We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$84
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
US$87
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Days Inn Berlin City South(Berlin)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Q!(Berlin)
US$123
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt(Berlin)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hostel Berlin(Berlin)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
US$197
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,318)
Filter reviews
1,318 results
Traveller rating
939
309
51
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
939
309
51
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar downstairsown breweryshared facilitiesbed dormrosenthaler platzthe free walking tourkey cardtram stoptop flooryoung peoplelocation is greatprenzlauer bergbeds were comfortablebuffet breakfastbars and restaurantspublic transportu bahn
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,318 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I have guests coming to Berlin quite often and I always recommend they stay at the Circus. The location is fantastic and it only takes about 15 minutes to walk to Berlin's biggest sites. But if you walk 15 minutes in the other direction you can explore the lovely neighbourhood of Prenzlauerberg for a taste of "real Berlin life".

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KristanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Complete and delicious breakfast, clean and functional bathrooms, large bedrooms with good optimization of the space, bar with microbrewery and one of the most delicious beers that I've drank. All in a good location with well prepared staff.
However, the hostel doesn't have a kitchen, something really useful for those who choose to stay in this kind of accommodation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank João L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Sorry that we do not have a kitchen. We do have fridges, boiling water and bits and bobs for making sandwiches etc. We also have organized discounts in the neighbourhood whereby the cheap eats get even cheaper. Thanks for the review
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Such a great place to stay! The hostel was very clean and the room was good though there wasn't a locker to lock up all my stuff, just valuables. Not sure if that is the case with every room but something worth mentioning. The keycard access made me feel very safe as a solo traveler and the bathroom/shower facilities were great! The downstairs bar was filled with people and the bartender was full of energy! Everyone was hanging out, meeting people, playing cards, etc. The breakfast in the morning was also a great options to have!

The location of the hostels is pretty good, though I think you really need to get the day metro pass in order to be able to get around Berlin since it is so big. It was a breeze getting there from the train station! Just one quick tram ride! Very big hostel, and great for meeting people. They have great recommendations for nearby places to eat, things to see, etc. It fills up quickly so make your reservation early! I am so glad I got to stay here! Totally worth it :)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lms1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your very nice review
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We travel a group of 4 friends and had a great experience in the hostel. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, staff was polite and the location was perfect. Near Alexanderplatz and Tram station just infront of it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolasHolguinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

This hostel is very noisy. Most of the guests will stay up talking in the hallways of the hostel until 6/7am. At around 10am the cleaner will arrive and start cleaning the communal areas also making lots of noise. If you want to sleep well I would suggest an alternative hostel/hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Hi there,
sorry you found the hostel too noisey. Best is if this happens (in any hostel and hotel) that you inform the reception and they will deal with the situation. It also means you will be doing your fellow guests a favour because if you can not sleep then it is for sure others can`t either. Once again very sorry
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews