We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Platzl Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vi Vadi Hotel(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arthotel Munich(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Cocoon Stachus(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$87
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marc Munchen(Munich)
US$218
US$173
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
US$128
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$631/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$920
US$863
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,163)
Filter reviews
2,163 results
Traveller rating
1,334
660
107
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,334
660
107
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfamous hofbrauhaushofbrau housebavarian stylecan't beat the locationbeer hallbreakfast buffetlovely hotelold cityquiet roomtwo blocksinner courtyardthe air conditioningloved this hotelcentral locationby european standardsshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 2,163 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I see that some reviews are not great (there are always exceptions and usually they are outside of the hotel's control), but I LOVED this hotel! The room was sized well with a big, comfy bed. The room and bathroom (stall shower in our room) was modern and CLEAN! They had separate toiletries (not those all-in-one things) WITH washcloths (a treat in Europe!) and a bathrobe and slippers. Our room had a decent view as well. Very friendly staff. We did not eat at the hotel, so I can't speak to that. Hofbrauhaus was just a block away. Marienplatz was a 5-minute walk. Yes, there was construction out front (the hotel emailed us about that in advance in case we were parking there), but it didn't really impact our stay. AC worked fine in our room. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room while construction is going on.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had an incredible time. We spent only 1 night in Munich - but the room was gorgeous, the location was perfect and the staff was so accommodating. We arranged a massage for my husband - and they came to he room. Also visited the spa in the morning - which were off hours - and they had the sauna and steam room turned on especially for my use.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mariel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Mariel H,

What a wonderful review you posted on Tripadvisor. Thank you so much for your kind words and your complete report on your experience at our Platzl Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We take great care to make every guest feel welcome and at home here at the Platzl Hotel and it always delights us to hear when we are successful.

We would appreciate to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon.
Best regards from the heart of Munich!
Heiko Buchta - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Like all the other reviews stated this hotel is centrally located meaning it's a lively place to stay for a few days. Cafes, restaurants, shopping centres, taxis, the U- Bahn etc are all close by. The hotel itself has been recently renovated to tasteful standard. It appears clean with staff being helpful and polite even when dealing with a busy front desk. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, of average size containing a small fridge and stacked mini bar. There is a safe in the room above the fridge, the TV reception is very good as is the wifi however the AC just does its job. The comfort areas are clean and well maintained. The only real issues with this hotel is the cost of the breakfast which at 29 euro is expensive and the noise from the streets below, which is the price you pay for being in the heart of the city. Everything from street construction works to people out late at night enjoying themselves can be heard from the room I was in. So the decision to stay here is, as always, a compromise. For me being close to the city centre, in a clean, safe comfortable environment out weighed the other issues by a long shot. From my point of view this hotel is well worth staying at and as such I would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arrow9022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Arrow9022,

We truly appreciate you taking a moment to write about your experience with us at the Platzl Hotel. Thank you very much for your recommendation - this is a great praise for us.

You are absolutely right! Due to our central location we cannot completely avoid surrounding noises. What is more we offer 167 rooms which do not just differ in size and shaping, but also in the location within the building. Our reservation department is delighted to assist and advise individually to find the right category for each guest.

At our breakfast buffet we offer our guests a unique selection of local products and freshly prepared warm dishes in combination with an impeccable service. We feel that this justifies the price of 29€. If you make the reservation including the breakfast buffet, the price will be 20€.

We would appreciate to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon.
Best regards from the heart of Munich!
Heiko Buchta - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Currently staying here for 3 nights, the first leg of our European tour.

Easy check in, however, their check out is at midday. So upon our 8am arrival, our room wasn't ready. No dramas, they held our bags and we walked around, had some breakfast, and by 11am, our room was ready.

The rooms are small but very well appointed. It looks like the hotel has been recently renovated as the rooms and decor look fresh and modern.

Bed is nice and comfy with the beautiful hotel pillows everyone loves.

There doesn't appear to be a kettle or coffee machine but who cares! Walk outside to the numerous bakeries and grab one!

I don't think it gets much more central than this hotel. Everything worth seeing, i.e. Monuments are all within a very short walking distance, with the Marienplatz only meters down the road.

The train station is also located within the Marienplatz so your meters away from the train network.

You'd honestly be hard pressed to find a superior place to the Platzl.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GMDO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights at Hotel Platzl last week and really enjoyed ourselves. We arrived around noon after an overnight flight from the US. Our room was not ready yet, so they took our number and called us when it was. As is common in older European hotels, the room was not huge but it was well appointed and recently updated. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in our rate and was quite a spread (including fresh squeezed OJ). Munich is a beautiful city and the hotel is in the older part of town off a side street so it was nice and quiet at night. We would like to go back to Munich as there is much we didn't get to see and would definitely stay at Hotel Platzl again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cohasset123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews