We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, lively atmosphere, comfortable and clean”
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #8 of 361 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I've stayed at the Circus at least six times, and every time I've ventured to other hostels in Berlin I've been disappointed, mainly because the Circus is optimal in its combination of location (the part of Mitte that's not far from Prenzlauer Berg/Weinbergsweg with its park and cafés) and logistics (right at Rosenthaler Platz and on an underground line you'll more likely than not be using several times). You also don't really need to worry about invading local neighbourhoods and cramping their style, because Rosenthaler Platz has long since succumbed to touristification; at the same time, a good day/night out in 'real' Berlin is either within walking or U-Bahn distance.

Service is impeccable. Staff (reception, cleaning, bar and cafe) are consistently jovial, helpful and generous (I've had room upgrades where availability permitted). I've always felt safe in this hostel, with luggage rooms downstairs (€4 for full-day rental) and a small safe box by the bed. Bedrooms are usually perfectly clean, showers slightly less so (bring flip-flops). The bedrooms are also more spacious than most hostel dorms I've come across. The breakfast buffet serves all adult needs (=everything bar Coco Pops) for a mere €5. All in all pretty good value for your money.

Finally, there's a pleasant mix of people: many travelling alone, many in groups; younger students, older non-students (30-50); families; couples. Regardless of category, I've found that it tends to attract the extroverted/sociable type even more so than the average hostel. So it's ideal both as a party hostel and non-party hostel. You might not like Mitte personally, but it's still difficult to find fault with the Circus.

Room Tip: The single rooms are both luxurious and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriOskarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Circus avoids the label of a party hostel while keeping a busy feel - it is right next to a number of nice bars and restaurants, all reasonably priced, and is close to the metro. At most a 40 minute walk to the Brandenburg gate also. Staff are very friendly, however rooms can be a little noisy from street traffic. Bringing your own padlocks for the lockers would be helpful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alexj9739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. I had a private room with a shared bathroom and my room was pretty nice and comfortable. The staff were really nice. I am especially happy with the event I did with the hostel - they coordinated a tour of the Boros Collection - which is a private contemporary art gallery housed in a formee World War II bunker. It is hard to get a ticket to as you need a private tour, and other people I met from Berlin told me how jealous they were that I had gone as it is not your typical tourist attraction. So thank you Circus! I also really liked the area the hostel was in. If you stay there, make sure you wander along the street it is on (away from the metro station) as it is a quiet street filled with nice restaurants, bars, shops and a nice park.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Location is super good and central. It is literally steps from shops, restaurants, public transportation. We stayed in an 8 person dorm and the rooms were huge! This is something that is sometimes hard to come by in a hostel.. I found the beds comfy and the pillow was fluffy and good too. The hostel and the rooms were clean and wifi worked well.

However if you're traveling solo I wouldn't recommend this place (I traveled with friends). There is almost no common space besides the bar, which doesn't always fill up, and lobby area which is small. No air conditioning.. Staff wasn't always the most helpful. And if it matters to you, there are no in room lockers to store your bags, there is only a small box where you can lock a few of your small items.

The location is really the best feature of this hostel. We had heard really good things about this hostel which is why we were probably a bit disappointed. If you go into it not expecting much, it will probably meet your expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessataggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We stayed in the hostel's 4 person apartment and it was absolutely perfect. Modern, bright, clean, extremely spacious, and fully equipped. As a family we weren't sure if we'd feel out of place in a hostel but it couldn't be further from the truth. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the amenities were well thought-out...everything we needed was offered. Each morning we had breakfast in the cafe downstairs, and spent time hanging out on the patio. We felt very at home at Circus and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Berlin! Highly recommended for all kinds of travellers!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#7 of 361 in Berlin
742 reviews
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#11 of 361 in Berlin
968 reviews
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#10 of 361 in Berlin
414 reviews
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#17 of 361 in Berlin
1,166 reviews
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#20 of 361 in Berlin
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 361 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: RM 125 - RM 474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing