruitmont blancrefundable depositthe busan older hotelski room in the basementa lovely family run hotelboiled eggshand held showersingle roomcentral locationrooms are largefrench hotelbreakfast roomvisited this hotellots of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I have visited this hotel for several years now, summer for cycling on and off road and winter for skiing, always with a group of friends and family,
Feel like we know the owners and staff well now and without fail get a warm welcome, nothing is too much trouble.
None of the false nonsense from chain hotels and boutique establishments.
Yes the hotel is eclectic and old, but this adds to the charm and experience, I have stayed in chalets and hostels in Chamonix, but now only ever the Richemond.

A big thanks to Claire, Evie and all the staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank stevejacks0n57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Awesome hotel. You get what is described online and it is great value for money. Take a look at the trip advisor photos and you will see that this place is dated in places but perfectly clean and user friendly. It's position is 30secs from the main high St and the ski bus stop. Breakfast is good, beer is cheap, rooms are a decent size, WiFi works, staff hugely helpful. Will come again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Out of character, I will get the negative out of the way: The hotel is dated--showing significant aging; this adds some charm and much more character than a standard chain hotel, but the rooms are not reflective of the photos posted on hotel booking sites. Most of this is cosmetic, except for the bathroom photos, which show modern, updated facilities. The sit-in tub had no shower curtain, so the hand-held shower wand difficult to use without leaving a considerable puddle of water all over the floor of the bathroom.

Everything else was absolutely magnificent! Did I mention the staff in the title? Each and every one of the desk clerks was as friendly and helpful as the next, providing a lot of essential information and other recommendations in English, along with some solicited and much appreciated remedial French lessons (since I studied French 35 years ago, I was beyond rusty).

The location was convenient, with a bus stop just behind the building that could link you to any of the ski resorts in the Mont Blanc region. As I had a vehicle, I also benefitted from the free parking. Everything in town was within one kilometer--no more than 10 minutes walking time. The Aguille du Midi and La Brévent gondolas were both about five minutes away by foot.

A complimentary breakfast (continental) was provided each morning, with typically excellent French breads and pastries, salami, boiled eggs, orange and grapefruit juice, and hot beverages (tea, coffee, hot chocolate). The attendant in the breakfast room was also very friendly and efficient in replacing food while removing empty dishes from the tables.

There is a self-serve laundry next door, which includes detergent in the wash cycle. I recommend packing lightly and utilizing an hour or so of down time (or window shop during cycles) to freshen up and re-use clothing.

Given the relatively high price for everything in the area, I think that the value of the hotel is very good. I would totally recommend it simply based on the service.

Note (not reflective of hotel): I do not recommend driving to/from Milan via the Mont Blanc tunnel. At a cost of US $120 in tunnel and Italy toll fees, I would rather detour all the way around Geneva and Visp (access to Zermatt via Tåsch--if Zermatt/Matterhorn isn't in the plans, use this opportunity to incorporate at least a day there) than to pay such absurd tolls for road usage. There is a considerably shorter route east of Chamonix to Martigny, Switzerland, but it had been closed due to avalanche/landslides. As always, be sure to research and update information before travel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Aguille du Midi and Mont Blanc have the best views--worth the cost if you will not be physically out on the mountains.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamentor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We’ve just come back from a week stay. This hotel is the most genuine and friendly place I have visited. The staff are so interesting, kind and wonderful it is hard not to stay on for longer. It is not like stepping back in time, more a focus on what really matters!

The view from the rooms are amazing and our room had the deepest bath ever! First time I’ve had a bath overlooking Mont Blanc!

Breakfast is simple but prepares you for a day in the mountains and the warm welcome you receive coming back is unforgettable!



Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank DoodyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

This is an old hotel with all its charm. Huge rooms with lobby decorated from the past. Our room only had a tub but it was well appreciated after a long day of skiing. The location can’t be beat.beds were comfortable. Internet was stronger in lobby but worked in rooms. The breakfast was not great. I would rather have a fridge and coffee pot in the room and get my own supplies. We were a lemon to store bags and go skiing on first and last day. Everyone spoke impeccable English and were most helpful. Bus ticket to get to resorts is included and is quite close to bus station from Geneva and the local station. Right in the heart of town.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank aaldous2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews