We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kaiserhof(Karlsruhe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Arthotelroyal(Karlsruhe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
7
28
13
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
28
13
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Value for money. Good breakfast. Cheaper price. Close to my office and hence was convenient to me. English speaking staff. 24hrs check-in through auto machine is an advantage. Room has good amenities. Newly refurbished and cleanly maintained.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PramodBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I wanted to like this hotel. Located overlooking the town hall, it is right in the middle of the market. Unfortunately this means the room is incredibly loud. No air conditioning and no fans mean the room windows have to be opened so that the light rail service that goes by every minute and the crowded plaza stream noise into the room. The room is simply unacceptable.

Furnishings are very dated, and the non-smoking room smells like smoke. Pleas to move an exhausted international traveler to the back of the hotel fell on deaf ears.

I simply do not understand how anyone could give this hotel anything beyond the lowest ranking.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelangst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

I have mixed feelings about the rating of this hotel... the staff was very helpful and nice, the location is as central as it can get, (single) rooms were clean and sizable, and the (included) breakfast was basic, but good. Internet access was free as well!

However, because it is located on the main plaza, the trams make one side of the building shake as they pass, and you can hear them in the room as well. During the first of three nights, I had a third floor room facing the plaza and asked to be moved in the morning. The next two nights I stayed in a room that was quiet, except for the morning because it shared a wall with the kitchen.

So, if you stay in this hotel, make sure to ask for a room that isn't noisy; I'm sure they'll know what you are talking about. Aside from that, the hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank green_highlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

I was several times in the hotel am markt. All of the times were for business reasons and considering that I use it only to sleep, the price for the room is ok. If you have bad luck and you get a room to MarktPlatz, then you will hear the noise of the street including the strassenbahn and probably you will feel it, because the tram passes just 2 meters from the hotel. Moreover, if you get the room on the first floor then the noise and the trumblings are too high to be comfortable.
I would highlight that this hotel is very well located, the furniture and the general appearance is ok and the staff is quite nice. Breakfast is enought but other people can find it poor.
The major problem apart from the noise that I see is that there is no air conditioning, so in summertime the rooms facing to MarktPlatz are like a sauna.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RafaMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Stayed at Hotel am Markt Karlsruhe for one night on a business trip. Couldn't get any sleep because a trolley line is located directly in front of the hotel with trains running till very late and again very early in the morning. Every time a train passed, I could actually feel the bed shaking!

Although I complained at the reception desk, they neither gave me a presumably better room to the backside nor were able to provide earplugs although they should be well aware of their noise problem.

No AC was provided in the room and so, adding to the noise, the room was very hot and, to make things even worse, windows couldn't be opened because this would have led to even more noise coming in from the outside.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Olibaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews