We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #3 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed in Circus for 3 nights. The beds are cosy, the rooms are warm, the showers are excellent, the staff are fantastic, the setting is funky, the location is perfect and the bar is AWESOME!

I did have one little issue with the supervisor over the housekeeping. When I arrived at my room there was only one bed left which was right beside the bins. The following morning a couple of people left the hostel so there was 4 free beds in the room. I figured that since the beds were not assigned (you just took what was available) I could move beds. So I moved over to the window and the supervisor came in. He got pretty angry with me that I had moved beds even though I really don't see the issue? I had told the girl in housekeeping that I was moving so she could change the sheets but she also said I shouldn't move. Really annoyed me to be honest but aside from that everything was exceptional and I can't wait to return!

Make sure to try the panther milk in the bar! Its delicious and 1 litre is €8!!! So awesome. Also special mention to Tommy (I think that's his name?) in the bar. He was working on his own on Saturday night and he totally nailed it even with the rude customers and people asking for cocktails when it was so busy. Also thanks for the advice on where to go clubbing :)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Keira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry about the misunderstanding with the cleaners. They were obviously a little confused then which bed needed to be made but the communication breakdown was obviously from our side so for that we apolgize. Glad you enjoyed the Panther Milk. We are the only place in Berlin that makes and certainly Callum (bar manager) is also not going to be giving away his extra special secret recipe either in a hurry.
Thanks for staying with us
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

I have guests coming to Berlin quite often and I always recommend they stay at the Circus. The location is fantastic and it only takes about 15 minutes to walk to Berlin's biggest sites. But if you walk 15 minutes in the other direction you can explore the lovely neighbourhood of Prenzlauerberg for a taste of "real Berlin life".

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KristanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Complete and delicious breakfast, clean and functional bathrooms, large bedrooms with good optimization of the space, bar with microbrewery and one of the most delicious beers that I've drank. All in a good location with well prepared staff.
However, the hostel doesn't have a kitchen, something really useful for those who choose to stay in this kind of accommodation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank João L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry that we do not have a kitchen. We do have fridges, boiling water and bits and bobs for making sandwiches etc. We also have organized discounts in the neighbourhood whereby the cheap eats get even cheaper. Thanks for the review
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Such a great place to stay! The hostel was very clean and the room was good though there wasn't a locker to lock up all my stuff, just valuables. Not sure if that is the case with every room but something worth mentioning. The keycard access made me feel very safe as a solo traveler and the bathroom/shower facilities were great! The downstairs bar was filled with people and the bartender was full of energy! Everyone was hanging out, meeting people, playing cards, etc. The breakfast in the morning was also a great options to have!

The location of the hostels is pretty good, though I think you really need to get the day metro pass in order to be able to get around Berlin since it is so big. It was a breeze getting there from the train station! Just one quick tram ride! Very big hostel, and great for meeting people. They have great recommendations for nearby places to eat, things to see, etc. It fills up quickly so make your reservation early! I am so glad I got to stay here! Totally worth it :)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lms1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your very nice review
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We travel a group of 4 friends and had a great experience in the hostel. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, staff was polite and the location was perfect. Near Alexanderplatz and Tram station just infront of it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolasHolguinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 635 in Berlin
2,667 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#4 of 362 in Berlin
959 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 362 in Berlin
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 362 in Berlin
1,161 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#6 of 362 in Berlin
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: RM 113 - RM 450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing