We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The worsest Hyatt I've ever stay in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #12 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Baden Baden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The worsest Hyatt I've ever stay in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Actually I expected to get the same service and quality of rooms as Kempinsky and Ritz Carlton provides, because Hyatt is the same price category and listed as top 10 Berlin hotels.

I was very disappointed with service quality and damaged properties.

First of all, house keeping coming to your room without knocking and when you ask to come
later its seems the house keeping lady doesn't speak german or english, she always reply you
by Chinese (or some kind of such) language, so it was not possible to understand her at all.

During our 3-nights stay they never replaced shampoo or bath gel as well as towels, bathrobes and even bed linen! After 3rd night we call them and complain them, they finally replaced everything. Is it acceptable for 5 star hotel?? We've asked house keeping to bring us still water and
you know what - they bring us opened and not full bottle! Fantastic house keeping service!

The next thing - the shower and water tap were damaged, so it was not easy to take a bath.

Now, regarding staff - staff wasn't friendly at all (except room service - they were very quick and
friendly). Restaurant staff didn't say you "hello" when you come in, reception staff was not helpful.
After 4th night, they told us we can't stay anymore with them because they're fully booked, so when I asked them to help us with luggage and move it to another hotel (which is very close to them), they deny that.

So, overally, I can only say that room service was fine, everything else was 2 star hotel style, but
even in 2 star hotels staff more friendly. Its seems the staff is not trained or they have a management problem. With all other hyatt hotels (I'm a platinum Hyatt member) I never experienced this weird staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Please rest assured that the entire Management Team has well noted your comments regarding the Housekeeping service, the bathroom which was not in working order and your overall satisfaction of the service quality performed by our staff.

We deeply regret that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and would be grateful to have the chance to restore your faith in Grand Hyatt Berlin soon. Therefore, I would like ask you to get in touch with me personally at your convenience.

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,883
    512
    100
    42
    17
See reviews for
312
1,003
185
737
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed here for a night this week for work and thought it was excellent. The receptionist was incredibly happy and helpful, and this impression of their staff stayed throughout my stay.

The hotel room itself was also very good - the room was a standard size with a queen bed, but the bathroom was very different - large with a heated floor and a glass pane between the bath/walk-in-shower and the main basin. Very contemporary - I really like it. The room was also very quiet. I was there on the first day of the Berlin Film Festival (which I didn't realise when I booked!) but I didn't get any noise from outside, either the windows or the corridor.

I didn't try the restaurant or the room service, but the breakfast was good.

All in a all a great place to stay, and a good location for getting to the Berlin sights.

Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Super hotel. Lovely rooms and great swimming pool on top floor with panoramic views. Excellent service and food. My ONLY disappointment was having to pay for the wireless internet after the free half an hour (which is only available once every 24 hrs). In a hotel where one is paying more than £1000 for three nights (in the Grand Club), the hotel might be able to include free wireless. Sure, there is a business centre with computers one can use for free, but this is far away from the comfort of being able to connect using one's own laptop from one's room. Even the Holiday Inn Express has free wifi! Please do try to review your policy on this. It just seems terribly tacky to charge for WIFI in a hotel of this class.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Metcalf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I checked in to this hotel after my flight back home had been cancelled and I was little apprehensive about it as I had previously been staying at the Ritz Carlton in Berlin and was toying with staying at the Ardlon; however, I was thoroughly pleased to have made the decision to stay at the Hyatt because it really is an excellent hotel. It has a relaxed, serene atmosphere and the service is personal, welcoming and they really make you feel valued (which is not a feature I can say I experienced at the Ritz or when visiting the Ardlon for drinks). The room is well equipped and comfortable; the shower is high pressured and invigorating and the spa is extremely relaxing. The club lounge is a indulgent bonus but really adds to the exclusivity of the stay. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the club rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuggapahJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have stayed at the Grand Hyatt, Berlin sixteen times. The most recent stay was December 27, 2011 to January 1, 2012. It's a great hotel. The service is fantastic and the facilities are first rate. I'm headed back again in June and I'm really looking forward to it. It's the best hotel I've ever stayed in and never disappoints me.

Room Tip: I've stayed in many rooms and they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#3 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#2 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Property: Grand Hyatt Berlin
Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#6 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#12 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): RM663 - RM1,872
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing