We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the heart of the city. ”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We loved the warm cosy friendliness of this hotel. Well positioned near the famous Centre Glockenspiel and across the road from the beer halls. What more could you want in Munich.
Rooms immaculate. Nice bar downstairs for late drinks or coffees.
A real gem !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

I see that some reviews are not great (there are always exceptions and usually they are outside of the hotel's control), but I LOVED this hotel! The room was sized well with a big, comfy bed. The room and bathroom (stall shower in our room) was modern and CLEAN! They had separate toiletries (not those all-in-one things) WITH washcloths (a treat in Europe!) and a bathrobe and slippers. Our room had a decent view as well. Very friendly staff. We did not eat at the hotel, so I can't speak to that. Hofbrauhaus was just a block away. Marienplatz was a 5-minute walk. Yes, there was construction out front (the hotel emailed us about that in advance in case we were parking there), but it didn't really impact our stay. AC worked fine in our room. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room while construction is going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had an incredible time. We spent only 1 night in Munich - but the room was gorgeous, the location was perfect and the staff was so accommodating. We arranged a massage for my husband - and they came to he room. Also visited the spa in the morning - which were off hours - and they had the sauna and steam room turned on especially for my use.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mariel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Mariel H,

What a wonderful review you posted on Tripadvisor. Thank you so much for your kind words and your complete report on your experience at our Platzl Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We take great care to make every guest feel welcome and at home here at the Platzl Hotel and it always delights us to hear when we are successful.

We would appreciate to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon.
Best regards from the heart of Munich!
Heiko Buchta - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Like all the other reviews stated this hotel is centrally located meaning it's a lively place to stay for a few days. Cafes, restaurants, shopping centres, taxis, the U- Bahn etc are all close by. The hotel itself has been recently renovated to tasteful standard. It appears clean with staff being helpful and polite even when dealing with a busy front desk. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, of average size containing a small fridge and stacked mini bar. There is a safe in the room above the fridge, the TV reception is very good as is the wifi however the AC just does its job. The comfort areas are clean and well maintained. The only real issues with this hotel is the cost of the breakfast which at 29 euro is expensive and the noise from the streets below, which is the price you pay for being in the heart of the city. Everything from street construction works to people out late at night enjoying themselves can be heard from the room I was in. So the decision to stay here is, as always, a compromise. For me being close to the city centre, in a clean, safe comfortable environment out weighed the other issues by a long shot. From my point of view this hotel is well worth staying at and as such I would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arrow9022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Arrow9022,

We truly appreciate you taking a moment to write about your experience with us at the Platzl Hotel. Thank you very much for your recommendation - this is a great praise for us.

You are absolutely right! Due to our central location we cannot completely avoid surrounding noises. What is more we offer 167 rooms which do not just differ in size and shaping, but also in the location within the building. Our reservation department is delighted to assist and advise individually to find the right category for each guest.

At our breakfast buffet we offer our guests a unique selection of local products and freshly prepared warm dishes in combination with an impeccable service. We feel that this justifies the price of 29€. If you make the reservation including the breakfast buffet, the price will be 20€.

We would appreciate to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon.
Best regards from the heart of Munich!
Heiko Buchta - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Currently staying here for 3 nights, the first leg of our European tour.

Easy check in, however, their check out is at midday. So upon our 8am arrival, our room wasn't ready. No dramas, they held our bags and we walked around, had some breakfast, and by 11am, our room was ready.

The rooms are small but very well appointed. It looks like the hotel has been recently renovated as the rooms and decor look fresh and modern.

Bed is nice and comfy with the beautiful hotel pillows everyone loves.

There doesn't appear to be a kettle or coffee machine but who cares! Walk outside to the numerous bakeries and grab one!

I don't think it gets much more central than this hotel. Everything worth seeing, i.e. Monuments are all within a very short walking distance, with the Marienplatz only meters down the road.

The train station is also located within the Marienplatz so your meters away from the train network.

You'd honestly be hard pressed to find a superior place to the Platzl.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GMDO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,067 reviews
1.4 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,703 reviews
0.1 km away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 km away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
755 reviews
0.2 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: RM866 - RM2,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing