We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in shabby atmosphere”
Review of Chutnify Canteen

Chutnify Canteen
Ranked #3,068 of 9,188 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Neukölln
Description: A vibrant, buzzy and modern Indian restaurant focusing on authentic regional specialties. Menu offers excellent dosa and curry varieties as well as affordable and varied lunch specials
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The place is decorated in a simple manner, the staff is friendly but VERY busy. Food is ok, to be honest had better Indian food in Berlin. Different dishes taste rather similar.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hec-mec W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChutnifyManager, Manager at Chutnify Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

We visited this evening by chance and were given a seat at a trestle table sharing with others. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly
We ordered a lamb dosa and an aubergine curry with some bread. The bread was lov Lyn and piping hot.

It is our first Indian meal in Germany - so nothing to compare with except our experience of eating southern Indian food in Indian. Ewe may have chosen to dishes that were quite similar so I would recommend getting advice from The very helpful staff but for me both dishes tasted a little too similar and didn't have the immense flavours and complexity I had hoped for. I could be wrong but it tasted to me as though. Both had quite strong tamarind emphasis...so do seek advice.

It is funky young persons place to eat a good value meal in a friendly atmosphere. Give it a try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happyholidaygirl059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChutnifyManager, Manager at Chutnify Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Although a fair walk from the nearest U-Bahn station a visit is well worth while. The restaurant was busy when we visited but we were found a table and guided through the menu although it is rather limited, but as we wanted Dosas, good enough. The name is linked to the dishes of 5 chutneys ( more sauce than chutney ) that accompany the Dosas. The atmosphere is pleasant and the food good.

Thank Failsafe659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChutnifyManager, Manager at Chutnify Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChutnifyManager, Manager at Chutnify Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChutnifyManager, Manager at Chutnify Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chutnify Canteen also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Chutnify Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing