We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk past the Holiday Inn...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #49 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I've been looking for a good hotel to stay in in Munich for a while. The Innside Schwabing is good, but is a long way out (and has some problems), and I'd also tried the Holiday Inn on Hochstrasse (very disappointing) - now I may have found a good one.

The hotel is close to the river and the museums, and about 20 minutes walk from the old centre of Munich. It's close to the subway too.

In case you were wondering it is 100 feet past the Holiday Inn. If you're considering that hotel, please keep walking!

The rooms are large, and well designed. There is a separate toilet and bathroom, which can come in useful if you are staying with family. The bed is bigger than the Holiday Inn, and the whole hotel feels more modern.

Yes, the wifi costs €9 per day, but again this is cheaper than the Holiday Inn, and has the advantage of working in the rooms.

Pros:
Nice rooms,
Modern,
Large beds,
Wifi in rooms

Cons:
You may need to walk to the Holiday Inn if you want a taxi

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,658)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Munich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 847 of 2,658 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our family of 5 (2adults & 3 Children) stayed at this hotel late April 12. We had 2 interconnecting rooms and they were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and there was free wifi in the lobby and 2 mac computers for guests to use. The hotel was in a fantastic location - the local train(to get into Munich or to the main city train station) was a short 2 min walk away and it was just 5minutes into the city. There were shops and a large supermarket at the underground stations. We ate dinner in the restaurant on 2 nights and the food was great. Overall it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittycat035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

it is a very nice hotel as usual of novotel and i must thank MRS Marlene Kozuch
that i mailed her to make an early check in cause of my early arriving with childrens and she checked the availbilty and she confirmed me that i can have aroom early & when i arrived i had checked in it didnt take 5 min so really many thanks ,.....about the hotel it is very near to underground stop (5 min ) ,very friendly reception & helpful ,,very good breakfast with a big buffet the rooms very clean (small for family ) but it is enough for just sleep but the most amazing thing is the indoor pool & the fittness center it is good to have fun in rainy weather or in night and my kids was happy with playing area but the one bad thing was that we must pay for the wifi so everytime u need to go online must go to the lobby (in paris was for free in room) but as overall it was avery pleasent stay thanks for novotel team

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyjoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuartAway
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed in Novotel hotel last night. It initially looked perfect. Small, clean and inviting. It's located on a beautiful street that overlooks a leafy park. However where it amazes in design it lacks in functionality. On first looks the hotel looks great. The rooms are decorated in a modern/hip way. But once you experience them they aren't as great as they first appeared. The cushions are a strange square shape which is extremely uncomfortable to sleep on. They left me with serious back pains in the morning. Also as someone mentioned the bed feels hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast wasn't really a 'wow' either. The bathrooms looked interesting but were awkward to use. Since the WC is located far away from the bathroom thus a lot of back and forward walking took place. Also the location is slightly far from the city centre so you might end up paying more for a cab then u would if you stayed closer by. I must say though Munich is an absolute gem of a city and everyone should visit it. It's full of culture, warmth and beauitful beer gardens that are a must see.

Room Tip: the higher up you go the better the view will be
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nish x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.1 km away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 km away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 385 in Munich
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
2.4 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,662 reviews
2.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: RM482 - RM1,770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing