We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and extensive wine list”
Review of Vinothek by Geisel

Vinothek by Geisel
Ranked #40 of 3,942 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Vinothek by Geisel is our charming wine bar in Munich between Karlsplatz (Stachus) and the central train station. We share a great passion with our guests: our love of good food and excellent wines. Up to 20 varieties of wine in the open bar, some 800 bottles of wine from all over the world create a selection that is unrivalled in Munich. The Vinotheke by Geisel is not just a wine bar, but also one of the most enjoyable wine restaurants in Munich city centre. Enjoy homemade pasta, freshly sliced San Daniele ham and alternating dishes from the Bavarian cuisine with a Mediterranean twist.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food and service, not cheap but good quality and was worth the prices very attentive staff. The duck and lamb was delicious.

Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Caroline A,
Many Thanks for your lauding words. We are glad to hear we could make your visit such a nice one and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

We came in for a light meal and some wine one evening and had a wonderful time. We didn't have a reservation, so they were only able to give us a table for an hour and half, which was plenty of time. We ordered the prosciutto (sliced in-house) and bufalo mozzarella, which just melted like butter. There was freshly baked bread, high-quality olive oil, and a huge selection of wine. It was cozy and romantic, though the quarters were a little tight. Still, we had a great time. Next time in Munich, I'll definitely get a reservation and come back for a full meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RachaelEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear RachaelEmma,
What a pleasure to read your lauding words on our restaurant. Thank you very much.
It is so good to hear we could treat you with our Mediterranean inspired specialities and you had a great time with us.
Yes, please let us know next time you are in Munich we look forward to seeing you again
With best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Food and the ambience are excellent. The only thing to comment is the poor service. Tried to get one of the waitress few times but she didn’t response to us, somehow it was so obvious that we tried to reach her. The restaurant was not even in peak crowd. Such a good standard restaurant should have well trained staffs I suppose.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for your honest feedback.
It pleases me hearing we could delight you with our Mediterranean inspired specialities and you enjoyed our relaxed atmosphere. I regret you had been disappointed with our service and please accept my sincerest apologies for any inattention. As you may see from many other comments who are praising especially the service, your experience should be an exception.
We hope you will give us the chance to convince you next time of our usual courteous service as well.
With best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Thank you for good servise and delicious food:)
I enjoy every minute ..ı would definitly like to come if ı visit munich again

Thank Isil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Isil T,
Many Thanks for your lovely comment.
It was a pleasure having as guest with us and we are more than happy we could make your visit such a nice one.
We look forward to seeing you again and remain with best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Atmosphere: nicely decorated restaurant with wooden panels on the wall. Tables are small and very close together. Overall a small and cosy restaurant. Doesn’t offer much privacy.

Service: friendly and fast, but it lacks refinement when it comes to serve wine and top up wine glasses when they are empty. We started well, but then the waiter got distracted and forgot about us. Since the wine bottle is out of sight this is s/bad. Munich is a beer dominated city and the wine culture is only slowly creeping in. For me it is fine to have my wine bottle at my table and pour my own wine in my rhythm. High class restaurants top up your wine class by establishing eye contact and check that everything is going well. Here we had a bit of everything.

Food/Drink: food rating is always subjective our five different dishes ranged from very good to send back to kitchen after the first bite.

The wine list is good and they have decent wines at a reasonable price on offer.

My overall rating is good and this place misses a very good for
 having the tables too close together which leaves not privacy for a conversation
 service needs to be more attentive when a wine glass requires a refill
 some of the dishes fell far below average.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenskoopmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear jenskoopmann,
Thank you for your detailed review.
It makes me happy you rate our restaurant overall quiet high and you felt comfortable with your visit and especially the cozy atmosphere.
Please accept my apologies if we could not inspire you completely this time and meet all of your expectations on our service as well as culinary offer. As you can see in many comments most of our guests praise especially our courteous service therefore I believe our inattention is an exception.
Nevertheless we hope to seeing you again and remain with best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinothek by Geisel also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Vinothek by Geisel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing