We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$109
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
US$87
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$77
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt(Berlin)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$194
US$157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$110
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,422)
Filter reviews
3,422 results
Traveller rating
2,014
1,220
150
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,014
1,220
150
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheckpoint charlieprivilege suitefamily suitecheck point charliegreat hotelquiet streetseparate toiletcoffee machinearound the cornerhuge roomwithin walking distanceexcellent locationunter den lindensitting areasuperior roomsmall balconyshower room
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 3,422 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Berlin for a few days as family and booked a bigger room - not sure anymore which of their category it was - but it was massive and perfect for us. The ‘room’ was in the side building of the hotel and actually consisted in two rooms on two floors. There was a living area with cupboards, little kitchenette and toilet on the lower level, and then a staircase led to the upper level where there was a big double bed and a reasonably sized bathroom. As we were on the fifth floor, the bedroom had windows in the ceiling, which was great as we could watch the stars. And all that for a reasonable price.
The location is also great as you are right in the heart of Berlin and can easily get wherever you want.
We did not take breakfast (too expensive), but you can get easily breakfast in any of the cafes on Friedrichstrasse for a much better price. We did that already last time we were in Berlin - eating out is cheap even in central Berlin.
So, all in all, we certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank SMotte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedikt H, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear SMotte1
Thank you for your great review and all you detailed feedback. We are proud that you had such a great time with us.
The breakfastprice always seems a bit exceeding at first, but when you compare the price including all drinks and the choice of pruducts "all you can eat" it might depend...Maybe you would like to try it once during your third visit? Just drop us a note before your arrival.
See you soon at your next stop here
Benedikt Heydweiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

I absolutely love this hotel. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Hotel is lovely with big spacious rooms. Great breakfast which sets you up for the day. The hotel is in a great location, literally just round the corner from Checkpoint Charlie and near to the underground train station. If you like boutique hotels then I promise this one will not disappoint.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedikt H, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Sandra C
Thank you so much - not only for your great review but for your second visit. Coming back to our hotel is the greatest way of telling us you had a great time and liked our services.
Please come back even more times
Best regards
Benedikt Heydweiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Booked this Hotel thru Booking.com and got a reservation for a suite for 4 nights for my wife and son. We were surprised that the suite had 2 large rooms which had a seating area each. Both rooms also had a Flat Screen TV. The masters bedroom had a small balcony overlooking a courtyard while the other bedroom didn’t have a balcony but a. Ire to another balcony. The staff in this hotel were all courteous and helpful. We didn’t experience any problems at all. The hotel is quite close to Checkpoint Charlie.

Too bad that we only used 2 nights out of our 4 nights as we had to leave early due to some errors in our airline booking.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedikt H, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Bent G
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to read you had such a good stay with us.
We hope your next stay will be longer and without any errors.
Warm regards
Benedikt Heydweiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

New area and a new hotel to visit. The location is not one of the most pretty places and streets of Berlin. You can notice the difference between Kreuzberg area and the Mitte area (only two streets away). Bit dark, more dirt on the streets and less polished up buildings.
For the position it isnt that bad. Checkpoint Charlie and the Friedrichstrasse around the corner. Subway connections like the U6, U1 and U2 nearby or nearby enough. Enough restaurants you can visit as well and not too noisy as it is off the main streets. Therefore the area remains highly popular for business, offices and residentials. As it is a quiet street it does have advantage that you can open a window or two instead of only depending on the airconditioning. In most hotels it is somehow a bit of a struggle with those systems. Fortunately here I had traditional radiator heating which I turned down and opened the windows as it was really warm in the room. My room wasnt a standard room so therefore i had a lot more space, with a separate toilet and a balcony. Perhaps their wine garden could be a bit noisy in the summer. Keep that in mind. Enough storage space although a few more hangers for clothing could have been nice. The regular toiletries available and a good shower. Decent bed with, for once, a pillow I felt comfortable with. Often a struggle in hotels, for I still dont know why. Perhaps the bedcover could be a bit bigger as for tall people of 1.85m and taller this could be challenge. A pity only one socket next to the bed to charge your mobile devices. Furthermore it is nice to see that they offer you options to contribute to a better environment. This should be more of a standard in all hotels. Breakfast is really much too expensive for what you get. 20 euro where the choices are limited and the bio, vegan, vegetarian, gluten free and such is limited. They try to improve the environment, also provide more healthy foods and drinks with breakfast. Your competitors beat you on this by miles and even for less money. For this I recommend to go outside as there are many bakerys and coffee places to get your morning start. Otherwise then that a nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. I would come again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedikt H, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Robert J,

thank you for your really great review and all your detailed feedback to our services! I am very happy to read that you liked your stay with us. Our rooms are all bigger than the usual Hotelrooms in the City and therefor your room is quite a standard to our hotel.
I will forward your feedback of the breakfast offer to our headquarter to check wether we can broaden our offer in even more vegan and gluten free products.
Thank you again and "see you soon"in Berlin
Benedikt Heydweiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The rooms are very huge, very residential. Nice seating area in the room, layout is a bit strange with the table right in the middle. Great to have coffee facilities in the room, and if you wish you can even cook something. There is a microwave and a small stove.
Bathroom is not as large compared to room, I do not like when the shower is inside the bathtub. Its quite a high step to get in. I think for older people this can be an issue, it is quite high. Also on a note that the towels in the room do not get replaced. The first day I had large towels, facetowels, a floor mat. Second day no floor may and only 1 large and one face towel left. Day 3 only had one large towel and nothing more.
The service at the front desk is friendly and quick, also breakfast service is friendly and a good spread of what is available. Nice sausage, bacon, a ton of yoghurt toppings.
Location of the hotel is good, near the subway and can easily walk to different highlights of the city. For the value I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RGMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedikt H, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear RGMex,
thank you for your kind review and your praise of my Team.
We offer rooms in different settings, so you will find rooms with bathtubs and some with big "walk-in" showers, and finally some with both. Please advice our Team at checkin or during the reservation on our website accordingly and we will be pleased to respect your preference. Concerning the towels - I will need to check this again since this is (of course) not our standard. Thank you for sharing this subject.
I hope to welcome you back and thank you again for yor recommedation.
Best regards
Benedikt Heydweiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews