We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel d’Angleterre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Victoria(Grenoble)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Touring Hotel(Grenoble)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
OKKO Hotels Grenoble Jardin Hoche(Grenoble)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
71
130
68
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
130
68
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationdiscounted parkingcity triprecommend this hotelreduced rateold townfamily roomattic roomrooms are cleantram stationcable carcentral locationnice hotelseparate toiletwalking distancecomfortable bedvictor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Centrally located on the square, right next to the shopping district - and a block from the tram stop (you can take it directly from train station) this is an ideal location for business or tourist activities. It has a very good breakfast and service is good.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for choosing us on so many occasion as well as for taking time to post the above comment.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your many stays with us and especially our central location, our breakfast and our staff.

It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again very soon

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

We just spent one night here on our way up to the mountains and it was perfect. The staff were helpful and very friendly. Our rooms were lovely. Very cosy and the superior triple was extremely spacious. It’s not a new or modern hotel but it was peaceful, clean and quiet. Breakfast was copious and all in all we were very satisfied. The location too was a plus. Very central and within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank rebeccacutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear guests,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble as well as for taking time to post the above comment.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially our breakfast full of local products, our perfect location and the service of our staff.

It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again very soon

Yours Sincerely

The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The hotel is situated in the very city center of Grenoble. The rooms are clean and rather big. Very clean new bathrooms and really comfortable beds. I didn't have breakfast, so can't comment on it.
The staff of the hotel were very kind and helped me to ship back to Bucharest my forgotten backback. They managed to solve the issue fastly and did a great job!
Big thank you! Strongly appreciated!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear guest,

We thank very much for your interest in our hotel and for taking the time to write the above comment.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our service, and rooms.

We would be very happy to welcome you once again to Grenoble.

Yours Sincerely

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We did not enjoy our first night in a standard room, which was very small, with an unventilated separate toilet, tiny bathroom, no tea/coffee making facilities, noisy, and so we asked for an upgrade to a superior room, at a cost of twenty euro extra per night.

This room was just fine, twice the size of the standard, with a coffee/ tea station, jacuzzi which worked, separate bathroom with window, at the back of the hotel so very quiet.

The square in front of the hotel can be very noisy, and the hotel is right beside a church which rings bells as of 6 in the morning!

The superior room was practically the opposite of the standard, for only twenty euro extra! So spend the extra money, well worth it.

The hotel itself is very old, but not atmospheric, quite dated. But it is clean, safe and comfortable, and in a very central location. Very much a case of getting what you pay for.

The staff are generally professional and helpful, quite reserved in a French way!

The breakfast, at 13 euro, was fine.

I would recommend this hotel, but If there are two of you, do pay for the superior room.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, at the back of the hotel if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 2happycampers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble as well as for taking time to post the above comment.
We were glad to read that you enjoyed our cleanliness as well as our location, right in Grenoble’s hyper center.
However, we are sorry to see that you were not fully satisfied with your first night. Indeed our standard rooms (17sqm) are smaller than our superior rooms (22sqm), but still comfortable enough for most of our customers. Our website is updated regularly in order to give the maximum of information about the rooms we have, and their specificities.
As you mentioned we are placed in a very handy and central location. But it also means that we can sometimes be surrounded by the city sounds. This is why all our rooms are equipped with triple layers glass windows to allow you to enjoy the view and the calm (as long as you keep the windows shut of course).
The well-being of our guests is the priority of our team and we do our upmost to assist them as much as we can.
Our hotel is one of the oldest of Grenoble and hold a fantastic charm and authenticity, but we of course conduct very regular renovations of our rooms and changes all our television sets in 2017.

We hope being able to welcome you again very soon to our hotel in order for your to enjoy your stay with us fully this time.

Yours Sincerely

The Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Atmospheric, but modern and fresh. Excellent service! Very good breakfast included traditional food as well as specialities. Extremely clean and neat. Advantageous location. Ready to stay again, and to recommend to anyone for a city trip visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalia_Yusupova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews